Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping It Together.
Wow! We didn't expect this one, did we, PF fans! This is one of those wonderfully crafty albums which takes you by surpise rather like the outsider flying up and snatching the winner's cup from the odds-on favourite - where HAS this fine recording been buried for more than three decades? Well, thankfully, it's not some hand-held-cassette-recorder-in-the-crowd pile of...
Published on 29 Mar. 2008 by Alan Burridge

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be cautious on approach, it is not quite what it seems
Live albums either get up and throttle you or leave you thinking it might have been better on the day. This is the latter. Live this band was a good time of unpredictable anarchy and serious stuff ups driven along by good rock and roll music. But they could also fly a patch of dirge like a Lancaster bomber loaded with eggs. This is ok. But it does not take off or grab...
Published on 23 July 2012 by "Belgo Geordie"


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping It Together., 29 Mar. 2008
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finland Freakout 1971 (Audio CD)
Wow! We didn't expect this one, did we, PF fans! This is one of those wonderfully crafty albums which takes you by surpise rather like the outsider flying up and snatching the winner's cup from the odds-on favourite - where HAS this fine recording been buried for more than three decades? Well, thankfully, it's not some hand-held-cassette-recorder-in-the-crowd pile of mush; it was recorded for The Finnish Broadcasting Company on Saturday 21st August 1971 at the Ruisrock Festival, Turku, Finland; so, and bear in mind the age of the original tape here, IT IS rather an extraordinarily good recording - well, I'd put it alongside any BBC recording from the same era, so with that yardstick as guidance then it ain't half bad, man!
What tracks are on there, I hear you ask, as the information on the Amazon page is rather scant to say the least? Well, here we go, and you're gonna love this:- Introduction (0.45 seconds), Tomorrow Never Knows (6.39 minutes), The Snake (6.37), Uncle Harry's Last Freakout (20.08) and Walk Don't Run at (13.22); 40 something minutes of Fairies bliss with the then line-up of Paul Rudolph on Guitar and Vocals, Duncan Sanderson on Bass, and Russell Hunter on Drums.
And it's just wagging its finger at you in a come-hither fashion, and YOU KNOW you want to travel back there so click that BUY NOW button...go on , what's a tenner when you can enjoy such blissful nostalgia?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Bunch of Sweeties, 7 Jun. 2008
By 
This review is from: Finland Freakout 1971 (Audio CD)
"A most ugly heavy noise", "not for general use", as some chaps at the BBC once said of the Fairies. A very accurate description, and exactly why you should buy this album. The Fairies at their wildest, freakiest best. Makes Blue Cheer sound like McFly. The previous reviewers are spot on. Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential purchase, 2 Jun. 2008
By 
Thor Hammer (Buckhurst Hill, Essex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Finland Freakout 1971 (Audio CD)
Turn off your mind and float downstream... What fantastic album. It may've been recorded decades ago but it more than holds its own against any contemporary bands attempting to play such music. For PF diehards and fans this is ESSENTIAL; for anyone interested in wigged out psyche played by a proper power trio, this is ESSENTIAL. No doubt an analogue recording, and sounding fantastic because it is, this is a band on top form and it doesn't get much better. The synergy between all instruments is astounding but, for me, it's the guitar playing that excels. When you compare this against some of their contemporaries who achieved global fame, it makes you wonder why the Fairies don't even appear to be a footnote in the history of 60/70's rock anymore, when they played such great music. I can't recommend this highly enough. Play it very loud and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Blast, 19 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Finland Freakout 1971 (Audio CD)
The Pink Fairies were my favourite live act during my teenage years. Sadly the studio albums were always a bit of a let-down. So I was delighted to find this recording available. Bought it straight away, put it in the car CD player, turned the volume way up and blasted myself straight back to the dark and dingy halls that I used to frequent when they were touring (usually saw them with Hawkwind). As with previous reviews I would recommend this to anyone who remembers them from 40 years ago or if you've never heard a truly raw heavy rock band give this a go, you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good as it gets for PF live............., 8 Mar. 2010
Saw the Faires and even the Deviants live just before Mick Farren left, yes i am that old!!. MLP gave me this tape to master,before they took it to be CD mastered.
The PF were never the best band to record live, but i just love P Rudolfs Gtr sound. Very pleased with the result after a bit of Pixie Dust was sprinkled over, which was at first a rough recording. If you were/are a fan, buy it now, it will take you back in time manFinland Freakout 1971
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be cautious on approach, it is not quite what it seems, 23 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finland Freakout 1971 (Audio CD)
Live albums either get up and throttle you or leave you thinking it might have been better on the day. This is the latter. Live this band was a good time of unpredictable anarchy and serious stuff ups driven along by good rock and roll music. But they could also fly a patch of dirge like a Lancaster bomber loaded with eggs. This is ok. But it does not take off or grab you. Its a Lancaster on its way home. Even the intros by the band are hesitant, out of their comfort zone it is as if they never quite settle to time and place. "Tomorrow never knows" that opens is all over the place and does not stand up to the way they stripped it down from a Beatles classic to a fairies ozone cloud. "Uncle Harry's and the Snake" are on other recordings and in better shape. The guitars and drums thunder along but it lacks spontaneity "Walk Dont Run" was from memory live, a joyous disaster area of Paul Rudolph cutting loose on an old favourite but here it is a bit muddy, muted and whimpery. True, the recording for its date, is good-pity the Fairies were not in full throttle. Maybe Twink missing in action made a bigger hole than was expected. Mr Hunter does a good job at sounding as if he has two drum kits going full speed and not his own kit either. Duncan Sanderson's bass meanders in and out of the mix and Paul Rudolph's guitar playing is more competent than extending. But if you like hard rock/heavy metal feeding on white noise you may enjoy this offering. Others reviewing this CD have. All credit for its release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fairies in Full Flight, 6 May 2008
By 
T. Hardman (Warrington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Finland Freakout 1971 (Audio CD)
A crunching set by what was in my opinion the best Pink Fairies line-up, i.e. the Paul Rudolph three piece.

A gem of a find and it's guaranteed to annoy the neighbours !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finland Freakout-Pink Fairies, 22 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finland Freakout 1971 (Audio CD)
Ok, first thing, this is old hippy rock at it's rawest, and I love it, because of it.
It's a relatively short album by todays standards, electrically wild though, and for Faries affectionardos, absolute heaven
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finland Freakout 1971 (Audio CD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Approach with Caution!, 19 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finland Freakout 1971 (Audio CD)
Pink Fairies (early 70s psyche rock band with a triumph of image over content) live set from a Finnish rock festival in 1971. Fans will relish the newly released material and the band photos/memorabilia in the CD booklet (although I found it musically less satisfying than the Roundhouse '75 album). Newbies, however, may be put off by the over the top, thrash 'n' crash, wall of sound which the band "throws out", to use their own phrase. Just four tracks means extended jamming but with only one lead instrument this can become rather trying. Sound quality is good...but not THAT good (see if you can spot the ambulance/fire engine/police car siren part way through)! An interesting, rather than a compelling release. Live at the Roundhouse
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Finland Freakout 1971
Finland Freakout 1971 by The Pink Fairies (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews