Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars41
3.0 out of 5 stars
Price:£11.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 August 2011
Fantastic little tool. These sockets CAN be used again and again with a little bit of patience. I removed all four locking nuts on my car using just one of these sockets.

The secret is that once the wheel nut has been loosened, tighten it up again until the socket frees itself. Repeat this process 3 or 4 times and the socket will bite a little less each time. Eventually the wheel nut can be tapped with a hammer to release it from the socket.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
It work. But if your locking nut is too tight, you have to have a air impact wrench. And after you remove one, you absolutely not able to remove the locking nut from the remover. So, in my case, because it was too tight, I can only remove one. The remaining, I am going to ask someone to remove it.
review image
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2011
Good quality feeling tool, but the socket is too thick to fit between the locking wheel nut and the alloy wheel on my smart roadster, so returning for refund.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2011
measure your wheel nuts first and make sure they have no revolving collar on them (mcgard), if they have this tool will be no good at all and you will need the dynomec tool , [...]. other than that does exactly what they are supposed to do. easy to use and strong. if your wheels have been fitted using the so called windy gun, the wheel nuts may be over tight take care
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2010
This is a product for removing locking wheel nuts from a car wheel when you have no key.
I bought a used car and it came with a locking wheel nut on each wheel and no key.
I got the offending nut off the wheel with no problem, but could not get the nut out of the remover.
Someone needs to come up with a tool for removing the nut from the remover before this product is worth spending cash on.
I bought a second remover set in case the first one was a fluke event.
Same thing happened.
22 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
These are very specific tools for a very specific job. They will fit some types of locking wheel nut, on some vehicles. When they do they will fit perfectly. But these are a device designed to overcome a security feature on a car, so they are not really designed for home use. There are many different types of Locking Wheel nut, including those with a rotating collar (Which these will not work on) and some which have a threaded outer, which these will work on but the tool may only be useable once as the nut becomes stuck in the tool

I would suggest people consider if a "Nut Extractor" tool would be more appropriate for the nuts they are trying to remove.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
There's two reasons I'd not recommend these to anybody: The first is the fact that wheel nuts come in different sizes and while you do get two different sizes in the pack, they're still not certain to fit your car. So you're taking a gamble in buying them.

Secondly, while one of them did initially grab onto the wheel nut, they weren't able to maintain their hold while trying to undo them. Again, this is due to sizing.

I would just recommend you go down to your local tyre fitter and get them off for a tenner. Just take it as a lesson learned and take better care of your next locking wheel nut key.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
I bought these and removed four lock nuts in about three quarters of an hour once I sussed the best way to go about it. Simply knocked the socket on with a plastic hammer until it was tight twisted the socket with a t bar, each time it threatened to come loose hammered it tight again after about three repeats the nut just wound off. Solved the problem of removing the nut from the socket by heating the nut up with a blow lamp, quenching it straight away in a bucket of water and it just wound out in the vice, simple.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
They would not fit a 2007 Honda Accord. The 19mm tool does not fit a 19mm nut. The tapered thread is tool small at the start of the thread to fit any slightly oversize nut and there are no dimensions shown. Furthermore the thread started to break before I had even secured one tool to just one nut.
A total waste of time and money and all because the seller cannot be bothered to write a few extra dimensions.
Just go to a tyre fitter or garage and save yourself a lot of frustration.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
Waste of time and money, obviously the locking nuts on my Clio are made of stone super hard steel as the threads inside these just striped off and couldn't get a grip. Like many of the posts on here, after a quick trip to YouTube I just ended up hammering on a slightly under size socket and cracking the nut. If only I'd done that straight away I'd have saved a lot of time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)