Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great CPU, but in an ageing technology, and an extortionate price, 10 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. T. F. Norton (Maidstone, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intel Q9550 Core 2 Quad Proccessor - 2.83 GHz,12MB L2 Cache,1333MHz FSB,Socket LGA775,45 nm,3 Year Warranty,Retail Boxed (Electronics)
Let me begin by saying that this CPU runs like lightning. It's *quick*. I bought one of these last September for 160, and it was money well spent.

At 230, though, it's a bit pricey for an ageing technology. What I mean is, if you're prepared to spend 230 on a CPU, now that the i5/i7 CPUs have dropped a bit in price, you may as well spend about 300 and get yourself a decent i5 system, such as

Intel i5-750 Quad Core Processor - 2.66 GHz, 8MB Cache, 2.5 GT/sec, Socket 1156, 45 nm, 3 Year Warranty, Retail Boxed
Intel Desktop Board DH55HC - Motherboard - ATX - iH55 - LGA1156 Socket - SATA-300 - Gigabit Ethernet - video - High Definition Audio (8-channel)
Corsair TWIN3X2048-1333C9 DDR3 1333MHz Memory

that buys into a newer technology and so will have a greater lifespan. This becomes especially pertinent if your current motherboard doesn't support the 1333MHz FSB that the Q9550 requires - you'll end up spending the same money if you need to upgrade your motherboard too.

If all you are looking for is an upgrade to your existing computer without spending too much, either go for

Intel BX80580Q8300 Q8300 Core 2 Quad Processor - 2.50 GHz,4MB Cache,1333MHz FSB,Socket LGA775,45 nm,3 Year Warranty,Retail Boxed

a processor that I bought for my brother, which is just about the best value CPU I can find out there at the moment. However, this CPU also requires 1333MHz FSB. If your existing motherboard only supports 1066MHz FSB, I'd go for

Intel Q6600 Core2 Quad 2.4GHz Processr - Retail 1066MHz FSB, 8MB Cache, Quad Core

which is another excellent CPU.

---

If you are hell-bent on buying the Q9550 at its current price, let me reassure you that you are buying a quality product. For the layman, it scores 7.3 on the Windows 7 Index - not the most precise benchmark - but nonetheless an indication that it packs a punch. The 12MB of cache (6 per two cores) is also a feature that sets this CPU apart from the inferior versions (such as the Q9400, and the Q8xxx series) meaning that games in particular will be eaten up for breakfast by this CPU.

It multi tasks superbly - my computer is always responsive, and at the moment, my hard drive is probably the limiting factor on system performance. I have the Q9550 paired with 8GB of 667MHz DDR2 RAM, a Gigabyte P45 motherboard and an ATI Radeon HD 4870 graphics card. The result is a system that handles everything that I can throw at it.

Although I don't over clock CPUs (not my thing), I have read that this CPU can be over clocked using the stock heat sink to over 3GHz without any issues, provided you have a good quality motherboard. Talking of the heat sink, Intel have had a bit of stick about the quality of their heat sinks, I must say I had no problems installing the one that came with the CPU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 24 July 2009
This review is from: Intel Q9550 Core 2 Quad Proccessor - 2.83 GHz,12MB L2 Cache,1333MHz FSB,Socket LGA775,45 nm,3 Year Warranty,Retail Boxed (Electronics)
If you know about CPU's, you will know that this is a very good cpu. I have mine clcoked at 3.06Ghz, and it is preforming brilliantly. It has made my 9600 GSO a big bottleneck in gaming. rendering video is much faster and has bumped my FPS up alot in games! Very good bang per buck - BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome Processor, 2 Oct 2009
By 
A. ALEEM - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intel Q9550 Core 2 Quad Proccessor - 2.83 GHz,12MB L2 Cache,1333MHz FSB,Socket LGA775,45 nm,3 Year Warranty,Retail Boxed (Electronics)
This is a very good processor. Along with a matching high speed mother board, it exactly does what it is designed for.I am very pleases
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Investment I have made in my pc!!, 12 Feb 2010
By 
Horvath Tamas "ITguru" (Veszprem, Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Intel Q9550 Core 2 Quad Proccessor - 2.83 GHz,12MB L2 Cache,1333MHz FSB,Socket LGA775,45 nm,3 Year Warranty,Retail Boxed (Electronics)
Best Quad Core for the Money, excellent, raised system performance to 10 x's from an e8400 Core 2 duo, amazing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars satisfaction, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intel Q9550 Core 2 Quad Proccessor - 2.83 GHz,12MB L2 Cache,1333MHz FSB,Socket LGA775,45 nm,3 Year Warranty,Retail Boxed (Electronics)
I am satisfied with the design and material design. I encourage all customers who such a product needs. The price is right for the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CPU, but currently over priced, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intel Q9550 Core 2 Quad Proccessor - 2.83 GHz,12MB L2 Cache,1333MHz FSB,Socket LGA775,45 nm,3 Year Warranty,Retail Boxed (Electronics)
When I was a little tighter on cash, I had to get an LGA775 socket motherboard, as I had an E7500.
At the current price, I wouldn't buy this.
I bought it when it was around 210, so this is no longer a budget CPU, and is infact way over priced. If you can get it cheaper elsewhere, then do.

It performs very well. It puts up a 7.3 on the system ratings and runs just about anything I throw it's way.
This coupled with a GTX660 Ti can run games like Battlefield 3 really well on decent settings.
Unfortunately, from what I've read, it can't be overclocked simply. The 2.83GHz isn't bad, but it would be nice if it were higher.

If you're looking to build a new computer then I suggest a i5 2Ghz, which performance wise, is about the same, but much cheaper. You can get cheap motherboards these days that fit the sockets for around 50, so it would be a better alternative.

Again though, when this was cheaper, it was a very good choice, now, not so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Overclocking, 10 Oct 2011
This review is from: Intel Q9550 Core 2 Quad Proccessor - 2.83 GHz,12MB L2 Cache,1333MHz FSB,Socket LGA775,45 nm,3 Year Warranty,Retail Boxed (Electronics)
I have this cpu - I bought it 1 month ago for 200 euros. I have managed to overclock it to 3.4ghz without any issues and with perfect stability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Only one issue..., 12 Jan 2011
By 
Joseph D. Holman (Leicestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intel Q9550 Core 2 Quad Proccessor - 2.83 GHz,12MB L2 Cache,1333MHz FSB,Socket LGA775,45 nm,3 Year Warranty,Retail Boxed (Electronics)
Let me start by saying that this is a phenomenal bit of kit. Coupled with a GTX460, I can now play all of my games on full spec at 1920x1080 (sans PhysX, sadly), and the speed of general computing has increased dramatically over my previous processor. The only problem I have with this chip is that it runs hot...very hot. In my opinion, the stock cooler is simply not sufficient for this processor, with my core-temps on full load hitting the high 60s and low 70s, which is really quite shocking for a chip running at stock speeds. For such a high price, one would have expected Intel to have provided a more efficient heatsink, but instead I am now going to have to buy an after-market one.

If it wasn't for the heat issues, I would have awarded this processor 5 stars, as otherwise I am very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Antepli, 3 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intel Q9550 Core 2 Quad Proccessor - 2.83 GHz,12MB L2 Cache,1333MHz FSB,Socket LGA775,45 nm,3 Year Warranty,Retail Boxed (Electronics)
Hi every one this CPU is an excelent cpu and l tell you what this cpu still goes head to head with new i3-i5 and some sandybridge 2600k cpu's l have been using this model cpu's ie (q9450-Q9550) for about 5 years tgey never let me down l was still able to play all the latest games ie Black ops call of duty if you want a honest reliable harworking cpu l would recomended if you want the new version of this cpu you need an i7960 or above cpu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews