Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The rise and fall of a sizzling starlet
This is a live performance (or rather editing of 3 performances from 2007) from Berlin of a production by Vincent Paterson originally seen in Los Angeles.

Updated to the 1950s, Manon is an aspiring wannabe, obsessed with glossy magazines featuring her film star idols, and the opera is told in a series of film-style vignettes, with Manon changing her image as...
Published on 6 April 2009 by 221b

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Such a sad story in a France seen by americains.
Staging: this Paris may be what americains soldiers may have seen of France's capital in the forties. Or is it really? To me it is an unsavoury mix of 50's fashion (some dresses are really pretty but if i had wanted a fashion show i wouldn't have bought an opera on DVD) some 60's fashion, some seedy and cheesy settings in the Hotel de Transylvanie and the worst ever...
Published 15 months ago by cathert


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The rise and fall of a sizzling starlet, 6 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Massenet: Manon (Barenboim, Netrebko, Villazon) [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is a live performance (or rather editing of 3 performances from 2007) from Berlin of a production by Vincent Paterson originally seen in Los Angeles.

Updated to the 1950s, Manon is an aspiring wannabe, obsessed with glossy magazines featuring her film star idols, and the opera is told in a series of film-style vignettes, with Manon changing her image as much as her underwear! From Audrey Hepburn-like naivete at the beginning, through to Marilyn Monroe-stunner, she is a chameleon of her times, desperate for fame, and would certainly have been on Big Brother if it had been invented then! Generally this updating works very well, and unusually for a modern production, doesn't get in the way of the plot. The staging of the St Sulpice scene works extremely well with the distanced lovers meeting once again through the chancel railings - who in the relationship is the "caged bird" and who is free?

Bring on the stars - tickets don't get much hotter than this, with Netrebko and Villazon heading the cast. Neither of them are natural French singers, and to be honest, half the time you wouldn't be able to tell what language they are singing in. Netrebko's consonant-less soprano and Villazon's latino warmness does not = Massenet. And yet, despite all the odds against them, and despite my better judgement, the two singers gripped me throughout, making this a stunningly moving portrayal that actually merits the hype! Barenboim conducts (apparently at short notice with just days to learn the score), and although I've never seen a grumpier conductor at the curtain call, he manages to serve Massenet well and bring lightness and sweeping emotion to the score.

Manon is a stunning opera, full of wonderful melodies and heart-wrenching scenes, and I shall enjoy watching this recording again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Such a sad story in a France seen by americains., 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Massenet: Manon (Barenboim, Netrebko, Villazon) [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Staging: this Paris may be what americains soldiers may have seen of France's capital in the forties. Or is it really? To me it is an unsavoury mix of 50's fashion (some dresses are really pretty but if i had wanted a fashion show i wouldn't have bought an opera on DVD) some 60's fashion, some seedy and cheesy settings in the Hotel de Transylvanie and the worst ever curtain, all fake gold and half translucid...Vinyl, please...
Villazon has some golden moments, unfortunately they are ... moments. I was not impressed by his -ah, fuyez, douce image- in the slightest, his voice in totally uneven and there are notes that simply don't come out at all. I felt sorry because I bought this DVD to hear him before his misadventures took him off the best scenes and because yes I used to really like his "timbre" (timber/ tone ? in english?)
Ana Netrebko looks adorable though much older than the character she is supposed to be (16) and her honeyed tone takes us to heaven. Well...that's only if you're not a french speaker. Being one, i was sorely disappointed by the weakeness in pronounciation from both main singers.
Mr Des Grieux,father, is excellent as usual. Check him in Munich's Lohengrin with JK and Ana Harteros.
Overall, staging felt fake and aimed at an american audience (the one that has a stereotypical knowledge of historical Paris only, of course ;-) and the singing was mostly disappointing and so un-french.
This is a Paris for ignorant tourists and i wouldn't think any opera audience would fit that description. It is barely better than Broadway...it says a lot...
Manon was performed in Chicago in 2008 - Jonas Kaufmann and Nathalie Dessay- anybody knows how to get a copy of that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine singing and acting in a sparkling modern production updated to the 1950's, 23 Nov 2011
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Massenet: Manon (Barenboim, Netrebko, Villazon) [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Like the Donizetti Love Potion, this also teams up Villazon and Netrebko to completely believable effect. Both are in good voice although there are a few early signs of the vocal strain which has recently caused Villazon problems leading to unreliable engagements. These are not of any real significance here though and should not affect any purchasing choice. The problem may stem from his apparent reluctance to hold back his enthusiasm to deliver fully in performance rather than saving his voice whenever possible. This is good for his audiences but is a potentially heavy long term price for Villazon. He certainly gives 100% here.

The setting is updated to the 1950's, but both Villazon and Netrebko have an aura about them that suggests a modern coupling would be appropriate. They are especially vibrant together and are clearly of an appropriate age for each other dramatically. This is a great advantage in any opera but is especially beneficial in this setting. Netrebko brings a dramatic aura of both glamour and decadence to her part and is in particularly good voice. The part seems made for her.

All the supporting roles are well sung and convincingly portrayed by Christof Fischesser, Alfredo Daza, Remy Corazza, Arttu Kataja, Hanan Alattar, Gal James, Silvia de la Muela and Mattias Vieweg although inevitably the limelight is dominated by Anna Netrebko and to a lesser extent, by Rolando Villazon.

The orchestra is also on top form under the sparkling direction of Barenboim.

The recording offers excellent surround sound in DTS 5.1, PCM 5.1 as well as stereo. The camera work is sympathetic with a nice balance of close detail and more distant shots. As another reviewer has remarked, it is vital that good singing is backed up by good acting in opera especially when the storyline is so slight and we are certainly offered a combination of fine singing and acting in this case. Fortunately we live in an age when the old stand and deliver approach has been replaced by far better stage training and camera awareness and that is what we get here.

In general terms, although I personally like the modern setting, I feel that there will be those who would prefer a more traditional staging and it should be noted that this production may not therefore be to everyone's personal taste. The musical values remain excellent however whatever views one may have on production choices and this performance certainly went down well with the audience. Providing that purchasers are prepared to accept the period updating to the 1950's this disc should give considerable pleasure. With that proviso in mind, it seems reasonable to suggest that 5 stars is a fair rating for those in sympathy with this modernised concept and that those who would reject that should look elsewhere for their choice of Manon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intoxicating - No Other Word For it!, 29 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Massenet: Manon (Barenboim, Netrebko, Villazon) [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
What a great watch this is; it’s totally intoxicating. It’s a cascade of colour, via the wonderful costumes & settings. I am not normally an opera lover but I so enjoyed this. For me it was 2 hours & 40 minutes of sheer pleasure.
I don’t confess to be an expert on’ song’ but I found the ‘warbling’ here just wonderful to listen to, especially that of the soprano, Anna Netrebko, who of course plays Manon. Rolando Villazon (Chevalier) was also totally compelling as her love sick partner.
Like a lot of Opera & Musicals, the plot is very basic and so is easy to follow, especially with the help of sub titles that cement this still further.
The one thing that truly hit me between the eyes was the sheer passion that is generated throughout the piece, not only from the singing but also from the very fine acting, especially of the heart-rending scenes which really are quite gripping. The finale is just mind numbingly beautiful, being almost iconic.
The pack contains two DVD’s and a booklet to help you make your way through this superb watch and I have to say that the picture quality and sound quality is every bit as good as the opera itself!
How anyone can be overly critical after watching this is beyond my comprehension! I am not that into opera but thought that this was an outstandingly enjoyable way to spend an evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superman(on), 23 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. Z. W. Vos (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Massenet: Manon (Barenboim, Netrebko, Villazon) [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The new Manon with Netrebko & Villazon is a truly remarkable production.
From "sex at the opera" to "Marilyn" -happy birthday dear president- Netrebko.
But, most important, the singing is all you could wish for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning cinematic Manon, 1 Aug 2010
By 
Dr. Trevor G. Stammers (Epsom UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Massenet: Manon (Barenboim, Netrebko, Villazon) [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
There can be no better case made than this for restoring Massenet's greatest opera into the popular repertoire in the UK, where it is far too infrequently performed.

It has the most brilliant sequence of both sparkling and sad arias combined with tremendously tuneful choruses and, in addition, has as racy a pace of plot as you ever get in opera.

This production just about has it all - difficult to imagine a better casting than Anna Netrebko in the title role - a glorious voice, great acting talent and as one sees very clearly in Act 2, a body made for this role - the headline in the introductory article in the helpful insert is "Manon - Screen Goddess" and that is exactly what she is on this recording.

Rolando Villazon, now well known from his hosting of a popular UK operatic TV talent show, sings like a man possessed (as indeed in the story he is) but once his unfortunate resemblance to 'Mr Bean' as a schoolboy is noticed, it makes it rather hard to keep a straight face during the rest of the production
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A totally vibrant and dazzling production., 4 July 2014
By 
Derek Vernon-morris (Greater Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Massenet: Manon (Barenboim, Netrebko, Villazon) [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This magnificent performance was filmed from live stage performances in 2007, from the Staatsoper Unter den Linden, Berlin. The director and Choreographer Vincent Patterson has updated this 1882 Opera to the 1950's, and the role allows Anna Netrebko ample room to demonstrate her considerable acting skills.
Massenet based this work of five acts, on a novel by Abbe Prevost written in 1731, and this explains the underlying morality of the plot. A sixteen year old girl Mannon Lescaut, meets her Army Officer cousin at a station café in Paris, on her way to a life in a Convent. She has already been inspired by a movie star magazine and employs the old wartime trick of drawing a black line down the back of her leg to imitate nylon stockings, and imagines herself maybe as a young Audrey Hepburn. The continual presence of three camera and lighting men on stage indicate that her life is in fact like that of a Screen Goddess.
Rolando Villazon enters as a student, Le Chevalier des Grieux, on his way to see his wealthy and important father, and immediately breaks into passionate emotion when he sees Mannon and they abandon all of their plans and live together. This then becomes the tale of inner conflict and thwarted love. His Father and manipulative businessmen separate them, and Chevalier chooses the confines of the Church until he is forced by his passion to leave his vows, and succumb to the renewed entreaties of Mannon. He is forced to become an illegal gambler as his inheritance id dissipated.
Anna Netrebko's natural beauty is transformed into that of maybe Ava Gardiner or Elizabeth Taylor as the toast of Paris, and then to that representing maybe Bette Grable or Marilyn Monroe.
Throughout, Massenet provides inspirational duets and solos and joyous sometimes humorous chorus pieces, enhanced by a glittering array of 1950's retro costumes designed by Susan Hilferty.
Finally in grey sackcloth and with clipped hair reminiscent maybe of Judy Garland or Ingrid Bergman, Anna Netrebko enjoys dying a tragic death as Mannon is released from Prison to die in Chevalier's arms as Rolando Villazon lifts her with intense passion and carries her off into a Hollywood style vermillion sunset.
This is really a must see, a must have, for any lover of Opera. Even without the spectacle of costume and scenery, if one listens with closed eyes - Rolando Villazon and Anna Netrebko deliver vibrant mature gripping renderings of the music, rendered by the Staatskapelle Berlin, conducted by Daniel Barenboim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The undressing of Netrebko, the undoing of Massenet., 23 Jan 2014
By 
Malcolm Tremain (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Massenet: Manon (Barenboim, Netrebko, Villazon) [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
How to get Anna Netrebko to roll around in her underwear?
This is always a bit of a poser for theatre producers, but always a money spinner for the investors.
I know she's a lovely looking lady and her assets are both sound and vision, but when the vision becomes more of a selling point than her sound for theatres, this is what you end up with.
It's a poor production of Massenet's opera that has the star turn portrayed as a flimsily clothed hooker most of the time whilst Villazon is risible as a sort of moustachio'ed dwarf gangster.
Don't bother wasting your time with this lame production.
Singing is good, orchestra is mediocre as usual under the baton of Barenboim - a man who thinks everything should be played like it was written by Beethoven.
Buy the CD instead if you must but don't expect anything other than OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Baby girl to Diva., 12 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Mc Warwick (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Massenet: Manon (Barenboim, Netrebko, Villazon) [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I loved the whole thing, style and music but again the staging was a bit too pantomime and that is the only thing that let it down for me.Villason and Netrebko were divine and totally believing in their portrayals. If the stting had been as good as the acting it would have been superb. I even liked the different screen divas that Manon portrayed in each act which was only spoilt by the stupid use of film crew with lime lights. It took away the reality of the drama and poignianancy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great singing great production, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Massenet: Manon (Barenboim, Netrebko, Villazon) [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Anna Netrebko plays manon as a 50s starlet,sings like a dream and is joined by villazon as her ardent young lover
production is very well staged and acted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Massenet: Manon (Barenboim, Netrebko, Villazon) [DVD] [2008]
£8.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews