Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet !
What can you say about the original honey toned bedsit troubadour whose romantic vinyl albums of the early 70's garnered a legion of admirers and imitators ?
Despite the current vogue to dismiss those of a romantic bent as musically irrelevent in today's hard-nosed times,'Sweet Baby James' still stands head and shoulders above most of todays' bland releases by its...
Published on 18 Sept. 2003 by Jago Wells

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
I loved this at the beginning of the seventies but it loses some of its lustre over time
Published 1 month ago by Graham Gladman


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet !, 18 Sept. 2003
By 
Jago Wells - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Baby James (Audio CD)
What can you say about the original honey toned bedsit troubadour whose romantic vinyl albums of the early 70's garnered a legion of admirers and imitators ?
Despite the current vogue to dismiss those of a romantic bent as musically irrelevent in today's hard-nosed times,'Sweet Baby James' still stands head and shoulders above most of todays' bland releases by its sheer quality of composure and delivery.
The title track and the magnificent 'Fire and Rain' still stand out as 'great' songs which have more than stood the test of time.
A great reminder of those patchouli days and Hirondelle nights !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars time for a remaster!, 16 May 2008
This review is from: Sweet Baby James (Audio CD)
I'm amazed this classic has been untouched since its initial cd release in the 80's. Technology has moved on since then, and we deserve a crystal clear version, so we can hear JT's sublime singing and picking in the way it was intended to be heard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable, brilliant!, 14 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Sweet Baby James (Audio CD)
This album was loaned to me about 20 years ago, when I was in my in early twenties. I had never heard of James Taylor at that time & had no idea what to expect when I first listened to it.
I can honestly say it had an incredible effect on me! I loved the man & his music straight away. It was thought provoking, beautiful, unforgettable... I had to have the album for myself & very quickly bought a copy. Since then, over the years, I have built up quite a collection of James Taylor's albums, & compilations. I just could not exist without his music & the same goes for the music of Jackson Browne. REALLY. If you're not a James Taylor fan & you've just stumbled across this & you're curious I'd say buy this album, kick off your shoes, turn the lights down low & unwind as you listen to something magical. You are in for a real treat! You WILL be hooked! Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the original album., 19 Sept. 2011
By 
Terry Starr (North Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Baby James (MP3 Download)
A wonderful album that still sounds good, but be warned - the mp3 download version has replaced the original version of Steamroller with an inferior live version. I've clicked on all the versions of the song available on Amazon downloads and the original version does not appear to be among them. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original, and still one of his best, 9 May 2002
By 
Nicholas Tier "nuck_the_king" (Danehill, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sweet Baby James (Audio CD)
Okay, so it's not actually the original; that goes to the weird "Original Flying Machine" album on Apple Records, but this is definitely wonderful, vintage JT. From start to finish, there are sublime moments, as well as things that still surprise you after repeated listening. Any album with Sweet Baby James and Fire and Rain on it has to be a classic, but the other tracks stand proudly alongside them. 5 stars; no question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 12 Nov. 2010
By 
Harriboy (Wild West Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sweet Baby James (Audio CD)
All aspiring singer songwriters should listen to this seminal album, not just because James was here first but because it is a thing of beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Folkie Countrie Magic, 29 Nov. 2000
This review is from: Sweet Baby James (Audio CD)
This is a hoopla of magical music from the silky tongued JT. The highlight being his heartrenching rendition of fire and rain, which is moving enough to bring a tear to the strongest of strong men. The line' Suzzane, the plans they made put an end to ye' cuts to the very bone. All good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 60s Hero, 6 April 2014
By 
John S. Roff (birmingham uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Baby James (Audio CD)
This was actually James second album though I've always considered it his best next to Mud Slide Slim, later albums gradually moved closer to the jazz scene where he is now. James was raised in an army family and was expected to carry on the family tradition though he really wanted to be a musician. He was sent off to military college but did'nt take to the strong disciplinary life and following a complete mental breakdown was placed in a mental home where he again rebelled against the harsh regulations inherant within those establishments. He recovered but many of his songs are based on his experiences in both places the best known probably being 'Fire & Rain'. Many of James friends in his early recording days were well known artists in their own right and they often appear on each others albums at that time, Joni Mitchell, Carly Simon and Carole King amongst them. I highly reccommend this album to students and lovers of late 60s early 70s music. JR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JT gets me back from Ireland, 1 July 2014
This review is from: Sweet Baby James (Audio CD)
Our honeymoon in Ireland in 1971 was a triumph of hope over practicality . Waved at gunpoint through Belfast checkpoints by frightened looking squaddies , we somehow made it around the Emerald Isle in a battered old British Racing Green Mini with a creaking subframe . This album was the soundtrack to that great adventure . It even got us safely through the dark dangers of the long and winding road from Stranraer to Newcastle . This is one of the first of the 70s singer/songwriter albums and still one of the best . Carole King prompts and prods from the piano . Boyhood friend Danny Kootchmar plays beautiful guitar and the rhythm section of Randy Meisner and Russ Kunkel are sound as a pound . There isn't a dud track but the standout is Fire And Rain . We played it at the funeral of my wife,s brother in 2000 and it formed a fitting coda to a sad and troubled life .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreamy James Taylor, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Baby James (Audio CD)
Oh yes, I really love this album, and the tracks are so much sharper than my old cassette version. Beautiful music to listen to when relaxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sweet Baby James
Sweet Baby James by James Taylor (Vinyl)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews