Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better even than the pogues and dropkick murphys!
this is totally strange, a band which my friends all sneer at as 'old man's irish music', which does the warped tour and supports the bouncing souls (popular street punk band)
well basically think the pogues and then think better lyrics and slightly punkier rhythms and you got it
this is real irish music, not fake stuff like enya or the corrs - this is the real...
Published on 7 Mar. 2002 by thewalkingcontradiction

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing Pogues parody
Having bought this album yesterday on the strength of its glowing Amazon reviews I was massively disappointed - lyrically Swagger owes a huge debt of gratitude to the Pogues (up to "If I should fall from grace with god"), unfortunately for Flogging Molly Dave King is no Shane McGowan - at best I found the lyrics unconvincing and at worst terrible - full of cliched and...
Published on 31 July 2010 by oliver helfrich


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better even than the pogues and dropkick murphys!, 7 Mar. 2002
This review is from: Swagger (Audio CD)
this is totally strange, a band which my friends all sneer at as 'old man's irish music', which does the warped tour and supports the bouncing souls (popular street punk band)
well basically think the pogues and then think better lyrics and slightly punkier rhythms and you got it
this is real irish music, not fake stuff like enya or the corrs - this is the real thing. thankyou notes to arthur guiness, songs about drinking and of course, the manditory song about livin' in america and being homesick for ireland
basically only really narrow minded people don't like this music - it can appeal to anyone. i'm a skateboarding punk and i love it, my dad's a businessman and he loves it, my grandfather is an 84 year old whiskey drinking irshman and he loves it
so just buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutley mind-blowing!, 24 April 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swagger (Audio CD)
I stumbled across Flogging Molly on a Warped tour sampler and haven't looked back yet! 'Swagger' is a fantastic album full of great drinking songs, songs of lost love and hard graft. Each song tells a fantastic story of booze, brawls and adventure. Really great sound like a jam session between the Popes, Swingin' Utters and Dropkick Murphys, but still sounding original. You'll feel like you've heard all these cracking songs before, and you have...they're the tunes in your head as last call is shouted, when carrying your hod, when you're off to foreign shores searching for work. Cracking band, classic album. Buy, buy, buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irish-punk-ro-kicking-tastic, 7 Sept. 2004
This review is from: Swagger (Audio CD)
What an awesome albulm, from the fast-string intro to drunken lullabies to the melodic far away boys... To the drunken faced morning stumble home of never see the likes of you again... 'Travelled all these years he said, to only get this far, crossed the street, found a seat, his home is now a bar...'
This was my first intro to Molly and I can only say it leaves me quite happy that there exists such music. It's started me on the long road to Celtic-Punk which is proving as destructive as the music is brilliiant. A must for anyone who wants lively music which drives the soul and grips the mind...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 12 Dec. 2003
By 
E. Flowers (St. George, UT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Swagger (Audio CD)
The first studio album, Swagger is a phenomenal work in it's own respect. It doesn't have the same tone as Drunken Lullabies, but it is none the weaker for it. There is one thing this album has that no other album, from any band (including Flogging Molly) could ever replace - and that thing is a song we call "Black Friday Rule". This is quite possibly the ultimate song. Not because of what it is on the album, but what it turn's into on stage. I've personally seen it live three times, and each time was like a high point in my life.
Of course, there are other songs on this album, such as "The Likes of You Again", which is constantly in a struggle between "The Rare Ould Times" for my favorite Flogging Molly song. It's so great, it's hard to describe.
Swagger is a different mix of song styles than Drunken Lullabies, but it is it's equal in quality. A bit harder to locate in music stores, this is an essential part of the Flogging Molly experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Ole Days of Celtic Rock, 30 May 2008
This review is from: Swagger (Audio CD)
Some might say that Swagger is, quite simply, the best album FM ever produced with the possible exception of the brilliant 2008 release; Float. Even today it royally upstages Within a Mile from Home and Drunken Lullabies, which are each definitely worth a buy. Of course, if you're reading this on Amazon then this is probably nothing new to you, but perchance you're a newcomer to the scene with Float and are looking into Flogging Molly's older releases, I couldn't recommend anywhere better to start. Enjoy, and shimmy onwards.

(Heh, heh... Swaggar? Good times.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good band good album, 6 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swagger (Audio CD)
I enjoyed this album and would buy more from this band. I would go to see them live on the basis of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A STOUT-SOAKED HUMDINGER OF AN ALBUM, 27 Mar. 2002
This review is from: Swagger (Audio CD)
I'm not sure how I stumbled across this album, but as a Celt, boy am I glad I did! But suffice to say I'm the only person in UK I know who has heard of Flogging Molly! So, If any UK Irish folk rock lovers see this, I STRONGLY suggest they acquire this album, it's a real treat!
Having seen the Pogues in their heyday, I can say without fear of contradiction, that these guys (and gal) are as good if not better! Lofty praise indeed.
This does not happen very often, but I actually like the whole bloody album, not just a couple of trax!
There are some real choice trax here; from kickers like "Every Dog'" and "Black Friday Rule", to the more eccentric trax like "Sentimental Johnny"!
The latter, maybe some of my fellow Irish music lovers from across the pond will be able to tell me, appears to be about Johnny Cash! Is this
assumption correct?
Well I've rambled on enough and I look forward to hearing the new album! Will be ready and waiting for the start of the world tour!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars swaggering, 14 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Swagger (Audio CD)
It's the first time I've heard Flogging Molly, less relaxed than The Pogues but as musical and play with greater energy. Bet they're great live, in concert. Great recording. The tracks have you bouncing off the ceiling. Highly recommended. The best Irish Rock Band ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing But No Murphys..., 8 Mar. 2002
This review is from: Swagger (Audio CD)
A very good, consistent album, with amazing tunes like 'the ol' beggars bush' which is my personal fave at the moment. If you like the folky moments on Sing Loud Sing Proud youll love this. 'Salty Dog' is a fireball of a song - it never stops. Get this album now. Or if you havent got this, and you are more in touch with your punk side, get SLSP first. Listen to that, and get this if you like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swagger (Audio CD)
Brought as a birthday present he loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Swagger
Swagger by Flogging Molly (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews