Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Once again the earth is DOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMED!
In a nutshell I liked it and it is a worthwhile buy for any Futurama fan.

However it isn't amazing. The format doesn't quite translate from a half hour tv programme to a 1 1/2 hour film. The writers evidently tried to cram as many of the minor characters in as possible which in some ways is a good thing but characters such as Robot Santa and Al Gore perhaps...
Published on 28 Nov. 2007 by Louis Mazzini

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars like everybody else, I wanted to like this but
Reviewing this is a real dilema. On the one hand Futurama never deserved to be cancelled and any new product has to be supported for more to be made. On the other hand this story is seriously third rate - even if there was the odd clunker in the original run it would only last half an hour and there would be another along in a week. This has to stand alone and ends up...
Published on 1 April 2008 by J. R. Kerr


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Once again the earth is DOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMED!, 28 Nov. 2007
In a nutshell I liked it and it is a worthwhile buy for any Futurama fan.

However it isn't amazing. The format doesn't quite translate from a half hour tv programme to a 1 1/2 hour film. The writers evidently tried to cram as many of the minor characters in as possible which in some ways is a good thing but characters such as Robot Santa and Al Gore perhaps were given bigger parts than they should have been at the expense of say... Luur.

That said there are many laugh out loud moments and the plot while ludicrous is no worse than many in the TV series. A very welcome return for a much missed show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long overdue return of a classic series, 25 Jan. 2008
By 
John Clayton III (Greystoke) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Futurama: Bender's Big Score [DVD] (DVD)
Like many, I adored Futurama when it was on TV, and like many, I was heartbroken when Fox cancelled the series in the underhanded manner that it did, so the news that it was coming back in direct to DVD movie form was very very welcome, and thankfully, this movie manages to maintain the series' high quality.

Taking place 2 years after the end of the series(and taking place in the year 3007), Bender's Big Score doesn't so much have a plot as it does a series of plots running concurrent to each other, like several episodes of the TV show running at once almost, but each one getting an equal amount of focus and importance. The 'central' plot(if you can call it that) concerns a group of nudist internet spammers conning Professor Farnsworth into signing ownership of Planet Express over to them and their increasing greed as they discover that Fry holds the key to time travel(in a plot point that cleverly ties right back into the very beginnings of the tv show and various past plots) and set about using Bender in a scam to steal the greatest treasures of Earth's past.

At the same time, Leela falls in love with an orderly called Lars, much to Fry's jealousy... Hermes is decapitated(Not fatally, surprisingly) and ends up losing his wife... and several other sub plots that tie into each other. It has an awful lot going on, yes, but the manner in which all the plots come together at the end is so superbly and cleverly written that it will have you genuinely intrigued. This is a funny movie, yes, but moreso, it's fantastic plot and sharp writing also make absolutely gripping. At points, you may even find yourself with a lump in your throat, I kid you not.

There are plenty of laughs to be had along the way of course, with some hilarious gags playing off the consequences of time travel and an amusing attack on the Fox network executives that cancelled the tv series repeats throughout the movie. To say more would spoil things, but I can assure you, this IS the Futurama you know and love back on form in spectacular fashion.

Also worth mentioning is the high quality of the animation. It looks just like the tv show, but the animation has improved a bit, but the movie also makes very impessive use of some cel shaded CGI in similar fashion to how the recent 'Simpsons movie' did, and the end result is a visual treat.

I really can't recommend this movie highly enough. There are parts that perhaps drag on a touch(Such as the pre-credits 'we're back' style celebration sequence) but these do little to detract from what is one of the most fun hour and a halfs you'll have in the near future.

Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Movie With One Major Gripe, 14 May 2008
This review is from: Futurama: Bender's Big Score [DVD] (DVD)
In 2003, Twentieth Century Fox made one of the biggest mistakes in television history - they cancelled FUTURAMA, Matt Groening's brilliant follow-up to THE SIMPSONS (1989-????). But thanks to strong DVD sales and TV repeats, the show is back with four DVD movies.

BENDER'S BIG SCORE (2007) is worth the four-year wait. However, it's not perfect due to it's major gripe. And that is the relationship between Fry & Leela. At the end of the Season Four finale - "The Devil's Hands Are The Idle Playthings" - it seemed that Fry & Leela have got together. But in this film, which is set two years after the stories in Season Four, the relationship has gone back to square one. A very good question for Groening, the series co-developer, David X. Cohen, the writer of this DVD film, Ken Keeler, to answer about this.

Apart from the gripe, everything about BENDER'S BIG SCORE rocks. Bender steals the show as always (He's up there with Homer Simpson!), the two songs are hilarous, the animation remains intact despite the four-year gap and it doesn't feel like four episodes edited together (It's even better than THE SIMPSONS MOVIE [2007] apprently!).

It's great to have FUTURAMA back and I am looking forward to the next three DVD movies. The next one coming out is THE BEAST WITH A BILLION BACKS (due out late-June 2008).

Reviewer: Ben David W
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not flawless but definitely worth your time., 25 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Futurama: Bender's Big Score [DVD] (DVD)
This feature length Futurama adventure is well plotted and intelligent just as the series was but it is definitely not as laugh out loud funny. This may be simply because, as a long time fan of Futurama, its humour has become predictable for me, I don't know. I don't think it is over complicated, but a very clever plot and premise which can be enjoyed many times over.

This will definitely not ruin your memories of the series as it is quite different and equally good as many of the episodes. However, if you are looking to enjoy this in the same way you have with the series then I would advise watching it in more than one sitting, this way your attention will not be lost as a result of its length.

The special features are definitely worth a look, but the Maths lecture is probably only really of interest to intellectuals and avid Futurama fans (for these groups it is very enjoyable) and the Episode of Hypnotoad is best enjoyed with a lot of use of the fast forward button.

Overall, I think Futurama suited the half hour format better but this is definitely a great feast for all fans and of course, it is the first of many films to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable return for a great TV series., 24 May 2008
This review is from: Futurama: Bender's Big Score [DVD] (DVD)
I am a huge fan of 'Futurama'. I love its characters, its ridiculous situations... everything about it. It was the sharpest animated comedy on television (better than even the mighty 'Simpsons', which had already started to go off the rails slightly by the time that 'Futurama' first appeared). I have all of the episodes and have watched them to death, so I was delighted and excited when I heard that four new DVD movies were being made. And although it isn't 100% perfect, it makes a reasonable return.

I got my copy from US import (to get it sooner) and couldn't wait for it to arrive.

My main worry was that, after around five years out of production, that the sharpness of the original series would be lost. But I need not have worried. Although I wouldn't say that it is a classic example of 'Futurama', the characters and sharp lines are still very much on form.

The plot itself isn't really one of 'Futurama's best, but it has a lot of twists and turns and some good moments along the way.
The opening few minutes, as Planet Express goes back into business, are probably the best, and it's great to see our show "back on air". The minutes after that as the real story kicks in are good, and although things start to loose their way slightly later on, the gags hold up well enough to see things through.
Without giving too much away, the way that things are finally wrapped up and explained is pleasing, but you do have to pay attention and stick with it.

Leela and in particular Fry get a lot of screen time, as does Bender - who (being many fans favourite character) is very much used as the selling point of this DVD, even getting his name in the title. He has some good lines, but spends a great deal of the story suffering a computer virus and working for his crooked new bosses, which is a slight shame, as we don't get much of 'typical Bender'.

As others have commented, there is the sub-plot with Hermes - probably the dullest of the regular characters. But at least he had something to do here, and I personally didn't mind it too much.

As well as the main characters, there are a number of secondary characters from various episodes putting in appearances, and it's nice trying to name them all - however, I did feel that one or two of them were stuck in just for the sake of it.

The picture size is widescreen (it's a shame that the original episodes weren't in this format, as they would have looked great), and it looks really good. The animation for the most part is extremely sharp, and looks great.

Like the original television episodes (and the classic-era 'Simpsons'), it is one of those things that not only can you watch again, but actually improves from repeat viewings, as there are new little things and hidden gags that you'll notice each time.

The main drawback is, as a few other reviewers have said, is that the expansion to 90 minutes doesn't completely work in places. Later on, some of the story starts to feel slightly 'bitty', especially with a number of new timelines opening up that gets rather confusing upon first viewing. But I have to say, it didn't completely fall flat either. The expanded time gives more room for exploration into the various plots, and there are more than enough good jokes to keep things bobbing along.

If you are new to 'Futurama' then although you may still enjoy moments of this movie, some of it maybe be slightly confusing or lost on you; I'd say check out the original season by season box sets first, you won't be disappointed.

There are a nice array of extras on the DVD, including a commentary by various cast & crew, a live comic book reading (still comic book pictures with voiceovers from the cast), a few deleted scenes, a maths-in-Futurama lecture, and a whole episode of 'Hypnotoad'(!).

All-in-all, although not a classic example of 'Futurama', this is a welcome return to our screens - and while it maybe unfair to compare, I have to say, it comes off much better than the watchable but ultimately somewhat disappointing 'Simpsons' movie.
At very least, it acts as a warm up, and the next three DVD movies look set to be good ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for die hard fans, but..., 15 July 2008
By 
ossian (fife, scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Futurama: Bender's Big Score [DVD] (DVD)
Futurama fans-dry your tears! Fry and the rest of the gang are back to your screens, albeit in a strange new format.
The unfortunate cancelation of Futurama after the forth season lead to viewers crying out for more, so Fox finaly agreed to make four DVD movies featuring our favourite delivery boy and evil robot. The thing is, Futurama was never designed for this format, so, as good as Bender's Big Score is, it doesn't quite come up to the quality of the TV show.

What I did enjoy was the way that the extended format allowed the writers to go for a slightly different and more in depth story than normal. Basically the plot goes like this; Fry, Leela et al. are scammed out of all their money and Bender accidently downloads an "Obeidence Virus" due to naked scammer aliens fraudulently obtaining first their e-mail addresses and then their bank details online. The scammer aliens go first from taking over the Planet Express company to taking over earth. The aliens later find the secret of time travel concealed in a Bender tattoo on Fry's behind. What follows is a mix of time spheres, one-way time travel and multiple Frys and Benders.

Some reviewers have critised Bender's Big Score for being bogged down in detail and too confusing, but actually if you pay attention the plot comes together nicely and does make sense. There are some moments of classic Futurama humour, the scenes on the nude beach planet and the internet scamming scenes are particularly good. However, some of the gags are too self-referencial,for example we find out exactly how Fry's dog got fast fossilised, and are not very funny. In addition the main story-of Bender being sent back in time to steal treasures for the scammers- and the romantic subplot, though touching, don't inspire too many laughs.
And comedy is about laughs, is it not?

Overall I would say that if you are an avid Futurama fan and collector of the DVDs then this is a must-have, even if it does not become the most prized part of your collection. If you are a casual viewer who still loves the show's zany humour then rent it and if you have only seen Futurama a few times on T.V, then I think Bender's Big Score is best avoided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fan's review, 3 April 2008
By 
A. Masters (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Futurama: Bender's Big Score [DVD] (DVD)
If your not a big futurama fan but have taken a general interest in this movie then I cannot really speak for you but I think you will either love or hate this film.

I on the other hand adore futurama and own all four previous seasons which I have seen over and over again. In my opinion futurama is one of the best television shows ever to be made, following the science-fiction adventures of a 20th century central character which we can all sympathise with and relate to, as he explores the future with his 30th century friends.

Like the television series the movie is filled with heart warming relationships, laugh out loud humour and insane scientific theories which an old opening sequence states 'you can't prove it won't happen'! And like the television series, Bender's Big Score is fantastic. The movie is very well written and directed and the plot, although taken from the widely used concept of time travel, has a unique twist which results in a touching conclusion. The writers tried to incorporate as many original characters from the show as possible and do this perfectly while maintaining the focus on the main storyline. There are many references to previous episodes which uphold the consistency of the futurama universe and are gags in themselves.

It is very difficult to understand why people claiming to 'love the show' hate this film considering it has everything one would expect from the episodes. Having said this, the film is differentiated from a standard episode as the 90 minutes allowed the writers to explore the story at deeper levels then a 22 minute episode allows. All in all I gave this film 5* because it ticked all my boxes, surpassed my expectations and confirmed that futurama has still so much more to offer after being cancelled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hasn't missed a trick, 21 Dec. 2007
In the months of apprehension leading up to this release I was biting my nails on a regular basis. Futurama on television was possibly the best animated television program ever released (I know this is subject to debate so don't hurt me if you disagree) and like many comebacks there was the fear that it would not match its predecessor and the big build-up would come to naught. But from the first gag your hooked and it stays that way for the entire 90 minutes. The fantastical plot elements coupled with the off-the-wall humour common to Futurama make a delicious script and you don't lose out in the visuals either, the pristine animation is better than ever and works terrifically in a 16:9 format. But as it always was with Futurama, the show's like-ability didn't just fall in with the Sci-Fi parodies and zany jokes, it came through its willingness to be a proper comedy-drama and not just be a 20 minute gag-reel, like shows like Family Guy (which are hilarious, but lack substance). In Bender's Big Score you get all the touching moments that tug at your heart strings along with the laughs, it really takes something quite special to make you feel so strongly about what is essentially a cartoon. I loved this film from start to finish and as far as I can tell it is up their with the rest of the Futurama series, Matt Groening and co. haven't missed a trick with this one. It just as good as it always was, if slightly iffy in its 90 minute format. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars like everybody else, I wanted to like this but, 1 April 2008
By 
J. R. Kerr "raekerr" (Livingston, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Futurama: Bender's Big Score [DVD] (DVD)
Reviewing this is a real dilema. On the one hand Futurama never deserved to be cancelled and any new product has to be supported for more to be made. On the other hand this story is seriously third rate - even if there was the odd clunker in the original run it would only last half an hour and there would be another along in a week. This has to stand alone and ends up being judged against the best remembered episodes. Basically the problem is why bring back these characters which are so well loved they have been resurrected from the TV graveyard only to then tell a story in which they are abused, controlled and otherwise unable to act like themselves? The first five minutes and the last twenty are fine, (coincidently the length of a normal episode) but inbetween there are a lot of pointless cameos, wasted opportunities and the bizzare belief that all people want to see is Fry going back to his starting point YET AGAIN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but could have been better, 30 May 2008
This review is from: Futurama: Bender's Big Score [DVD] (DVD)
I have always loved Futurama, almost as much as the Simpsons. Full of great characters, Zoidberg being my favourite, funny scripts etc... I was sorry to see it last just 5 seasons and was very happy to see it return as a series of movies.
There is plenty to enjoy here. All the characters are back. though some of the more minor ones don't appear until almost the end. The story is typical Futurama, you know what I mean - aliens invading earth, Fry still trying to get it on with Leela and so on.
There are a couple of problems though. I did enjoy the storyline but I could see that other fans of the series may find it a little to familiar. It could have done with maybe a tad more originality. It actually was slightly confusing as well as there is a lot of time travel, which if not handled well can detract from the storyline in my opinion. Also I found some of the humour was a bit crass, some of the dialogue didn't seem quite as sharp as the TV Series. Finally it would also have been nice to see a bit more of the more minor characters like Kif or Zap Brannigan.
These minor quibbles mean I can only give it 4 stars when I would have loved to give it a 5. I know there is another movie coming quite soon so I am hopeful that it will improve on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Futurama: Bender's Big Score [DVD]
Futurama: Bender's Big Score [DVD] by Peter Avanzino (DVD - 2008)
£3.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews