Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprising
I think everyone has a soft spot for budget horror films, but at the same time I don't think we expect much more from them than a bit of action, violence and fun. With Outpost, however, there is something rather original about it, and you quickly realise that this isn't quite like other mundane horror flicks.

A group of mercenaries are commissioned to...
Published on 28 Aug. 2010 by Silverbullet

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nazi-undead
This film should have been more than it was. The premise is great, the atmosphere is spot-on, the costumes and make-up are menacing and the characters are pretty decent. This menace is somehow lost, however, at some point during the overblown final plot-arc, which is a major shame because it really looks stunning and builds up some satisfying apprehension.
I cannot...
Published on 19 May 2009 by Arrrrrrrach


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprising, 28 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I think everyone has a soft spot for budget horror films, but at the same time I don't think we expect much more from them than a bit of action, violence and fun. With Outpost, however, there is something rather original about it, and you quickly realise that this isn't quite like other mundane horror flicks.

A group of mercenaries are commissioned to accompany a scientist to an old Nazi bunker, which curiously has not been looted. It is soon realised that something is afoot when bodies are discovered inside, and even a 'survivor', who is apparently in a vegetative state. Fire-fights soon start taking place at the surface, between the mercenaries and an unknown foe, and strange things begin happening underground. Cutting the story short, basically what the bunker contains is Nazi super soldiers, who don't very much like visitors.

Fantastic action scenes throughout, and some damn scary moments when the lights go out and Nazi zombies start creeping around everywhere. Quality stuff; much recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice little independent Nazi Zombie movie., 18 Mar. 2008
By 
Max Berman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're tired of gigantic hollywood horrors with their formulaic plots and calculated frights, you might want to try this little movie. Set in Eastern Europe, shot in Scotland, starring Ray Stevenson and costing a little over £1 million, you might be pleasantly surprised at the quality of this movie. Genuine tension is offset with sparing gore. Great gun battles and some Nazi voodoo technology thrown in for good measure make this micro-budget effort well worth watching. There are some great characters from all over the world dying in some really creative ways and some pretty nasty baddies lurking in a pretty scary environment.

Why not bypass the hollywood dross and see how a bunch of enthusiastic Scottish film-makers do things. Great fun stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forget zombies this is immortal time shifting Nazis!!, 26 May 2009
By 
Patrick Cann (Kenilworth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Being a fan of all things Romero I bought this thinking it would be packed with the shuffling undead as implied by other reviews, not so. My first pleasant surprise was to see Tyres (Michael Smiley) in one of the roles. Anyway I digress, on to the picture. A troop of mercenaries are enlisted to acccompany a businessman to a remote bunker in Eastern Europe. Once there they find evidence of Nazi experiments to create super soldiers. Without ruining the whole story things go wrong from there to the end. As I said no zombies but lots of supernatural super soldiers. Not all of the film made perfect sense and the viewer is left to fill in some blanks in the plot but I enjoy a film like that, one which makes you think a bit instead of spoonfeeding you. It is obvious that the whole thing was made on a shoestring but that adds to the whole feel in this instance. Instead of lavish production and acres of CGI the sets are old industrial builings which are grotty and look as if they have stood dormant since 1945. That being said there is one moment of 'Doctor Who' effects but don't let that put you off. On the whole I say buy it if these kind of films are your thing, you shouldn't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I was expecting, 20 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I've seen a few war/horror pics including The Bunker, Dog Soldiers (my absolute fav), and I had The Outpost recommended by a friend. This is a pic set in the modern day and based around a group of mercs on a job.
It has a really simple story, so don't expect too many plot twists and turns. But the tempo of the action/suspense is quite good, its not just guns blazing from start to finish. The acting is good but a couple of the characters are very 2D, but hey there's mostly mercs so you can forgive this.
The effects are very simple, the movie relies on lighting and camera work to provide the atmosphere - and I think it does it really quite well.
It doesn't have the depth of character development and combat humour of Dog Soldiers and isn't quite as unnerving as The Bunker but I think it come closes enough to sit along side them on my DVD shelf - this one's not going to the charity shop.
The ultimate measure for me is do I regret spending 94 minutes of my life watching The Outpost, and the answer is absolutely not.
Definitely worth a watch if you like this genre and if you do then make sure you also watch The Bunker and Dog Soldiers as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nazi-undead, 19 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
This film should have been more than it was. The premise is great, the atmosphere is spot-on, the costumes and make-up are menacing and the characters are pretty decent. This menace is somehow lost, however, at some point during the overblown final plot-arc, which is a major shame because it really looks stunning and builds up some satisfying apprehension.
I cannot give it less than three stars, but only because I absolutely love this sort of thing, having grown up with Wolfenstein and Doom to take me to the early hours. One day somebody will nail this idea and unleash true grim krieg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice little independent Nazi Zombie movie., 23 April 2008
By 
Max Berman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
If you're tired of gigantic hollywood horrors with their formulaic plots and calculated frights, you might want to try this little movie. Set in Eastern Europe, shot in Scotland, starring Ray Stevenson and costing a little over £1 million, you might be pleasantly surprised at the quality of this movie. Genuine tension is offset with sparing gore. Great gun battles and some Nazi voodoo technology thrown in for good measure make this micro-budget effort well worth watching. There are some great characters from all over the world dying in some really creative ways and some pretty nasty baddies lurking in a pretty scary environment.

Why not bypass the hollywood dross and see how a bunch of enthusiastic Scottish film-makers do things. Great fun stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's The Dark Secret Of The Bunker, 8 Feb. 2015
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Outpost (DVD).

Product Info.
Format: Subtitled, PAL
Language: English
Subtitles: English
Dubbed: Hungarian, Spanish
Subtitles For The Hearing Impaired: English
Region: 2
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 2.40:1
Number of discs: 1
Classification: 18
Studio: Sony Pictures Home Entertainment
Running Time: 90 minutes

Extras.
Filmmaker's Commentary.
Behind The Scenes
6 mini featurettes
Deleted Scenes
Trailer

Cast.
Julian Wadham as Hunt, "Company" agent
Richard Coyle as Wallace
Ray Stevenson as DC, British Royal Marine Warrant Officer
Richard Brake as Prior, United States Marine Corps
Paul Blair as Jordan, French Foreign Legionnaire
Brett Fancy as Taktarov ("Tak"), Russian Alpha Group
Enoch Frost as Cotter, Belgian Peacekeeper
Julian Rivett as Voyteche, Yugoslav military
Michael Smiley as McKay ("Mac"), British Army Parachute Regiment
Johnny Meres as Brigadeführer Götz, German Army Schutzstaffel ("The Breather")

Trivia.
1)Julian Wadham has recently taken on the role as John Steed in several Big Finish full cast box sets of The Avengers.
2)Ray Stevenson has appeared in two Marvel franchises as (1) Frank Castle - in Punisher: Warzone & (2)
Volstagg in Thor & Thor: Dark World.

What's The Story?
As war ravages Eastern Europe, a battle-hardened team of mercenaries sets off on a mission, facing an enemy powerful & evil enough to turn these violent, seemingly indestructible men into quivering victims.

Surrounded by hostile forces, they fight their way to a half-century-old underground Nazi bunker, a place where soldiers were experimented on to create a super-human army.

The mutilated remains of those soldiers still exist along with a ghastly discovery - a survivor, Then suddenly, the men are attacked by primeval, horrific forces, protecting another secret - a nightmare they & the entire world will now have to face.

Timelord Thoughts.
'Outpost' is a low budget but very well made horror movie that centres on a group of Mercenaries who stumble across a spooky abandoned bunker in search for a particular item of interest as the team have been hired a mysterious business man named Mr Hunt.

Eventually the team of Mercenaries make a chilling discovery in that during WWII, Nazi scientists conducted experiments that were tested upon young soldiers which has in effect created a supernatural phantom like zombies that may or may not exist in our realm of existence.

For a low budget movie the film's Production is top notch & director Steve Barker makes good use of his locations & adds a dark gritty & surrealistic atmosphere to his story & gets good performances out of his cast especially Ray Stevenson & Julian Wadlam who are both exceptionally good in there roles as mercenary Wallace & company man the mysterious Mr Hunt.

The story is suspenseful & very intruging & moves at a good pace that allows time to build up the suspense & get to know the characters & there ulterior motives, the film moves up a gear halfway through & starts to deliver some great scary moments that includes a few gruesome gory sequences that should please the gorehounds, the bunkers small setting enhances the claustrophobic atmosphere of the small band of Mercenaries surroundings as there killed one by one & the film concludes with a very ambiguous ending that was obviously left open for a follow up sequel.

Overall, 'Outpost' is a very well made 'B' movie horror that features good performances by the small cast & had me gripped from beginning to end & is a film I would thoroughly recommend to anyone who enjoys a tense & terrifying horror movie with a spooky paranormal edge.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suitably spooky..., 25 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, it’s low budget and it might not have enjoyed a huge cinematic release, but Steve Barker’s Outpost fits very nicely into the niche now occupied by some very effective British horror movies, most noticeably Neil Marshall’s terrific Dog Soldiers and The Descent.

Sure, it lacks, the grand special effects that other more expensive offerings provide, but that’s no bad thing because Barker has more than made up for it with good characterization and a sense of menace that pervades every scene.

The storyline is simple enough and it’s been employed a million times in just about every movie genre – a small group of individuals, placed in jeopardy and hemmed in by dark forces, have to fight for their lives – but there’s an edge to this little gem that places it above a good many of its contemporaries. A cross between the aforementioned Dog Soldiers and the very spooky Korean film R-Point wouldn’t be too wide of the mark, I’m thinking.

Take the cast for a start – no chiselled jaws or pretty boys here, thank God. These men are hardened mercenaries – some of them on the verge of their sell-by date – and they’ve been round the block a few times and look like it. And I have to say, as an army brat, it’s a blessed relief to see actors who actually look the part. If I had a pound for every screen soldier I’ve seen who can’t even wear a bloody beret correctly, I’d be a rich man.

Ray Stevenson – we don’t see enough of him, if you ask me – holds both the lead and the screen effortlessly. When it happens, the violence is suitably swift and gory and frankly it delivers pretty much what it promises on the tin.

I suggest you hang around for the ‘Special Features’, too. The director, producers and cast give a smashing little insight on the problems of working with restricted funding and explain how they compensated through imagination, a tight script and a committed group of backers. Big Hollywood studios take note…it took Barker and his crew only 5 weeks to shoot this movie. That they came up with something this good in so short a space of time speaks volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NAZI ZOMBIES VS. MERCENARIES. WHAT SOUNDS LIKE A SIMPLE FORMULA PRODUCTION PROVES TO BE RATHER ORIGINAL., 2 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
THE MOVIE

When most people hear zombies and nazis they think of the Norwegian horror film DEAD SNOW (2009). However before DEAD SNOW there was the far superior British flick OUTPOST which was made in 2007.
Made on a rather small budget this movie is far more effective than most high budget US zombie movies. Set in Eastern Europe mostly near and inside a bunker it was filmed entirely in Scotland.
Directed by Steve Barker who also directed the inferior OUTPOST II : BLACK SUN, he makes the most of the limited budget and manages stretch it to the maximum effect: washed out colors add to the bleak atmosphere. It's not non-stop action but also several thrills and jump moments.
Great actors for a movie in this genre, I especially like Richard Brake as the redneck who delivers some of the best one liners ever ("See, the bright light... it ain't heaven, son. It's just a muzzle flare.") also Ray Stevenson (PUNISHER: WAR ZONE).
Zombies as a bio weapon has been done before, but I believe not like this: occultistic Nazi experiments by shifting reality and reanimating the dead to create invincible soldiers, all masterminded by the Germans during World War II does make an intereisting background story.
The zombies are given very limited screen time however and at first one is not presented with a visual on the unknown foe.
The mercenaries are well written and acted - they are not just stereotype soldiers, each has a different personality which is rare on film - VERY rare.
Not overly gory though - the BBFC 18 Certificate is a bit overdone, a 15 would have sufficed.
OUTPOST is not your run-of-the-mill zombie flick - but a crafty little zombie war/action/sci-fi/thriller. What sounds like a mundane film is actually a very well executed and rather original little chiller and actually one of the best zombie movies I have ever seen.

THE DVD

Reviewed version: 2007 Sony Home Entertainment UK DVD
Feature running time: 86 mins. (uncut)
Rating: R (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 2.40:1
Audio: English 5.1, English 2.0
Subtitles: English for the Hearing Impaired
Chapters: 12
Extras: Theatrical trailer, Commentary, Behind the Scenes, Deleted Scenes
Region: 2

Picture: B
Audio: B
Extras: C+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Leiche Reich.., 11 April 2013
By 
Arch Stanton (Cornwall, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Some soldiers of fortune are employed to find and secure a specific building located in the wilds of war torn Eastern Europe. Of course they find it and they find the treasures it holds, but at what price, as something appears to be lurking in the shadows...
A late night creeper featuring an unstoppable, Nazi death corps. For a low budget film the acting is very good, for what little they have to do and the sets and effects are very well handled. Sadly it's a little slow paced and fills out the runtime with the odd creepy moment and lots of shouting and daft tough dialogue.
Surprised to see this got given an 18 rating, as there wasn't much splatter on display, instead opting for atmospheric shocks.
Most other reviewers have mentioned similarities between this and Dog Soldiers, Death Watch, The Fog, Event Horizon, The Bunker (and probably Scarecrows, The Supernaturals and Shock Waves to boot, and if they didn't, they should have!). If that is the case I would say don't get your hopes up too high, because this is certainly not as good as most of those listed, although to be fair, its not that far behind, it just doesn't really pull off either a 'by the numbers' blood soaked body count, a traditional ghost story or for that matter a horror tinged, Predator style, action flick!
In my opinion, the makers should've gone all 'Tombs of the Blind Dead' on us viewers, and chucked in a bit more splatter and electric hoodoo nastiness (maybe into the back story), to make it a bit more exciting.
Not great but not terrible by any means either, in fact, slightly better than average for its ilk.
3.25/5 The dvd houses a commentary, deleted scenes, trailer and a load of behind the scenes interviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outpost [2008] [DVD]
Outpost [2008] [DVD] by Steve Barker (DVD - 2008)
£3.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews