Customer Reviews


220 Reviews
5 star:
 (150)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


92 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This gal is gonna be a BIG star
There have been a raft of vocalists with a sound that harks back to the 60's and 70's and you could be forgiven for thinking that Duffy is just another one. Her arrival has been carefully managed, with sell out gigs in small venues building the hype, prior to the release of this album.

All music biz manipulation so far then, except that Duffy is worth the hype...
Published on 15 Feb 2008 by Andy Edwards

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissappointing
Having got this on the strength of the singles 'Mercy', 'Rockferry', and 'Warwick Avenue', I have to confess to being dissappointed by the album. It's nicely put together and produced, and even hangs together well as an album, but it's all a bit too safe and predictable to be exciting. It makes for a neat, slickly done, sixties soul pastiche, but never really rises above...
Published on 2 May 2009 by Cazz Blase


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

92 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This gal is gonna be a BIG star, 15 Feb 2008
By 
Andy Edwards "staxasoul" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rockferry (Audio CD)
There have been a raft of vocalists with a sound that harks back to the 60's and 70's and you could be forgiven for thinking that Duffy is just another one. Her arrival has been carefully managed, with sell out gigs in small venues building the hype, prior to the release of this album.

All music biz manipulation so far then, except that Duffy is worth the hype and is a potentially huge star. As someone who is addicted to 60's and 70's Soul, and in particular the female vocalists, I hear in Duffy echoes of the great Soul voices, as well as Dusty Springfield, the most obvious comparison. As long as she picks her material and her producers well, then she will be a very big star indeed.

Stand out tracks from the album are "Syrup and Honey" a stripped down, bluesy ballad which showcases her voice perfectly, "Mercy", with it's old school Motown feel, and "Warwick Avenue". On further listening, "Hanging On Too Long" and "Distant Dreamer" are both tracks that will grow on you - they have for me. All in all, an impressive debut and this is a highly recommended purchase for anyone who likes Soul.

Likely to be the album of 2008 - buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 3 Mar 2008
This review is from: Rockferry (Audio CD)
Having been enchanted by the single Mercy, and Duffy's live performances of Warwick Avenue and Ready to the Floor (A cover of the Hot Chip song) I was much looking forward to purchasing Rockferry.

I was slightly apprehensive that Mercy would turn out to be the only song of note on the album but my apprehensions were massivley misplaced.

Every song on the album is excellent, the stand out tracks for me are Warwick Avenue, Syrup and Honey, Hanging on too long and Delayed Devotion with Mercy of course a further highlight.

I think to fully enjoy this album you need a hot drink, a quiet room and time to relax.

An absolutley superb debut album from Duffy and the 5 starts are thoroughly warranted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album more than lives up to the hype!, 21 Mar 2008
This review is from: Rockferry (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of Duffy ever since I first heard "Mercy", I loved her style, and her voice took me into the 60s big-stylee.
After hearing "Rockferry" too, I decided to buy the album and I was NOT disappointed!

1. "Rockferry"
This song is amazing, fantastic mid-tempo tune, and she really displays her amazing vocal range when she sings the last chorus a whole octave higher! Bloody hard to sing a long to, but you won't be able to resist trying!

2. "Warwick Avenue"
I was SO impressed with this song. It's really bluesy and it shows off her great voice, it's catchy and it's definitely one of the album's highlights.

3. "Serious"
This is one of the two tracks on the album which I'm not entirely sure of. It sounds a little bit poppy compared to the rest of the album, plus the verses seem to lead up to a chorus which is a bit lacklustre. Definitely still listenable, but more so for the verses than anything else.

4. "Stepping Stone"
This song is beautiful. Love the chorus, there are some beautiful high notes and she just pulls it off brilliantly.

5. "Syrup And Honey"
LOVE this song, definitely a contender to be one of my favourite songs on the album. Here she sings about how money doesn't matter as long as she has the love of her partner. Great, simple lyrics and just a fantastic track.

6. "Hanging On Too Long"
This is the other of the two tracks which I don't love. There are no really spectacular high notes here, and although it's only four minutes long, the song seems to drag a bit as there isn't much change in her pitch all the way through.

7. "Mercy"
What needs to be said about this song? It's obviously phenomenal, catchy sixties beats and those high notes make this song. If you just like the style of the song, don't buy the album on that note, but if it's her voice you love then this album's for you.

8. "Delayed Devotion"
This song is quite uptempo and punchy, it's catchy and although it's not one of the best tracks on the album, it's still very listenable.

9. "I'm Scared"
This song is a beautiful ballad which deals with the issue of death. It's very soul-fuelled and bluesy, and Duffy seems to sing the song with real emotion.

10. "Distant Dreamer"
This track closes the album in style. I have to admit that at first I wasn't mad about it, and I was a bit skeptical about it being 5 minutes long as I sometimes have quite a short attention span when it comes to songs! But her voice sounds beautiful on this, the chorus is amazing and the tune is really big-band style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Aug 2008
This review is from: Rockferry (Audio CD)
I can't believe it took me so long to buy this album. People have been telling me it's great for ages. Thing is, somehow I managed to not hear any Duffy songs until about a month ago. Yeah, I know, where have I been?
Anyway, this is excellent. Warwick Avenue, Mercy, Rockferry they're all classic tracks that sound like you've known them for years.
Great voice, great music, great lyrics. Overall a very accessible album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Deal, 3 Mar 2008
By 
D. Brockis "dave6566" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rockferry (Audio CD)
How many times have you been drawn to buying an album by buckets full of hype and a really strong single, only to find you've heard the best? Not this time.

Rockferry's ten tracks are each one a soulful gem: fabulous writing, great playing and that voice. An instant classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissappointing, 2 May 2009
This review is from: Rockferry (Audio CD)
Having got this on the strength of the singles 'Mercy', 'Rockferry', and 'Warwick Avenue', I have to confess to being dissappointed by the album. It's nicely put together and produced, and even hangs together well as an album, but it's all a bit too safe and predictable to be exciting. It makes for a neat, slickly done, sixties soul pastiche, but never really rises above that to become something in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent year at the Brits for Duffy, 20 Feb 2009
By 
S. J. Pinder "scifihorror fan" (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rockferry (Audio CD)
she is an up and rising star in an era of simply stunning music, 2008 provided us with fantastic music and Duffy delivered one of the best albums of that year,also the biggest selling.
some complain that her style is unoriginal or her vocals don't appeal to them...but her style nevertheless has caused her to have an enlarging fanbase and increasing album sales of over 5 million just beaten by Coldplay's Viva La Vida's 6.5 million, while a place ahead of Madonna's Hard Candy 4 million.
this is one of my top ten favourite albums of 2008 as did a lot of other think this as on Wednesday (18th feb) she won three Brit awards including best album.
Mercy for me was also one of the greatest songs of the year.
a shame Rain on your Parade isn't included but the greatest tracks are definitely here and can be purchased separately.
overall this album is something retro and beautiful with a style that one may say came and evoked the presence of 50's and 60's style music as Winehouse did with Back to Black in 2006...stunning and beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it's a grower., 26 April 2008
This review is from: Rockferry (Audio CD)
After my original review of this cd i got absolutely twated from every side available, so i withdrew my review and decided to re-review the album so here goes. Still, to this day i must be the only person who absolutely hates Mercy, yuk!! reminds me of Ace Of Base's boring days when they were struggling for hits. However the album begins with two of the most finest pieces of music you will ever ear. The title track Rockferry, which i pray comes out as a single will be No.1 for a long, long time, and Warwick Avenue is heading that way as we speak, Serious aint too bad neither as is Stepping Stone, Hanging On Too Long, Delayed Devotion and Distant Dreamer. It's sort of balladary meeting mid-tempo tracks all the way, you can certainly chill out to this cd, and of course she comes from my neck of the woods (Wales), and has done the red dragon population just a wee bit mighty fine and proud. My partner plays this cd day and night, and has also got some Welsh language cds of Duffy, which is where she started at but of course would never get recognition for them over the bridges into the mainstream of businesses. This album some what reminds me of 80's fab stars as T'Pau and Martika. So buy this album, not if you think everything is going to be like Mercy, it aint - Mercy is just a small needle in a bursting finely bred hay stack. One of the brightest things to erupt out of Wales since Bonnie Tyler or Catatonia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Album, 5 May 2008
By 
C. Jones (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rockferry (Audio CD)
Not one bad song!

A beautiful album with a perfect blend of upbeat, feel-good songs complimented with easy-going, relaxing ones.
Well suited for any situation, from driving to sleeping.
This album reaches out to all audiences from young children right the way up to those over 80, and everyone in between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Welsh Talent, 23 April 2008
By 
M. Burrows (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rockferry (Audio CD)
Thank god we've now got some decent new Welsh talent, this album is fantastic i can't stop listening to it. I think my neighbours wouldn't agree after hearing it all the time :0)

My favourite track is Stepping Stone, the words to the song are amazing because nearly everyone has been through that, i know i have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rockferry
Rockferry by Duffy (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews