Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why not The House of the Dead Trilogy?
Thankfully, developers are beginning to realise that the Wii is perfect for light gun games. The House of the Dead series is one of the greatest in the genre, and the Wii conversion retains everything that made these games so special in the arcades.
Graphically, nothing has been updated, so Part 3 obviously looks better than Part 2. A few modes have been bundled in,...
Published on 20 Aug. 2008 by Stevie G

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Impulse buy
Not as good as the other house of the dead game the one that comes with the big gun. I do not know what possessed me to buy all this Nintendo stuff, its all going to waste as I never use it. The game was boring after five minutes.
Published 10 months ago by Review


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why not The House of the Dead Trilogy?, 20 Aug. 2008
By 
Stevie G "Stevie G" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: House of the Dead 2 & 3 Return (Wii) (Video Game)
Thankfully, developers are beginning to realise that the Wii is perfect for light gun games. The House of the Dead series is one of the greatest in the genre, and the Wii conversion retains everything that made these games so special in the arcades.
Graphically, nothing has been updated, so Part 3 obviously looks better than Part 2. A few modes have been bundled in, such as Boss mode and a few tutorials, unlockable extras etc. But Arcade mode really is where its at.

There are branching paths throughout each stage, which usually depend on whether a civilian is rescued or killed. This provides amazing replayability. On a similar note, those worried that unlimited credits would ruin the game need not worry. There is a set number of credits when played for the first time, and every failed attempt to complete either game increases the number of credits available, or the players maximum health. This helps prevent sticking points, especially boss battles or dying at the same point again and again. Admittedly, the feature has been lifted from the PlayStation versions of Time Crisis, but a great addition regardless. The co-op mode is also great fun and just like the arcade, player 2 can jump into the action at any time during play.

The House of the Dead 2 & 3 Return is incredibly nostalgic for those who played it, and still a fantastic light gun game for those who havent.
But would it have been too much to include the original House of the Dead as well? The House of the Dead Trilogy would have sounded much better too! But a small gripe with an otherwise brilliant package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The old ones still have it., 26 April 2008
By 
J. D. Atkinson (Halifax, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: House of the Dead 2 & 3 Return (Wii) (Video Game)
Okay, I know the graphics on this are dated (particularly HOTD2), and I know neither game is exactly cutting edge. The only arcade games i've ever played in the arcade properly and really enjoyed are drivers (Ridge Racer et al)and shooters like Time Crisis and House of the Dead. The Playstation port of Time Crisis was immaculate but I can't get my old light gun to work on a modern telly.

The design of the Wii is perfect for this sort of game and the conversions are perfect. The game is perfectly playable with just the standard Wii remote hand held, and the accuracy is spot on. Anyone who's played a badly calibrated arcade machine of House of the Dead and wasted several quid before realising that the light gun won't hit half of the screen will particularly appreciate this.

While this sort of game will never engage your brain, a good shoot em up is just so much fun, particularly if you play in two player mode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stress relieving splatter fest, 3 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: House of the Dead 2 & 3 Return (Wii) (Video Game)
Maybe it's not normal for a 40 year old woman to get so much satisfaction after a stressful day from obliterating virtual zombies, but hey, normal is overrated. I bought this specifically for the two player aspect and it's great fun. Okay, you just wander around, trigger happy, cheerfully blowing holes in various zombies, and some of the bosses are infuriatingly hard to kill - but if you just want to massacre the undead, what more do you need?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best railgun-shooter but a damn good one., 12 April 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: House of the Dead 2 & 3 Return (Wii) (Video Game)
I gave this game 3 fun-stars, but if you play it with two players give it 4 ;-)

I can remember the good old days when i played House of the Dead for the first time in SEGA World. It had great grafics an a lot of straight forward action. Very nice indeed.
Well, time passed by and the game got some sequels and one prequel and even was released on some consoles like the Saturn and Xbox.
Now its time for a Wii-version.

First thing to mention is that you will get not only part 2 of House of the Dead, you'll get part 3 too.
House of the Dead return is a compilation and i had a great time with both games. I guess i have to admit that part 2 is not very "up to date" and even the voice-action is ... just lets say not so good. Anyway its fun. If you got a friend who likes railgun-shooter too, both of you will have some real funny hours.
Now on to part 3.
Thats some hell of a game! Good grafics, sounds, and voice-action.
Zombies look realy creepy and lots of stuff to blow up. Nice.
Both games are very hard, but thats okay because they are not very long and it wouldnt be very funny if you beat the game after 3 hours.
Anyway, £13.65 is a very good price for this both games.

Just one question remains: Where is part 1?
Okay its old, but it would have made the compilation feel more complete.

And don't forget to check out House of the Dead Overkill because THIS GAME ROCKS and its funny as hell too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorefest, 17 Mar. 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: House of the Dead 2 & 3 Return (Wii) (Video Game)
From Germany.
Great game for rail-shooter fans, definitely not for kids. Graphics of Part 2 look a bit crappy today, but this game is nearly 10 years old, so this is to be expected. Part 3 looks like comic-style game should look today, so you may consider part 2 as a nice gift. Difficulty level is fair, the game unlocks more continues and a lower difficulty level as you keep playing (and failing). But with a good memory and strategy you will conquer the zombie hordes. The hardest part are the level bosses anyway. The three guys i have encountered so far are pretty challenging, so this will game will keep you entertained for a while. Another fun factor are the cut scenes. The game tells a little story with some drama and fun dialogues, not high art, but what would you expect in a zombie-centered game. Also consider buying a lightgun- or shotgun-controller, holding the naked remote-controller gun-style for some time is quite painful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great shooter., 18 May 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: House of the Dead 2 & 3 Return (Wii) (Video Game)
well Sega have struck gold again. this is briliant. and the game is in hi-res mode. so you get polished graphics. having played the PC version. i love it. it awesome with the hand cannon. ads the ideal arcade experience. its simple pay 50p a go at the arcade or buy the arcade game. and enjoy.

for the ultimate experience well recommended to use surround sound. it does scare you.

great game must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Finger Is Knackered !!!, 21 Oct. 2009
By 
K. Cawley "Real Person" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of the Dead 2 & 3 Return (Wii) (Video Game)
I got this 'cos i needed to use my wii for something and i'd never played through HOtD3 before, i played 3 for a bit then died and decided to test out 2 again and realized how amazing it was again. No.2 is definitely the best shooter out for wii right now it easily beats house of the dead overkill by miles!!!! and the fact you get no.3 extra is all good.
Buy this instead of house of the dead overkill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Fun, Highly Addictive, 8 April 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: House of the Dead 2 & 3 Return (Wii) (Video Game)
These two games are simple, on rails, arcade style shooters. No more, no less. HOWEVER, they are two of the best examples of their type ever made and are tremendous fun to boot.

Control wise, top notch. I'd always recomend playing with some form of "lightgun" adapter as these games are HARD and you need to be comfortable while playing (i.e. just using the wiimote is going to make the game a little frustraiting). Sega even included a caliration option so that the "sights" can actually line up with the action on screen (unlike Resident Evil:UC).

Overall this is a greal compilation with the only notable drawbacks beeing the length of the third game (short with no extras) compared to that of the second one (still short but has the Dreamcast modes added).

Recomended? Sure, still a lot of fun and, at this price, you really can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Arcade Classic, 29 Dec. 2008
By 
Lucy Power "Gaming Girlie" (Crowborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: House of the Dead 2 & 3 Return (Wii) (Video Game)
I loved this when it was an arcade game and paired with a wii gun, this is simply acadetastic!
As mentioned by others, the graphics are a bit dated, but hell, who needs to see zombie detail. We know they're rotting and need to die - anything else?
I've had this for two days and already I'm looking for another gun to get that two player mode played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 16 Jun. 2009
By 
M. Lomax (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: House of the Dead 2 & 3 Return (Wii) (Video Game)
Addictive, gory and hilarious in 2 player co-op mode. House of the Dead 2 is showing it's age, but don't let that detract from a classic shooter that sees you tearing zombie scum apart limb by limb. Of course, this game has some woefully bad voice acting, but that only adds to the ceaseless charm of the whole thing.

House of the Dead 3 is very pleasing on the eye, with the shotgun being a true joy to use, blowing those corpulent zombie stomachs open would be horrifying if it wasn't so much fun. Again, these games are better with 2 people co-operating, but as a single player game there is still plenty to do. Time Trial Modes, Boss Battles, Arcade and Classic Modes and High Score tables to best.

You can't go wrong for the price, and they are perfect for use with the Wii Zapper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House of the Dead 2 & 3 Return (Wii)
£25.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews