Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same - brilliant!
I've just watched the second series and what a delight it was.
In this series we see the relationship develop between Brenda & Malcolm, and also the start of Pamela & David's. Worth the price of the DVD just for the 'hooded crow' joke!
Over-looked for far too long - roll on series 3!
Published on 30 Mar. 2008 by Debra from Hull

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars watching 2
cant give a decent review as you sent out a faulty disc 3 times.
needless to say i wont be using amazon again
Published on 24 July 2009 by Miss jill Hopkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same - brilliant!, 30 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Watching: The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
I've just watched the second series and what a delight it was.
In this series we see the relationship develop between Brenda & Malcolm, and also the start of Pamela & David's. Worth the price of the DVD just for the 'hooded crow' joke!
Over-looked for far too long - roll on series 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unsung masterpiece, 18 May 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching: The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
i watched this show when it first came out ,and i am amazed that it has taken so long to finally see the light onto dvd. This is an unsung masterpiece of comedy,that for me ranks certainly alongside such gems as dads army and steptoe and son, and seriously puts to shame some of the so called comedy shows of today,where i only watch the first episode and switch off because i become bored waiting for the joke to appear.
This show brings back many fond memories for me, as all the pains and triumphs of dating are brought out for all to see,a must see dvd for comedy connoisoirs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an unsung classic comedy - 10 out 5 !, 14 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Watching: The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
Just reading through the reviews for series 1 & 2 everybody seems to be saying the same thing and I'm afraid I'm only going to echo everything thats been said !
Its been over 21 years since the first series was broadcast and its still incredibly funny,sarcastic, warm and sweet! ITVs last decent sitcom.
I had a huge crush on Brenda and I've searched for 20 years to "find" her.Emma Wray ("Brenda") should have been one of TVs finest actresses. Shes backed by a brilliant cast and ,of course a wonderful script.Every main character in both series 1 and 2 have at least a couple of gags that make you laugh out loud including the owmers' of the pub and cafe Brenda and Malcolm visit.
You will find it very difficult when you get this DVD home to watch just the 1 episode . I watched it all in one sitting; fell head over heels with Brenda all over again and just ached wanting to take her for her birthday meal (see "Dining" episode).
Comedies like this are few and far between nowadays - rarer in fact than the "lesser spotted gobtwit" so please can ITV /Network DVD please release series 3-7 or, even better, an entire boxset!
I know I'd buy that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back Memories, 28 Jun. 2008
By 
Keith Davison - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching: The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
I use to Watch this on a Friday night when was early in my Teens, and had big crush on Emma Wray back then.

This is a timeless show and makes me laugh and Brenda quick witt and was sad to see it end as would love to have watching back on TV to see if Emma & Malcolm really did get Married ! Hope they bring out Series 3 soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just great, 23 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching: The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
Apart from the repetition of the theme tune (sadly it does grate after a while) -this is the next instalment of a true gem. Loved it then - and still love it now. Just hope Series 3 is soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant comedy, 7 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Watching: The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
As funny now as it was in the '80's. Emma Wray is great as Brenda, one of the funniest comic characters ever. I hope we don't have to wait long for the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present comedy writers should watch this and learn........, 27 Dec. 2008
By 
Tallulah (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching: The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
We live in a very humourless world where so-called TV comedy just isn't funny, so it was a joy to see the first two series (15 episodes) of this marvellously witty series. The last episode ended with 3 of the characters leaving on the London train and I'm desperate to know what happened next and to see the remaining 30 odd episodes of the whole series.

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE will someone issue the rest of this masterpiece on DVD soon so everyone can have something worth laughing at again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just warming up, 5 Nov. 2008
By 
S. M. Reuter "Suzie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Watching: The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
The show is only just hitting its stride at this point. Series 3 onwards is when it becomes a bit of a classic. Or hidden gem considering it has been ignored for years, neither being shown on telly or released on DVD until 2 years back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watching Series 2, 5 Aug. 2008
By 
Mr. Stanley A. Stokes (Tyne&Wear England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching: The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful..........Roll on series 3. This is one of the most under rated TV series of all time. It got better and better as the episodes unfolded.The introduction of the girls mother and brother was brilliant.Bring it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "period" gem, 1 Feb. 2009
By 
P. G. Russell (North Northumberland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching: The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
As an ensemble piece, this underrated series ranks with the very best. Lisa Tarbuck and Emma Wray as sisters - so true to life, so cleverly written. A little glimpse of Liverpool whilst it was still trying to claw its way out of the last recession, a touching love story and one liners to die for.
In this house, our only "moan" is that the rest of the series(s) after Series 2 seem to be unavailable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Watching: The Complete Second Series [DVD]
Watching: The Complete Second Series [DVD] by Les Chatfield (DVD - 2008)
£14.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews