Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A return to form
I thought Series 4 and 5 of "Curb" were merely very good, as compared with the first 3 series which were consistently side-splitting. I didn't imagine Larry David would carry on much longer with "Curb", as he has shown he knows when to quit (viz. Seinfeld). However, Series 6 is a surprise return to form. I can't say why it's better than 4 and 5: maybe it's that the...
Published on 21 Aug 2009 by Frank T

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting tired now
After 5 great series' of Larry David's cringe-inducing faux reality TV show, I really think it's time to pull the plug. The Americans never have been too hot on quitting whilst they're ahead though, and as the series gets more contrived and silly it risks tarnishing the quality that preceded it.

The story arc for this season involves the Davids taking in a...
Published on 4 July 2009 by Captain Pugwash


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A return to form, 21 Aug 2009
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
I thought Series 4 and 5 of "Curb" were merely very good, as compared with the first 3 series which were consistently side-splitting. I didn't imagine Larry David would carry on much longer with "Curb", as he has shown he knows when to quit (viz. Seinfeld). However, Series 6 is a surprise return to form. I can't say why it's better than 4 and 5: maybe it's that the "meta-plots" are richer (the Davids taking in a family of hurricane evacuees, the Blacks; Cheryl leaving Larry); maybe it's the contributions of new support actors, in particular J B Smoove as Leon Black; but on the whole, the energy levels have been cranked right back up to 10. As ever, underneath the outrageous shows of misanthropy, there is a paradoxical warmth to Larry David's humour. I hope he can keep up this level of quality, because I will miss "Curb" when it's gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 13 Jun 2010
By 
Jens Henriksen (sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
It doesent get better, simple the most intelligent humor inteh World, daily situations we all can recognize ourself in and how he handle them is teh way we all would like to do... but we dont...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curb Gets Better and Better, 25 Sep 2009
By 
M. Dravnieks (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the best season so far. The inclusion of Leon is an inspired move, he fits in perfectly and delivers some classic lines right from the word go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Look at the freaks " Mr McEnroe., 3 Jan 2009
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
To sustain the level of comic and writing genius that Larry David had done over the previous five seasons of Curb Your EnthusiasmCurb Your Enthusiasm : Complete HBO Seasons 1 To 5 Box Set is some achievement. Even if you think that the series tailed off a bit after season 3 we are still talking very high levels of comedy writing and performing -certainly way superior to anything else around .Season 6 seems to have divided opinion among those who think it's the best ever and those who think it's a series too far. I , with typical contrariness and even-handedness fall somewhere in the midlle.There is much here to enjoy - the scenarios are still sharp and the performances still terrific but occasionally it slips into laziness - the joke based around Larry supposedly masturbating when actually doing something else is used too often and having become seasoned observers of the show you sometimes know where something is heading .
So in season 6 Larry is heading for divorce ( frankly it's a surprise it took this long) , has taken in the Blacks , a family who have been made homeless after a hurricane and who are errr Black. Much is made of this and it is very funny . There are the usual foul ups , misunderstandings , contretemps as Larry is still unable to put the brakes on his borderline misanthropy. Larry has opinions like the rest of us but where we in social situations can defer to societal niceties and keep them to our self's, Larry cannot. If something irks him he complains....and keeps complaining, he is a human limpet in that he cannot let go .He is also a man who exudes surface charm but is a seething bag of neuroses and constantly tries to bend the world to his will only for it to snap back and smack him in the face.
There are cameo's for John McEnroe( very good) , Ben Stiller, and Steve Coogan( playing Larry's unfortunate therapist) and the excellent as ever Michael McKean as a director who Larry "recommends" to Richard Lewis. and it all concludes on a surprisingly affecting and optimistic note and it must be said a completely unexpected one.
The Extras on this DVD are okay but nothing to get excited about. A roughly ten minute making off thing which adds little , a gag reel and most revealingly excerpts of a live show from New York with Larry being probed by Susie Essman( who plays the hilariously foul mouthed Susie Green ) where he reveals the extent to which the show is improvised ( there is no script at all just basic scene outlines) and says he is turning more like "TV Larry " everyday. This section is edited and would have been better left so we could see the whole show.
Even if season six isn't the show at it's absolute peak we are talking elevated levels of the genre here. It's still worth five stars. It s still glorious and hypnotically uncomfortable to watch at times. Season 7 was scheduled to start filming December 2008 and if it's as good as season 6 then I for one will be very happy though obviously I will try to curb my enthusiasm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best season yet, 30 Jan 2008
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the best Season of Curbs yet. I agree, the inroduction of "The Blacks" is fantastic, right from the start. Larry's opening line to them (I won't spoil it) is fantastic. Leon Black is a comedy superstar with one of the foulest mouths I have ever heard.
I particularly liked the close to the edge humour, touching upon racial issues, Larry's genital problem, a "stain" on the quilt, Larry's "itchy anus" (he meets a girlfriend who has the same problem), and the one where he meets the white supremicist is a classic.
Sometimes bizarre, sometimes shocking in how close to the edge it gets, but with morals and a love story and ALWAYS hilarious, boy, am I glad Larry decided to make Season 6!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show!, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Big fan of Larry's comedy and it's first world problems :) I recommend this for all Seinfeld fans and of good comedy in general
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars curb season 6, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Cheap what a bargain larry is the greatest comedy writer of all time and now add actor to that I love his humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As funny as ever, 4 Aug 2010
By 
J. A. Clark "jimmy clark" (London, W8 England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
With series 6 Larry David, continues to display signs of wear and tear but is, as in the past, toe-curlingly funny. Series 7 was better, but 6 has much to recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting tired now, 4 July 2009
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
After 5 great series' of Larry David's cringe-inducing faux reality TV show, I really think it's time to pull the plug. The Americans never have been too hot on quitting whilst they're ahead though, and as the series gets more contrived and silly it risks tarnishing the quality that preceded it.

The story arc for this season involves the Davids taking in a displaced family whose home has been destroyed by Hurricane Katarina. Larry immediately makes an impression when he points out that the Blacks' name matches their skin colour, and follows this up by traumatizing Loretta Black's daughter with a big black penis cake he orders from an erotic bakery. When Loretta's brother Leon arrives at the house, Cheryl accuses him of masturbating on her blanket and Larry of course has to confront him, which he does, subsequently discovering that the culprit is in fact Jeff. When Larry meets a deaf lady at a school play and manages to insult her dog and her husband respectively the contrivances become too much.

There are still some good moments - Larry stealing bunches of flowers from Marty Funkhouser's mother's roadside memorial, and attempting to get a sick and feverish Cheryl to have sex with him. Another great moment occurs when Larry and Leon, who have the same mobile phone, accidentally switch them with predictable but hilarious results. Overall though it seems like the series has come to a natural end, with too much reliance on the foul-mouthed tirades of Jeff's wife Suzie, jokes that have been repeated too often e.g. Larry offending Black people, and altogether too much of the irksome Richard Lewis. This is still a quality show but Larry needs to do the decent thing and be remembered as a Fawlty Towers rather than a Star Trek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another superb season, bring on Curb 7!, 15 Feb 2009
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Some negative reviews on here berate this as bad compared to "Seinfeld" others as bad compared to previous "Curb" seasons. Personally, I don't think either is true. If you read between the lines of various comments made by Larry David and Jerry Seinfeld in behind-the-scenes extras it becomes fairly clear that "Curb" was the show he always wanted to make, whereas "Seinfeld" was the compromise possible at the time. "Seinfeld" has been and remains slicker and more polished than "Curb". If you miss higher levels of slickness, fair enough, but that is not my taste and so long as "Curb" retains "Seinfeld"'s most important merits such as verbal inventiveness and a love for forming seemingly random chaotic events into still wierder patterns I will be more than happy.

My favourite episode was "The Anonymous Donor" which had me howling with laughter in numerous places. Ted Danson gets better from season to season and this was maybe his finest hour so far. The introduction of the Blacks is inspired, above all thanks to Leon who interacts with Larry even more crazily and much more comfortably than Krazee-Eyez Killa back in season 3. "The 'N' word" was another great episode even if the actual conclusion was a bit strained (as was the fact that Larry AND his companions never explain that he is quoting rather than insulting earlier on).

Nevertheless every episode contains a lot of very funny stuff, and I found it much more rewatchable than Season 5 for some reason, therefore better value as a DVD purchase! Look out for John McEnroe who is superb in "The Freak Book" (although their downfall at Heather Mills's hands was, again, a little strained). I also very much disagree with the negative comments on Amazon about our own Steve Coogan. I loved him in "The Therapists", although I remain mystified as to why he pronounces the word "pussy" as "poosy".....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb6b86684)

This product

Curb Your Enthusiasm: Complete HBO Season 6 [DVD]
9.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews