Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Purchased for partner
Being someone who dislikes relying on a motherboards build in sound card I have always purchased my own to add-on..

Built partner a new PC using an old dual server motherboard and needed a fast solution to the no sound (other than the moaning for sound)

Ordered this and sure enough the next day it arrived in the post and was fitted within 5...
Published 12 months ago by John

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK card in XP but not great in Vista
This installs fine in XP, however when you pop it in a Vista PC, the surround sound bit does NOT work! Although it will install OK (minus the MIDI port). Ah well at least it did not cost me a bundle to find that out :)

The additional software is non-existent as the CD only contains drivers...

PS The card actually looks nothing like the picture
Published on 3 Feb 2010 by G. Davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK card in XP but not great in Vista, 3 Feb 2010
This review is from: Dynamode PCI 6 Channel Soundcard (Electronics)
This installs fine in XP, however when you pop it in a Vista PC, the surround sound bit does NOT work! Although it will install OK (minus the MIDI port). Ah well at least it did not cost me a bundle to find that out :)

The additional software is non-existent as the CD only contains drivers...

PS The card actually looks nothing like the picture
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Purchased for partner, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamode PCI 6 Channel Soundcard (Electronics)
Being someone who dislikes relying on a motherboards build in sound card I have always purchased my own to add-on..

Built partner a new PC using an old dual server motherboard and needed a fast solution to the no sound (other than the moaning for sound)

Ordered this and sure enough the next day it arrived in the post and was fitted within 5 minutes.

I noticed many people reviewing stating it doesn't work with vista or windows 7 etc yet I had no problems my end with windows 7

Just poped cd into the drive (had to use my computer and copy contents to a usb)
Located the most viable installer (clearly labeled windows 7) and away it went! no reboot needed. still worked after a reboot for good measure!

Noticed also includes driver for windows 8 (just to confirm for those out there wondering)

The sound doesn't match upto say a 150£ gaming or theatre card, yet it blows away any mobo built in sound card offering a clear and crisp sound (obviously dependent also on software and speakers)

overall 4 stars for ease and quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soundcard bargain!, 7 Dec 2011
This review is from: Dynamode PCI 6 Channel Soundcard (Electronics)
I have installed several of these now. Absolute steal for under a tenner! Produce a good sound & simple to install!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid if you want surround sound, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamode PCI 6 Channel Soundcard (Electronics)
Does not appear to work for 5.1 surround sound
Does not resemble product as advertised in the Amazon image
Does not have a manual or web support
…However, sounds good in stereo playback and easy to install.

I bought this for a new PC running Windows 8.1 with a view to using it in conjunction with a Creative Labs Inspire 5100 5.1 speaker system. The PC isn't going to get heavy use but might play the odd movie in iTunes or off DVD – so a bargain basement sound card will suffice.

Installation into a standard Gigabyte mono was easy – the card is nice and sturdy – and installing the drivers from the CD was very straightforward with Windows 8.

However, fresh out of the box the card only appears to supply stereo sound. Subsequent attempts to tease it into supplying six-channel sound all failed. It is, however, surprisingly good for stereo and slightly better than the onboard.

First niggle. The card supplied isn't as pictured. It has the right number of ports but 'labelled' with a non-standard colour scheme that doesn't match up to the usual green/orange/black layout (as is shown in the Amazon image).

Second niggle. There's no easy way to do this figure this out. It would be straightforward if there were a manual (or just a diagram) on the supplied CD but there isn't. Also the Dynamode website doesn't appear to feature the device at all – so no help there. So it's a matter of trial and error – ie plugging thing in to all the ports and in every conceivable combination and listening to what comes out.

End result. Having spent several hours trying every combination of ports, killing the onboard sound in the BIOS etc., it becomes apparent that the system is only ever going to work in stereo rathe than six-channel. The supplied software doesn't offer much in the way of assistance (and bizarrely, it appears to be stuck in a default 4-channel quadraphonic mode anyway) while the native Windows sound set-up page in the control panel will allow 5.1 to be selected but can't help with getting anything out of the rear speakers either.

I've wasted an afternoon trying to tease this into doing what it's supposed to do and it hasn't worked. I would send it back but for £8 it's not with the hassle of buying an envelope and walking down to the post office. I'm going to take it out, throw it in the bin and chalk it down to experience. I'll then spend the £22 I should have spent in the first place on buying the genuine Creative Labs SoundBlaster.

I notice this card has a lot of good reviews, which I found puzzling until I re-read them and noticed that many explicitly say they're using the card for stereo or 2.1 rigs and the rest don't mention a configuration at all. Is anyone using this card successfully for 5.1 surround sound? Conceivably there's something I'm doing wrong but that's largely a moot point. Whether it just doesn't work or it doesn't work because it's fiendishly difficult to set up, I wouldn't recommend buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sound card., 22 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamode PCI 6 Channel Soundcard (Electronics)
Cracking sound card which I thought was as cheap as you can get. Had a quick look in PC world and they couldn't come close on price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best value for money sound card, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamode PCI 6 Channel Soundcard (Electronics)
This sound card is brilliant and cheap if you just want a standard cheap PCIe Soundcard that has good sound quality

I see some people may be having some compatibility issues with this card on Windows 7/8

All you need to do is put the mini DVD into your computer and open your windows explorer, go to computer and choose the drive with the drivers on, right click and click open in a new window, then copy all of the file over to your desktop and install the drivers that way.

I ordered this product like 6 months ago and not a single issue, 5 star recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Beware of this card please read., 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamode PCI 6 Channel Soundcard (Electronics)
If you are looking for this card for MIDI please do not buy, the whole batch of them are faulty, the MIDI port is not soldered to the board, there are NO pins connected, it is a manufacturing fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds Good., 23 Feb 2014
By 
William J. Fox "KillerBill" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamode PCI 6 Channel Soundcard (Electronics)
Does what it is required to do. Simple installation and set-up. I have found a lot of on-board sound cards can be awkward to get running and this was a cheap way of averting this problem I have with my own motherboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice for my Speakers, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamode PCI 6 Channel Soundcard (Electronics)
I added this hoping my HD audio would sound better which it did and I had no problems installing it, drivers, delivery and ports
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A quick note, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynamode PCI 6 Channel Soundcard (Electronics)
It arrived the next day (one day post cost almost as much as the card!). Plugged it in and installed very quickly and easily (windows 7 64bit). I only got it to replace my motherboards integrated sound, which has never worked properly since new (refused to work at all in some circumstances). I'm not a gaming fan, and don't really make much use of computer sound. I have 2 small basic (cheap at £7 !)stereo speakers, which is more than sufficient for my needs, so I have not tried anything more. The sound is perfectly adequate. There are quite a few settings to play with in the supplied software (graphic equaliser and various effects etc). Only slight thing is a very quiet low level buzz from the speakers (you have to get your ear quite close to hear it) - this could be the cheap speakers OR the cheap soundcard or combination of both. But in all honesty you really can't go wrong with this card for less than £10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dynamode PCI 6 Channel Soundcard
£8.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews