Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Star Music
Beautiful , mesmerising ,soaring vocals and music fusing together Sarahs different styles , really amazing vocals as always ,, gorgeous cd sleeve too feels like a mini album sleeve great pictures , love it...
Published on 16 April 2008 by Mr. J. Fulton

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite disappointing
I've waited a few weeks before writing this review as I wanted to give myself chance to fully appreciate this new album. Sadly, whilst there are some outstanding individual tracks, I do find that the album is unfulfilling as a whole. I agree with a previous reviewer;(from the original US version released Feb 08) for some reason the tracks just don't quite gel together. It...
Published on 22 Jun 2008 by Alistair McArthur


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Star Music, 16 April 2008
By 
Mr. J. Fulton (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Symphony (Audio CD)
Beautiful , mesmerising ,soaring vocals and music fusing together Sarahs different styles , really amazing vocals as always ,, gorgeous cd sleeve too feels like a mini album sleeve great pictures , love it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My wery personally Interesses is with hers v Closeery, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Symphony (Audio CD)
I love her voice and her fantastic way shi use it.
It seems that the voicehav no Endings, no highs is to high for her, I just find thart she derserve the very best Rating.
I have nothing that I cam find negative in the hole CD, every part is for me just very good.
I do as I always do recomend all her Music to friends and People I talk Music with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Now this is what I call a SINGER, 28 July 2013
This review is from: Symphony (MP3 Download)
This is how music should be done. Sarah's voice is just amazing, she hits the high notes with such drama and whilst the likes of a few modern pop artists such as Beyonce & Christina Aguilera are capable of achieving some amount of power in their vocals and can certainly sing better than many of their other fellow 'artists', to me when they go for the high notes they're more or less screeching. That's not proper singing for me, yet if you watch a live performance of 'Canto Della Terra' (which along with 'Fleurs Du Mal' is one of my favourite tracks) when it comes to the breathtaking section at 2.55, with Sarah it just flows so smoothly and she makes it look so effortless - whereas the likes of the two previously mentioned look like they are in chronic pain when they belt out the more powerful notes. When it comes to comparison with the likes of Britney Spears and Rihanna, well Sarah is simply at the top of the Premier League while they aren't even in the Third Division. Albums like this give me hope that there are still some decent singers out there. Love you Sarah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sarah does it again, 24 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Symphony (Audio CD)
I've written before about Sarah's recordings. They are excellent. It's not just that Sarah has a great voice and delivery. The productions and the overall sound are beautifully locked together in a very enjoyable listening experience. As well as superb orchestration, she also duets with top-class singers - the duet with Andrea Bocelli is beautiful.
Sarah Fans must love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Symphony by Sarah Brightman, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Symphony (Audio CD)
This CD is wonderful - I have also seen her singing these
songs on tv. Her voice is just perfect whether she is singing
opera or musical songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 11 July 2011
This review is from: Symphony (Audio CD)
I love everything on this album, but it is worth buying just to hear her interpretation of 'Sanvean' this takes you on the most wonderful spiritual journey, and her voice is so sweet and pure. The song could have been written for her. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Symphony is terrific and the album artwork is top drawer too., 19 April 2008
By 
film fan (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Symphony (Audio CD)
On listening to this for the first time, my attention was immediately grabbed by the bombastic opening tracks 'Gothica' and 'Fleurs du Mal'. With stirring percussion and swirling strings from the orchestra and accompanying keyboard players, there's a gothic feel to this album. And then of course, the enchanting melodies of the ballads are delightful.

Even the duets, there are four of them, are exceptional as well. One of the duets is with the formidable Andrea Bocelli. The whole album is terrific in my humble opinion but if I was to choose a single favourite track, I think it would have to be 'Sanvean'. It's so calming and relaxing in a sea of crescendo tracks.

I would highly recommend this album and looking at the album design, I am completely taken with that as well. The accompanying booklet opens like a calendar and the images inside show of a gothic castle with Sarah Brightman, resplendent in a flowing red dress, in among the grey background. This album took 3 years to record from 2004 to 2007. Was this studio album worth the long wait? I would have to say yes definitely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A long wait, was it worth it? Yes!, 3 April 2008
By 
Mr. LM Samuel (Swansea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Symphony (Audio CD)
After waiting for so long for a new studio album from Ms Brightman, the release of Symphony has garnered a mixed reaction (even from die-hard fans) and probably the reason for this is not the content, bur the sheer expansion of expectation that has been evolving amongst the fans for the last few months since the announcement of a new album and the releasing of three songs as singles.

Since three of the songs have been available elsewhere (even though one of them has a different duet partner) you're only left with 9 new songs, (track 1 is an instrumental) and what the ever talented songstress - that Ms Brightman is - tries to do, is cram as much variety and encompass as many styles as conceivabley possible. And she does. Successfully. So what's the whole problem with it? There isn't a problem. The songs are fine, the duet partners have good credentials (although there are four, yes four, duets) and the album does seem to have a coherent theme, like a symphony blending different themes into an audible whole. For most people merely aquainted with Brightman, the album is a real delight, and die hard fans, well what were you really expecting?!!!! A beautifully well crafted album comprising of soaring melodies and deliciously controlled vocals. That's what this album is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spine tingling, 4 Jan 2009
By 
Ian Walmsley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Symphony (Audio CD)
There are very few albums which contain spine-tingling moments, yet this album has two - the title track and Canto Della Terra. The album is a massive production owing more in places to stadium rock than the "Classical" category it gains on i-tunes. Speaking of which, buy the CD for the artwork rather than downloading. Without doubt the best album release of 2008, but beware that your other music may seem a bit empty after this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Symphonic Feast for Fans and Non-Fans Alike, 28 Jun 2008
This review is from: Symphony (Audio CD)
Possibly Sarah Brightman's best album to date where her Phantom roots are certainly showing on the neo-gothic/classical tracks. And how very welcome they are!

Sarah has a wonderful gift in her pure soprano voice which is surely blessed by the angels.

These tracks will not only delight those who have all her previous works on CD - and I count myself among them - but also a new audience who might be seeking something beyond the bland. Here is mystery, passion, power and purpose wrapped in a symphony of sound topped with a truly beautiful voice at the high end of the soprano range.

Thirteen tracks of sheer magic plus a bonus (Sarahbande) which leaves the Romantic satiated until her next venture into the world of song.

Well worth the wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Symphony
Symphony by Sarah Brightman (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews