Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprising
I think everyone has a soft spot for budget horror films, but at the same time I don't think we expect much more from them than a bit of action, violence and fun. With Outpost, however, there is something rather original about it, and you quickly realise that this isn't quite like other mundane horror flicks.

A group of mercenaries are commissioned to...
Published on 28 Aug 2010 by S. Davidson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nazi-undead
This film should have been more than it was. The premise is great, the atmosphere is spot-on, the costumes and make-up are menacing and the characters are pretty decent. This menace is somehow lost, however, at some point during the overblown final plot-arc, which is a major shame because it really looks stunning and builds up some satisfying apprehension.
I cannot...
Published on 19 May 2009 by Arrrrrrrach


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprising, 28 Aug 2010
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I think everyone has a soft spot for budget horror films, but at the same time I don't think we expect much more from them than a bit of action, violence and fun. With Outpost, however, there is something rather original about it, and you quickly realise that this isn't quite like other mundane horror flicks.

A group of mercenaries are commissioned to accompany a scientist to an old Nazi bunker, which curiously has not been looted. It is soon realised that something is afoot when bodies are discovered inside, and even a 'survivor', who is apparently in a vegetative state. Fire-fights soon start taking place at the surface, between the mercenaries and an unknown foe, and strange things begin happening underground. Cutting the story short, basically what the bunker contains is Nazi super soldiers, who don't very much like visitors.

Fantastic action scenes throughout, and some damn scary moments when the lights go out and Nazi zombies start creeping around everywhere. Quality stuff; much recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice little independent Nazi Zombie movie., 18 Mar 2008
By 
Max Berman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're tired of gigantic hollywood horrors with their formulaic plots and calculated frights, you might want to try this little movie. Set in Eastern Europe, shot in Scotland, starring Ray Stevenson and costing a little over 1 million, you might be pleasantly surprised at the quality of this movie. Genuine tension is offset with sparing gore. Great gun battles and some Nazi voodoo technology thrown in for good measure make this micro-budget effort well worth watching. There are some great characters from all over the world dying in some really creative ways and some pretty nasty baddies lurking in a pretty scary environment.

Why not bypass the hollywood dross and see how a bunch of enthusiastic Scottish film-makers do things. Great fun stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forget zombies this is immortal time shifting Nazis!!, 26 May 2009
By 
Patrick Cann (Kenilworth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Being a fan of all things Romero I bought this thinking it would be packed with the shuffling undead as implied by other reviews, not so. My first pleasant surprise was to see Tyres (Michael Smiley) in one of the roles. Anyway I digress, on to the picture. A troop of mercenaries are enlisted to acccompany a businessman to a remote bunker in Eastern Europe. Once there they find evidence of Nazi experiments to create super soldiers. Without ruining the whole story things go wrong from there to the end. As I said no zombies but lots of supernatural super soldiers. Not all of the film made perfect sense and the viewer is left to fill in some blanks in the plot but I enjoy a film like that, one which makes you think a bit instead of spoonfeeding you. It is obvious that the whole thing was made on a shoestring but that adds to the whole feel in this instance. Instead of lavish production and acres of CGI the sets are old industrial builings which are grotty and look as if they have stood dormant since 1945. That being said there is one moment of 'Doctor Who' effects but don't let that put you off. On the whole I say buy it if these kind of films are your thing, you shouldn't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice little independent Nazi Zombie movie., 23 April 2008
By 
Max Berman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
If you're tired of gigantic hollywood horrors with their formulaic plots and calculated frights, you might want to try this little movie. Set in Eastern Europe, shot in Scotland, starring Ray Stevenson and costing a little over 1 million, you might be pleasantly surprised at the quality of this movie. Genuine tension is offset with sparing gore. Great gun battles and some Nazi voodoo technology thrown in for good measure make this micro-budget effort well worth watching. There are some great characters from all over the world dying in some really creative ways and some pretty nasty baddies lurking in a pretty scary environment.

Why not bypass the hollywood dross and see how a bunch of enthusiastic Scottish film-makers do things. Great fun stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. C. J. Tyer "Adam T" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Although made on a low budget, the film has a very good story line and deep characters. Definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nazi-undead, 19 May 2009
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
This film should have been more than it was. The premise is great, the atmosphere is spot-on, the costumes and make-up are menacing and the characters are pretty decent. This menace is somehow lost, however, at some point during the overblown final plot-arc, which is a major shame because it really looks stunning and builds up some satisfying apprehension.
I cannot give it less than three stars, but only because I absolutely love this sort of thing, having grown up with Wolfenstein and Doom to take me to the early hours. One day somebody will nail this idea and unleash true grim krieg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sky movies, 25 Dec 2009
By 
E. Graham "evelyn" (yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this on tv and, I would recommend it for the good price. It avoids the cheesy teen americanisms that ruin many horror films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great concept let down by a by-the-numbers script and underwhelming ..., 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outpost (Amazon Instant Video)
Great concept let down by a by-the-numbers script and underwhelming acting. The directing is adequate but really no more than that - it certainly doesn't get the most of the creepy situations, and never really makes the undead Nazis as scary and menacing as we want them to be. And why do so many screenwriters/directors think that it's a good thing to make all their characters cynical, wisecracking bastards who just speak like pale shadows of characters in other films? If you're going to start killing them off, and want us to care about it, then just get us to like them. And why are supposedly seasoned soldiers portrayed as gung-ho idiots, who shoot randomly at anything that moves, go to pieces the second things don't go their way and clearly would not have survived five minutes in actual combat?

Yes, you guessed it - I was frustrated by this film. It was just a bit dead, and not in a good way.

On the plus side, it looks great and the score is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 2 Nov 2010
By 
S. Campion - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this at a university Horror Movie society, and wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised. The acting is fairly good, especially with the two main characters, the cinematography and set designs are great, and they don't show the enemy until a good way in, which helps build up a bit of mystery. The setup isn't bad either: I was expecting plain old nazi zombies, but this was actually fairly original, and the 'science' wasn't totally outlandish. The film starts to come to pieces at the end, with some poor visual effects and a weak ending, but overall the film isn't bad, by any means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I was expecting, 20 Feb 2010
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I've seen a few war/horror pics including The Bunker, Dog Soldiers (my absolute fav), and I had The Outpost recommended by a friend. This is a pic set in the modern day and based around a group of mercs on a job.
It has a really simple story, so don't expect too many plot twists and turns. But the tempo of the action/suspense is quite good, its not just guns blazing from start to finish. The acting is good but a couple of the characters are very 2D, but hey there's mostly mercs so you can forgive this.
The effects are very simple, the movie relies on lighting and camera work to provide the atmosphere - and I think it does it really quite well.
It doesn't have the depth of character development and combat humour of Dog Soldiers and isn't quite as unnerving as The Bunker but I think it come closes enough to sit along side them on my DVD shelf - this one's not going to the charity shop.
The ultimate measure for me is do I regret spending 94 minutes of my life watching The Outpost, and the answer is absolutely not.
Definitely worth a watch if you like this genre and if you do then make sure you also watch The Bunker and Dog Soldiers as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outpost [2008] [DVD]
Outpost [2008] [DVD] by Steve Barker (DVD - 2008)
3.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews