Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In The Nightside Of Sheer Quality
What a fantastic achievement this album is! The atmosphere is simply sublime (especially when headphones are used) and the spiky, treble production gives the album this unique quality that has remained a talking point since its release (the production is fine!). The album goes:
1. Into The Infinity Of Thoughts - 10/10 - A highlight of the album, this is an epic...
Published on 8 Oct 2004

versus
3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Orchestrated doom soup
I have the remastered version of this. That proves to me that the origional mastering wasn't a mistake. The album production is very treble heavy and spikey. I can deal with this on Darkthrone's albums but this is less easy with this band. The reason why is because of the large number of instruments which are used. Altering the EQ on my stereo seems to either cut...
Published on 8 Jun 2004 by dddoyle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In The Nightside Of Sheer Quality, 8 Oct 2004
By A Customer
What a fantastic achievement this album is! The atmosphere is simply sublime (especially when headphones are used) and the spiky, treble production gives the album this unique quality that has remained a talking point since its release (the production is fine!). The album goes:
1. Into The Infinity Of Thoughts - 10/10 - A highlight of the album, this is an epic (8+mins) chiller with fantastic synths.
2. The Burning Shadows Of Silence - 9/10 - Very impressive, vocals are a treat.
3. Cosmic Keys To My Creations & Times - 9/10 - Guitar and synth mesh together so well here.
4. Beyond The Great Vast Forest - 9/10 - Atmosphere!
5. Towards The Pantheon - 9/10 - Atmosphere!
6. The Makesty Of The Nightsky - 10/10 - Guitars have folk/viking feel amazing keyboard acompanying...
7. I Am The Black Wizards - 11/10! - ATMOSPHERE! This track is really amazing, the raw pace has been dropped in favour of a more measured, atmospheric experience. Really emotive. Emperor classic.
8. Inno A Satana - 10/10 - More agressive but wonderfully constucted, Emperor classic.
There are several other bonus tracks on more recent versions of this work, these dont fit the 'concept' and are to be treated as add-ons not part of the overal atmosphere created.
Emperor have made something special here, setting a benchmark in Black Metal creating a new genre in the process! All-round brilliance, no criticisms whatsoever, i would have given all tracks 10 but that would conceal the standout brilliance of songs like 'I Am The Black Wizards'. All fans of metal should own this, you won't be dissapointed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emperor's best, 16 Sep 2003
When listening to most Black Metal albums, you can imagine the band banging away at their instruments in a tiny studio. But put this on, and you are immediately swept away to a cold, dark, Norwegian forest. That’s the effect the primitive production has on the music, although maybe the ‘wind’ effects were slightly overdone.
So, to the music. I have to admit; to begin with I didn’t like this album. I could not concentrate on it and found the production to be unlistenable. Then something clicked. I had discovered why people rated Ihsahn and co. so highly.
What we get here is some of the best Black Metal ever put to record. Although the sound is not of the highest quality, the songs are more than good enough to speak for themselves. A special mention must go to Ihsahn’s spectacular keyboard work. Instead of the keyboards almost leading the music, like some Black Metal bands (Dimmu Borgir, I mean you!), they are sparsely used and are a sublime complement for the guitars.
Lyrically, this album is excellent, with song writing duties handled by Ihsahn and Samoth, and for a couple of songs, ex–bassist Mortiis. The way the poetic lyrics are sung often bears no relation to the music, with Ihsahn’s high pitched shriek often cutting off mid–sentence, before carrying it on later in the song. The two Mortiis written songs, "Cosmic Keys to My Creations and Times" and "I Am The Black Wizards" are the album’s standout tracks, both shunning the high speed assault of other bands (although Emperor can do this just as well as any other) to produce a highly atmospheric feel, which, when coupled with the production gives this band the edge over say, Mayhem or Immortal.
Whilst the mainstream rock music press may have lavished their later work with praise, ‘In The Nightside Eclipse’ will be the album that Emperor’s fans remember them for — a true classic.
The reissue of this record features two bonus tracks. Whilst their astounding cover of Bathory’s "A Fine Day To Die" is almost as good as the original, Ihsahn simply does not have the voice for Mercyful Fate’s "Gypsy".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer brilliance - the very foundation of modern Black Metal, 19 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This is, without question, the most influential and masterful piece of pure genius to have ever existed in the genre known as Black Metal. The production on this album is poor - the vocals, in particular, are lost beneath the waves of synth and guitar. However, this is the very epitome of symphonic Norwegian Black Metal. There is a fine balance of beauty and hatred, and some of the atmospheres conjoured up by Ihsahn's synth work and lyrics are truly chilling. The drumming on this album is legendary - with Bard Faust literally destroying his kit. However, the tracks on this album are fine examples of the Norwegian style, and "Inno A Satana" is probably the anthem to the Black Metal scene. A truly awe-inspiring release, and probably the greatest Black Metal album of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthrone Emperor Triumphant!, 8 Mar 2002
It is not an exageration to say that this is truly exemplary Black Metal. From the dark and ominously brooding intro, through the majesty and awsome presence of the main tracks, to the excellent bonus tracks, this is a truly epic release from Emperor. The pollish and playing skill of the band is excellent, as is the production quality. Even on the heaviest, most brutal sections no distortion or hum is evident whatsoever.
The main change from their early releases is that the musical focus has moved slightly from raw hatred and evil to a more pollished approach. The one disadvantage is that the version of "I am the Black Wizards" on ITNE is in my oppinion inferior to the version on the "Emperor / Wrath of the Tyrant" CD.
My advice for prospecticve buyers would be this: if you know nothing about Black Metal but are curious, then BM will certainly never ever get any better in any way than this album. If you are a Black Metal fan, then you must surely allready own this CD. If not, buy it now. The one disadvantage is that after listening to this CD, almost every other BM CD and band will seem a pale immitation. Hail the mighty Emperor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing....the only word to describe this album, 25 Jan 2001
By A Customer
Alongside 'De mysteriss dom sathanas'by Mayhem, this has the rank as the greatest black metal album of all time....it combines the extremity of bands like Burzum and Darkthrone and mixes in a small ounce of commercial bands like Cradle of Filth to produce what I can only describe as a masterpiece - Ive had this on my walkman for 6 months and it aint leaving anytime soo. The atmosphere is incredible, probably partly due to the shoddy production, which unlike other recordings seems to add to the aura of mystique. In my opinion, songs like 'I am the black wizards' and 'Inno a satana' are as far as music can be pushed, and will never be beaten. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic Black Metal album., 29 Jan 2006
When I first got this album, I found it really hard to appreciate. It's not that I wasn't used to black metal, I was already familiar with some of the essentials of the genre such as Darkthrone's "Transilvanian Hunger", Burzum's "Det Som En Gang Var" and Immortal's "Pure Holocaust" to name but three, it was however the production that really held me back from appreciating it.
There just seemed to be too much going on at once whilst the whole sound was kind of tinny making it hard to make out the instrumentation. One day, I decided to give it a proper chance and listened to it three times in a row and fell in love with it.
From the very start you are thrust into the powerful, raw yet majestical vision of the band with "Into The Infinity of Thoughts" which is very atmospheric and certainly one of the many highlights of the album. As someone else has said, the keyboards ARE noticeable yet they dont lead the music and this is a good thing.
I wont go through a track by track run down, others have done that already and I'm sure the songs mean different things to different people.
If you like black metal and are curious of this album, check it out, just be prepared to give it a little of your time because it WILL be worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best black metal album ever., 6 Jan 2006
By 
Scoulls (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
I just had to say this. This is the best black metal album ever! Many people have praised this album already, what more need be said of this masterpiece? If you do not have this yet then you should, without a shadow of doubt, get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars truly a classic,dont ever think otherwise, 28 Feb 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
the term classic must be applied to this seminal release by the superb emperor,its a true classic album,in some ways it is black metal and in some ways it isnt as its so catchy and melodic and if you compare this to immortal or darkthrone there is a big difference,keyboards and trumpets are very much part of this and it is emperor that brought beautiful melodies to black metal and made it more commercial,there is not one bad song on this,the melodies will rip through your spine and stay with you forever,the song i am the black wizard is a notable highlight,if every genre has an undisputed classic then this is that album for operatic black metal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black metals most important album, 29 April 2002
Emperor, is there anything more that needs to be said? Well, since Samoth and Ishan aren't kings of the world yet, evidently so.......
There is no doubt that of all the music styles around, black metal is the most epic, towering, and in places touching of them all. The sheer amount of work that must go into creating these masterpeices is staggering, its a 4-man band but theres about 10 instruments being used....
Although the band hasn't at this point peaked at the excellence they reached with Prometheus (best album in the history of mankind) its still fantastic, and sets the stage for the mightyness of black metal to come.
The songs tend to follow a 'wall of sound' style, which is basically to throw everything at the listener and create a tune out of that. Normally this is a bad way of doing things, but on this album....its just amazing
I'll hafta cut this review short, but buy this album for a peice of metal history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars emperor's masterpiece, 25 Sep 2002
By A Customer
It is a plain and disappointing fact that Emperor deteriorate across their discography.This, being their first major work retains such quality that i might go as far as to label it the best black metal album ive ever heard. The screaming, utterly incoherent vocals that belittle the likes of dani filth are an auditory wonder while the medievil and viking feel to the whole album is classic. There is beautiful melody and harsh black power throughout, and the raw feeling can only grow on you. By raw i do not refer to prodction quality, which is as pristine as the music itself.
If youre a fan of Emperor's later work then you'll be shocked by this, but if you love extreme i absolutely recommend it. Quite brilliant, not for the faint of heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In The Nightside Eclipse [VINYL]
In The Nightside Eclipse [VINYL] by Emperor (Vinyl - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews