Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well made, quality product
Does exactly what it says on the tin. It looks and feels high quality, and unlike some transformers doesn't place too much load on the wall socket. The removeable connector plugs cover every eventuality, and changing the output voltage is a breeze. Not sure if it says in the description, but the unit is also auto-sensing multi-voltage so you can take it to the States...
Published on 11 Aug. 2008 by Christopher Lachlan

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Universal but poor quality
Yes it provides options for polarity switching and various voltages, but the quality of this item is low and the voltage dial is already starting to loosen after just 6 uses.
Published on 11 Jun. 2009 by Mr. T. J. Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well made, quality product, 11 Aug. 2008
By 
Christopher Lachlan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Regulated 2000mA 2250ma AC/DC 2a Adapter power
Does exactly what it says on the tin. It looks and feels high quality, and unlike some transformers doesn't place too much load on the wall socket. The removeable connector plugs cover every eventuality, and changing the output voltage is a breeze. Not sure if it says in the description, but the unit is also auto-sensing multi-voltage so you can take it to the States if you need to, although obviously you'd need an adapter. Great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Universal power supply, 28 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Universal Regulated 2000mA 2250ma AC/DC 2a Adapter power
The only product I could find on the web or in local retailers which would give me 4.5 volt dc at 1.5 amps to power a reading lamp with 20 LEDs. The unit comes complete with adaptors to suit the mains supply (mine is standard 3 pin) which are easily fitted. The dc output voltage is selected by a rotary switch,operated by a flat-bladed srewdriver, and is shrouded and protected when the unit is plugged into the mains so cannot be accidentally disturbed. The unit warms slightly when in continuous use but does not overheat. The one small niggle is the connector at the d.c.end which has an adaptor (supplied) which allows a choice of positive or negative centre pin. Although clearly marked it requires a little thought to interpret which way to plug it in. I would recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Universal but poor quality, 11 Jun. 2009
By 
Mr. T. J. Taylor (Wormley, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Regulated 2000mA 2250ma AC/DC 2a Adapter power
Yes it provides options for polarity switching and various voltages, but the quality of this item is low and the voltage dial is already starting to loosen after just 6 uses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How I sussed the polarity, and details of what I got, 22 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Universal Regulated 2000mA 2250ma AC/DC 2a Adapter power
Got this to replace a 12V adapter for a battery charger that went south, and figured I might as well have something that will stand in for any other failures in future. It works for that battery charger just fine.

Choosing the polarity was, as others have said, not entirely obvious. There were no instructions either in the packaging or on the adapter itself.

There is an arrow on the socket that accepts the tips, and an arrow on each side of the tip, with a little diagram showing the polarity. I lined up the chosen polarity's arrow on the tip with the arrow on the socket, and all worked just fine.

My device is from 'Mercury' [...], stock code 661.406UK [...], jacks, voltage and current as described. It's 88 x 51 x 47mm, and 235g in weight (less than advertised, win).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality item, 3 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Universal Regulated 2000mA 2250ma AC/DC 2a Adapter power
bought this as the charger for my android tablet was pretty crappy and was probably dangerous as well

this is a quality item. doesnt get warm when plugged in and has a long cable

delighted with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Near miss, 6 Jan. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Regulated 2000mA 2250ma AC/DC 2a Adapter power
My radio adaptor blew so this was the only replacement I could find which was 2000mA. It arrived in time. But when I connected it to the radio, nothing happend. There is a +- sign on the head to guide the connection for polarity. So I reveresed it and it worked. What a relief, coz I nearly was going to send it back. The device works okay so far, but the instruction is misleading. If you experience similar problem then try reversing the connection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works fine with an external WD My Book 500GB hdd, 13 May 2009
By 
B. Marius Ionut (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Universal Regulated 2000mA 2250ma AC/DC 2a Adapter power
After getting a bit confused by the polarity of the tip (it basically works if inserted correctly and does no damage otherwise), things went fine. One of the tips fitted the back of my WD My Book 500GB hdd and it powered it without any problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A quality device, 15 May 2014
By 
marcoscu "marcoscu" (Chorley,UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Regulated 2000mA 2250ma AC/DC 2a Adapter power
The power supply for my Sagem set top box failed. Luckily the power requirements of the device were fairly standard: 12 volt, tip positive. I had a search on Amazon and this adapter seemed to fit the bill with a full range of interchangeable tips and the facility to vary the voltage and tip polarity.

When it arrived I was pleased to see that it was clearly a well made item and with a goodly length of cable. I was able to quickly set up for my ailing Sagem and it has worked perfectly with it ever since.

On the downside I would say that it would have been better had it been supplied with a clear and easy to understand instruction sheet rather than the rather hard to follow instructions on the box. Also, I did find it hard to get the tip to engage properly with the cable: two small and delicate pins on the tip unit need to be inserted into their socket on the cable end, however after a few goes I managed it OK.

On balance if you need a well made fully adjustable Power Supply with a wide range of tips then you would do well to find a better one than this.

The Good
Inexpensive
Full range of interchangeable tips supplied
Robust build quality
Tip Polarity and voltage adjustable
Reasonably long cable

The Bad
No instruction sheet
Hard to connect tip unit to cable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 21 July 2011
This review is from: Universal Regulated 2000mA 2250ma AC/DC 2a Adapter power
I already have other products from Uniross and have a good opinion of this make. Nevertheless this item was bought specifically to be used with a static training bicycle that has the need of a 6V DC supply that has to provide 2A of electric current. The package was good and sturdy as it is the adapter. The voltage selector has a good feel when you use it and the selection are well made be a snap feeling when you get to the spot, not like those cheap adapters that you can rotate de selector endlessly. It also comes with a little "screwdriver" for doing this job. It has a wide range of types of plugs and you can easily choose the polarity by simply rotating the plug 180 degrees. I tested the supply and polarities: the voltages are pinpoint accurate. The polarities change as expected. So, all in all it is a good product, simple to use and very versatile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, very pleased., 21 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Regulated 2000mA 2250ma AC/DC 2a Adapter power
I'd had trouble finding an adapter with the right combination of voltage, amperage and a negative plug core.

This one fit the bill perfectly:-
- Up to 2.2 amp (2200 ma) but automatically steps down as needed (I wanted 2.0);
- Flexible voltage output (includes a little key like screwdriver for adjustment);
- Plug is switchable between positive and negative centre simply by fitting it one way around or the other (not complicated, find the side of the plug that shows the polarity you want and match it to the arrow on the cable).

Versatile and decent build quality. If I lost this one, I'd happily buy exactly the same one to replace it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews