Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


112 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A contender for best game on the Xbox 360.
I have managed to get my hands on a copy of the Asian release of this game which has full english audio and menus and text, and I have to say that it if turn based RPG's are your cup of tea then this is an absolute must own.

Lost Odyssey is made by the creator of the Final Fantasy series and the Xbox 360 game Blue Dragon. While I didn't think Blue Dragon was a...
Published on 3 Feb 2008 by Mr. C. H. Rudd

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A thousand years of frustration
I didn't like Lost Odyssey for the first couple of hours of playing. The opening is a let down (flashy acrobatics in the introductory cut-scene don't translate to the player-controlled, turn-based boss fight you're eventually dumped in), lead character Kaim is another sulky mercenary/soldier type, the environments have a colour palette consisting of brown and grey, and...
Published on 13 Sep 2008 by D. S. Roberts


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stop comparing to FF, this is good!, 19 Mar 2008
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
I couldn't wait to get stuck into this game on release date. Unfortunately, there aren't that many rpgs out on the 360 (or PS3), so I was looking forward to playing this game.

And, yes, it is a very good rpg. The story is great, and well thought up, the graphics are outstanding, and I love the battle system too. There are many side quests in this game, and to complete them all you would probably have to get a guide, as they aren't all easy.

There are two things I have against this game (which why I only gave it a 4 star). Firstly, the loading times between cutscenes, etc... are way too long. At times it felt like I could go make a cup of coffee and not miss anything. And secondly, it would have been so much better if you had more control over the main character (when roaming that is). The right analogue stick only pans through about 45degrees, so, even when you turn around the view ahead of you stays the same. A full 360degrees would have been (and looked) so much better.

Anyway, with that aside, if you are looking for a solid rpg, then you much grab this game. Lost Odyssey has everything the pointy hat gamer looks for in an rpg. You will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brief overview, 28 Mar 2008
By 
J. Simpson "Jared Simpson" (Newcastle, North East, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
i know going through many reviews can be a bore if you want to know whether or not to get a game. well i did the same for this game and ended up pre-ordering it.

the storyline is probably the best storyline i have played on in years!!!
there are alot of cut scenes, however, if you try to rush through the game you get this but if u take it a bit slower it doesnt seem bad, at all!!!!
the gameplay its self is amazing with a great turn based battle system.
the game isnt all that hard but with tricky puzzles and tough bosses at times you might feel like punching your tv (dont, it hurts haha)

i would say that the game is worth buying to any RPG fan or even somebody looking for a game they can get stuck into

gameplay 9/10
graphics 10/10
challenge? 7/10
story 11/10 < i know thats bad math but it really is

i hope this review helped if only even a little bit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i want to be sick!, 11 Mar 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
I'm brand new to xbox 360 and love games like COD4, Gears of War, and PGR3. I have never played any of the FF series but read some reviews of Lost Oddessy and thought I'd take a chance - it's superb!
The pace is a lot slower than the other games I'm used to, but it's such an engaging game. It's also a lot harder than any game I've played before and really requires you to use your noodle!
I'm now licking various keyboards at work so I can pick up an infectious disease and stay home so I can immerse myself in this game!
If you've got a short attention span don't bother getting this game, but if you want to feel like you're a character from a mangaesque movie - get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC FANTASY, 24 Mar 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
If you liked final fanatsy v11 or skies of arcadia as much as me then your going to love this. The story and characters are fantastic the graphics are also really nice. Its really frustrating that the critics have not praised this game as much as they should have, maybe because it does not have the name final fantasy in the title. If you prefer the more traditional RPG then get this and then get ill for 3 weeks and play through this 4 disk monster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Most boring rpg ever!, 18 Jun 2009
By 
Scott Bounds "esbe_72" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
I bought this game on the strength of reviews on here and a recomendation from a friend and whilst I have tried to be patient with it and allow it to build up the story after 2/3 hrs of playing it just isnt any fun! Far too many cutscenes, boring repetitve actions and the most rubbish menu system I have ever seen since playing pro-evo games. Maybe I should have given it longer but if a game cant hook you in after 3 hrs and your not finding those hours fun then its goodbye from me and of to ebay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not fun, 2 Nov 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
If i had the chance to play the game before buying it i would have never brought it and so that is the reason i have it 1 star its too boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Final Fantasy XII with a new name., 20 Mar 2008
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
I've been fighting a battle with this game for a while now, do I really like this game or not? It turns out NO. No I don't really like this game.

The opening scene manages to captures your attention and gives you a false hope of this game being any good. The first cut scene is pretty dam good, before you know it your Main guy Kaim is placed rite in the middle of a war, (GREAT) but then the game starts to slow down rite down.

I was very disappointed with the playable charters in Lost Odyssey, Their somewhat boring and lack depth. Also early on in the game two little children team up with your gang of misfits, simply unforgivable. IT'S JUST WRONG!! Incredibly annoying, some scenes are cringe worthy.
There was one charter who I'd liked, for a time. Jansen, he was outspoken and quite funny at time, but he wore eyeliner, EYELINER!! He could have been a fan of Adam & the ants but this never came into the game, so on that note. Jansen your wrong mate, sort ya head out.

Lost Odyssey has the same sort of feel and look as Final Fantasy XII, you know the imperial empire theme. I grossly disliked that game because it was plop and I truly can see a lot of simpler faults in Lost Odyssey as FF XII. Both game slipped up on the Storyline, charters and the drive to finish it. Oh what, this game was made by the same people who made FF XII, I couldn't tell.

Another point I want to make is in FF X there are loads of cut scenes, loads of pre-recorded speech and was still only on 1 disk. Then why Lost Odyssey is on 4, it takes about the same amount of time to finish. Think I smell a gimmick, a poor gimmick.

If you're trying to relive those great days of playing FF 7, sorry this game don't cut it.

It's not fresh, its not powerful and by no means is it an epic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just dire, 10 Sep 2009
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
I don't normally write reviews (there are plenty already on here), however I feel so strongly about this game I just have to despite reiterating points already made.

I don't say this lightly but I found absolutely no enjoyment whatsoever in this game (and that's the main purpose of games right?). Despite having only played onto the second disc I was filled with indifference and loathing for the games' characters and a physical inability to proceed any further with this adventure.

The game starts well with a fabulous cut-scene of our protagonist battling soldiers in a dazzling flash of steel. However when this cut-scene finishes one is plonked into a tedious turn-based battle system, which is truly dated. It may have been acceptable to have a random battle turned-based system 10 years ago but now it's slow and brings out a machinistic element in the game, whereby one doesn't appreciate the battles it's just a sad plodding motion where one completes one battle walks ten yards gets jumped by a bunch of enemies beats them, walks another ten yards ad infinitum.

Gameplay, as they say is the most important aspect in the game, here I believe it fails epically. As mentioned the battle system is clunky and you will be ready to throw the controller at the screen because you just want to get to the end of the screen so you can get into the next town and save your game. The menu's are terrible - there's far too many different sub sections and augment rings to attach to your weapons and a ridiculous number of powers to learn and loads more than you can actually use. Also certain creatures can only be hurt by certain attacks or magic. A good idea in principle, not a good idea when only one member of the party can use such powers and you have 4 members defending and healing for the whole fight while 1 character spends 10 minutes battling.

The plot sounds good on paper - an immortal chap called Kaim is caught up in a battle between two kingdoms/states all the while not knowing his past and having flashbacks. Unfortunately the bad script and voice-acting leaves one devoid of compassion for this man and his ridiculous breast plate that leaves his mid-drift exposed making him looking a bit like a camp transvestite (imagine Leroy Johnson's outfit in Fame and your not far off it).

On the plus side the graphics are solid though not truly beautfiul and the music is decent but again not brilliant. But they fail to cover-up the aweful game underneath.

In summary:

Dated, clunky random-battle system.
Total inability to engross gamer in story due to wooden un-likeable characters.
OK graphics and sound

If you want an awesome RPG get Eternal Sonata, Fable, Jade Empire, Mass Effect but don't buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lost in the past, and not in a good way, 26 Mar 2008
By 
John Clayton III (Greystoke) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
After the pathetic Blue Dragon, it was all on Mistwalker to pull a rabbit out of the hat with Lost Odyssey and actually do a decent game, or be seen as something of a failure in their first forays into the gaming business. Sadly, they have once again let JRPG fans down in spectacular fashion.

Once again ripping off as much as they can from Final Fantasy X(With a little bit of 'borrowing from Shadow Hearts thrown in for good measure), Lost Odyssey has the same combat system as FFX, the same field exploration set up as FFX(No controllable camera when Blue Dragon had it? What?) and, aside from some utterly pointless boat controlling sequences, the same world map screen as FFX. In fact, were it not for the HD graphics and infinitely worse storyline, you could almost be fooled into thinking you were playing FFX. Almost...

playing as a thousand year old immortal out to reclaim your lost thousand years of memories may sound like an interesting premise, but when the game chooses to focus on some awful plotlines involving 'hilarious' mischievious kids who keep trying to see their dead mother, a stupidly overacting villain who has some of the cheesiest voice acting of all time, and a near nonsensical central story about magic energy that doesn't seem to explain things half as clearly as it should do, the interesting premise just falls flat on it's face. It's very very saddening to see the far more interesting plot elements involving central character Kaim(Who for 9/10s of the game is a lifeless, monosyllabic bore of a character) relegated to 'short stories' of text pages(Yep, no voice acting or cut scenes) during the '1000 years of dreams' sub quest. These are all far better written than the actual game plot, but are a chore to get through due to having to spend up to 20 minutes reading page after page of text on your TV screen. This game's story is a bit of a mess to put it plainly.

Graphics wise, the game looks great on the surface, but the performace of these visuals is attrocious! Massive slowdown problems and long, frequent loading times coupled with repetitive level designs and unoriginal/uninteresting looking characters make this a real mixed bag to look at.

The soundtrack too, is quite poor considering Nobuo Uematsu did it. With some repetitive dins for the dungeons(Though nothing quite as bad as Blue Dragon's awful, grating boss music) and some truly cringeworthy pop songs. All I need to say about this is: They got Sheena Easton in to do the vocals. That should tell you all you need to know.

Worst thing about the game though is it's insistence on using the long since abandoned and outdated 'random battle' mechanic, where fights occur out of nowhere when you're walking around. It's all the more baffling as Blue Dragon didn't have random battles, yet for this follow up, they've gone BACK to this incredibly unpopular gameplay necessity of yesteryear which is...er... no longer a necessity in any way? Smacks of exceptional laziness on the part of Mistwalker to me, coupled with a desire to somehow paint Lost Odyssey as some kind of tribute to classic JRPGs past. Well, sorry to break it to you Mistwalker, but when your game is dolled up in glossy Unreal Engine 3, High Definiton shine, you clearly aren't aiming at recapturing memories of classic fare like Chrono Trigger and FFVII here, you're just looking for the quickest and cheapest way of getting the game finished and on the shelves rather than the best way to make it a genuine classic. Poor show.

Perhaps if Hironobu Sakaguchi's much hyped involvement with this game went beyond the role of mere scenario planner, we might have gotten the FF beater some fanboys are so desperate to paint this game as, but we have not got that game, not by a long shot. What we have got is a nice looking game that tries to disguise it's shortcomings in a cloak of deeply unoriginal, archaic gameplay mechanics and amateurish storytelling in an age when games like FFXII are pushing the JRPG genre forward. There's simply no excuse for clinging to the past like this, not when we've all played so much better.

I'd hope that Mistwalker would do a better job of their next game, but I said that after the bitter disappointment of Blue Dragon, so I won't hold my breath. though considering they now seem to be moving away from the 360 and onto developing games for the Nintendo DS(Possibly due to how low sales of their games have been, I don't know...), perhaps the fresher approach to gameplay they'll be forced to take with this more innovative machine will spur their creative juices a bit more than working on next gen consoles apparently could not manage. One can but hope.

Overall, I'd say avoid this relic of a game and go for something with a bit more of an interesting flavour to it like Eternal Sonata or Persona 3. You'll only get pretty HD visuals here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars overly long and pointless, 10 Nov 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
Can I say straight off that I dont get this type of game, so that said what do i think of it. Well my title says it all realy, I thought it looked great but boy does it spend a lot of time on what are silly cut scenes. These Japanese developers need to get out more and experience life.

Its all just too silly, the characters are 1 (not even 2) dimensional. Story is stupid, hte weapons are realy stupid, and I like fantasy but realy leave European fantasy to Europeans please. No logic, no sense, no gameplay behind it realy. It is massive but take out the cut scenes and its just repeat repeat repeat. Honestly its a waste of the earth resources, thats how bad it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost Odyssey
Lost Odyssey by Microsoft (Xbox 360)
£18.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews