Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars13
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 March 2008
Wow! We didn't expect this one, did we, PF fans! This is one of those wonderfully crafty albums which takes you by surpise rather like the outsider flying up and snatching the winner's cup from the odds-on favourite - where HAS this fine recording been buried for more than three decades? Well, thankfully, it's not some hand-held-cassette-recorder-in-the-crowd pile of mush; it was recorded for The Finnish Broadcasting Company on Saturday 21st August 1971 at the Ruisrock Festival, Turku, Finland; so, and bear in mind the age of the original tape here, IT IS rather an extraordinarily good recording - well, I'd put it alongside any BBC recording from the same era, so with that yardstick as guidance then it ain't half bad, man!
What tracks are on there, I hear you ask, as the information on the Amazon page is rather scant to say the least? Well, here we go, and you're gonna love this:- Introduction (0.45 seconds), Tomorrow Never Knows (6.39 minutes), The Snake (6.37), Uncle Harry's Last Freakout (20.08) and Walk Don't Run at (13.22); 40 something minutes of Fairies bliss with the then line-up of Paul Rudolph on Guitar and Vocals, Duncan Sanderson on Bass, and Russell Hunter on Drums.
And it's just wagging its finger at you in a come-hither fashion, and YOU KNOW you want to travel back there so click that BUY NOW button...go on , what's a tenner when you can enjoy such blissful nostalgia?
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2008
"A most ugly heavy noise", "not for general use", as some chaps at the BBC once said of the Fairies. A very accurate description, and exactly why you should buy this album. The Fairies at their wildest, freakiest best. Makes Blue Cheer sound like McFly. The previous reviewers are spot on. Essential.
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2008
Turn off your mind and float downstream... What fantastic album. It may've been recorded decades ago but it more than holds its own against any contemporary bands attempting to play such music. For PF diehards and fans this is ESSENTIAL; for anyone interested in wigged out psyche played by a proper power trio, this is ESSENTIAL. No doubt an analogue recording, and sounding fantastic because it is, this is a band on top form and it doesn't get much better. The synergy between all instruments is astounding but, for me, it's the guitar playing that excels. When you compare this against some of their contemporaries who achieved global fame, it makes you wonder why the Fairies don't even appear to be a footnote in the history of 60/70's rock anymore, when they played such great music. I can't recommend this highly enough. Play it very loud and enjoy.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2010
The Pink Fairies were my favourite live act during my teenage years. Sadly the studio albums were always a bit of a let-down. So I was delighted to find this recording available. Bought it straight away, put it in the car CD player, turned the volume way up and blasted myself straight back to the dark and dingy halls that I used to frequent when they were touring (usually saw them with Hawkwind). As with previous reviews I would recommend this to anyone who remembers them from 40 years ago or if you've never heard a truly raw heavy rock band give this a go, you won't be dissapointed.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2010
Saw the Faires and even the Deviants live just before Mick Farren left, yes i am that old!!. MLP gave me this tape to master,before they took it to be CD mastered.
The PF were never the best band to record live, but i just love P Rudolfs Gtr sound. Very pleased with the result after a bit of Pixie Dust was sprinkled over, which was at first a rough recording. If you were/are a fan, buy it now, it will take you back in time manFinland Freakout 1971
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2012
Live albums either get up and throttle you or leave you thinking it might have been better on the day. This is the latter. Live this band was a good time of unpredictable anarchy and serious stuff ups driven along by good rock and roll music. But they could also fly a patch of dirge like a Lancaster bomber loaded with eggs. This is ok. But it does not take off or grab you. Its a Lancaster on its way home. Even the intros by the band are hesitant, out of their comfort zone it is as if they never quite settle to time and place. "Tomorrow never knows" that opens is all over the place and does not stand up to the way they stripped it down from a Beatles classic to a fairies ozone cloud. "Uncle Harry's and the Snake" are on other recordings and in better shape. The guitars and drums thunder along but it lacks spontaneity "Walk Dont Run" was from memory live, a joyous disaster area of Paul Rudolph cutting loose on an old favourite but here it is a bit muddy, muted and whimpery. True, the recording for its date, is good-pity the Fairies were not in full throttle. Maybe Twink missing in action made a bigger hole than was expected. Mr Hunter does a good job at sounding as if he has two drum kits going full speed and not his own kit either. Duncan Sanderson's bass meanders in and out of the mix and Paul Rudolph's guitar playing is more competent than extending. But if you like hard rock/heavy metal feeding on white noise you may enjoy this offering. Others reviewing this CD have. All credit for its release.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2008
A crunching set by what was in my opinion the best Pink Fairies line-up, i.e. the Paul Rudolph three piece.

A gem of a find and it's guaranteed to annoy the neighbours !
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
Ok, first thing, this is old hippy rock at it's rawest, and I love it, because of it.
It's a relatively short album by todays standards, electrically wild though, and for Faries affectionardos, absolute heaven
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
A no nonsense live Pink Fairies album. Sound qualilty is not too bad. A rough around the edges performance but typical Pink Fairies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£19.74
£5.84

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)