Customer Reviews


173 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars back on track
Brilliant! I was hesitant to buy this but I'm glad I did. This is St Trinians as it should be done. Total anarchy, mayhem, great music. This movie definitely captures the spirit of the earlier versions. Lots of references to other movies like Colin Firth after his dip in the pond.
If you like the earlier St Trinians then this is a must buy. British humor at its...
Published on 19 Sep 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film, wrong time
This film is fun and well-made, with some excellent performances, notably from Rupert Everett and Colin Firth, but its ultimate failure is down more to the times in which we live than the film itself. The original St Trinians celebrated anarchy in a repressed world, but these days it is hard to find anything funny in the idea of schoolgirl violence, because it is a...
Published on 13 Sep 2008 by Jenny Wren


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars back on track, 19 Sep 2009
This review is from: St Trinian's [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Brilliant! I was hesitant to buy this but I'm glad I did. This is St Trinians as it should be done. Total anarchy, mayhem, great music. This movie definitely captures the spirit of the earlier versions. Lots of references to other movies like Colin Firth after his dip in the pond.
If you like the earlier St Trinians then this is a must buy. British humor at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film, wrong time, 13 Sep 2008
This review is from: St Trinian's [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This film is fun and well-made, with some excellent performances, notably from Rupert Everett and Colin Firth, but its ultimate failure is down more to the times in which we live than the film itself. The original St Trinians celebrated anarchy in a repressed world, but these days it is hard to find anything funny in the idea of schoolgirl violence, because it is a commonplace reality. Ronald Searle's cartoons of children distilling gin were hilarious - but who finds it funny now that children sell drugs, or 'moonshine' so strong it kills people? The producers have done their best to tackle this problem, and tried to keep their violent stars the 'underdogs' by depicting the 'rich girls' school' as even more violent and prone to bullying, but it doesn't quite come off. In fairness, I am middle -aged, and younger people might enjoy this a lot more than I did. There is a genuine attempt to create a moral 'core', in that the suggestions of one schoolgirl to raise money by kidnapping and mutilating a rich person are dismissed as 'sick', and also one slightly unconvincing effort to be uplifting, by having a message that the pursuit of celebrity is less important than fulfilling one's own potential.
Otherwise, it's colourful, tense in the right places, funny in others, and IF YOU CAN FORGET THE REAL WORLD AROUND YOU it's an enjoyable night in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remade with attitude, 11 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Trinian's [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Having loved the four Black & White movies (which have all received mixed reviews over the years - haven't all movies e.g. Jaws?) I was ready to see the modern day take on them but also ready to accept the older films might not be paid any homage!! Indeed the new version is bang up to date and yet the modernity of this film does hold true with the original idea of the St Trinians comic drawings, you just have to be ready to accept the idea of the social castes, mobile phones and the like. In the background things go on and you have to be able to see them whilst the film is still going on in the foreground!

Okay the casting might not be perfect on the male side but I felt the girls gave the film their all and true performances came from Gemma Aterton and Talulah Riley and all the other focal girls.

A super way to spend an afternoon after the more thought provoking I Am Legend. Some laugh out loud moments and good visual gags. Yes the jokes are more important than the "plot" but the same is true of the original films and I really enjoyed them too.

The loss of one star due to the slightly poor male side to the cast but everywhere else the film ticked the boxes and was very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Belles Ring Out, 29 Jun 2010
By 
M. J. Saxton (Dewsbury, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: St Trinian's [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
For the first ten minutes I wasn't too sure about this remake, then the fun began to kick in.

The film has kept to the tradition of English comedy; I use the word advisedly because it sure takes the piss out of the English. It is full of that kind of character comedy that British actors excel. The plot is as strong as it needs to be and nicely inventive. I love the idea of the gangs of girls, "Chavs", "Posh Tottie", "Geeks" etc as some sore of bizarre house system. The twins are a blast from the past, just the sort of girls you'd find in the originals.

Rupert Everett is a good laugh, but is out-classed by Colin Firth. It's ridiculous, it's fun and it works just as a comedy should. Well worth a few watches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jolly hockey sticks, 26 Sep 2008
By 
R. Griffiths (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: St Trinian's [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
What a riot this is! I was hesitant at first, largely because I tend to get my knickers in a knot over modern teenagers (chavs? emos? huh?) but I want to be one NOW! I always wanted to go to boarding school (too much Enid Blyton as a child) but who needs Malory Towers? It's got a great soundtrack, the girls look fantastic, there's a strong message of solidarity and Rupert Everett always makes me laugh. This will become one of my must-sees on horrid winter evenings or when I'm in need of a boost. If only we'd sung a school song along those lines - we'd certainly have sung a lot louder! Watch this. It's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC FUN!!!, 22 July 2009
By 
Lizzie (Newtownards Co Down) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Trinian's [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Got this movie for Christmas and have only just got around to watch it. What took me so long? This film is great. St Trinians is brought up to date and into the 21st Century. Sure, the plot line isn't all that deep, but it's juvenile antics from start to finish, with a fantastic soundtrack.

All the actors are perfectly cast, with the biggest surprise for me being Russell Brand, who is a super Flash Harry.

I agree with the reviewer that said the blue ray disc wasn't any better than upscaled ordinary dvd. For this it lost a star. But the film itself - I will be pulling this one out again and again when I want a laugh.

Just Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Maidens of St Trinians gird your armour on..." for a brill movie!, 27 Dec 2008
By 
pacem et amorem (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: St Trinian's [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I was nervous about this latest St Trinian's film. I'm a die-hard fan of the old movies and was worried that this would be a poor attempt to resurrect what were perfect comedies of years gone by.

I was, however, wrong to be afraid of this new breed of St Trinian's girls and their teachers - though I don't think I'd like to get on the wrong side of the little minxes!

This film is perfectly judged, cast, scripted and realised. I couldn't have wished for a better surprise Christmas pressie! If you liked the originals and are open-minded enough to open your heart to this new incarnation then this is the DVD for you.

Magnificent and top marks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great and lighthearted, 30 Jan 2008
By 
jenny (cardiff, uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: St Trinian's [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This was a great film, lighthearted, sexy and funny and silly in all the right ways. Full of fun antics it also shows that girls can rebel and have adventures as well as guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous fun, 15 July 2008
This review is from: St Trinian's [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The 2007 version of St Trinians is a hilarious update on the original films featuring a wonderful cast who obviously had a great time making the film. The plot repeats many of the ideas from the originals. The worst school in the country is under threat from a conservative minister. The school is in financial jeopardy, not helped by its headmistress. It is up to the plucky girls to save the day by attempting to rob the National Gallery.
The film is bright, colourful and energetic. Contemporary girl bands have been recruited to perform to soundtrack whilst performer of the calibre of Stephen Fry, Colin Firth and Russell Brand make the film fun to watch. In particular, Firth delights in a series of cheeky references to some of his past performances. Rupert Everett steals the show with his dual role and captures the spirit of the originals perfectly.
It is a film which is consistently entertaining and energetic performed with verve and great humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good family comedy, 13 Jan 2010
This review is from: St Trinian's [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I think st trinians is the perfect DVD for a girly night in and also a family movie night, it's funny, it's not rude, its suitable for everyone and it's a MUST BUY 5 stars!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

St Trinian's [DVD] [2007]
St Trinian's [DVD] [2007] by Barnaby Thompson (DVD - 2008)
£5.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews