Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game on the 360? (almost) without a doubt
This game is incredible in so many different ways it's not even fair to any other game out there. All other reviews on here are nice and long and detailed, so I'll just summarise them in an ugly pros/cons table, so apologies for that.

Pros:

Unbelievable story- compelling, interesting, engaging, emotional, heart-breaking.

The BEST...
Published on 12 Oct 2008 by kampori

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun for Final Fantasy Fans, Annoying for anyone who hates being stuck in front of the TV for ages!
As a fan of the Final Fantasy games, I rather enjoy playing this one. It's nothing new, but I knew that when I bought it. The one thing that has spurred me to write this review today is that I have just spent over 2 hrs playing this game and did not manage to save it- and this isn't the first time.

The Maps are SO difficult to read (I'm not playing on a HD...
Published on 7 Dec 2009 by Ms. Tanya J. Scott


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Game, 22 Mar 2010
By 
Linda Walsh (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
All Final Fantasy and turn-based RPG fans should buy this game it is one of the best games I have played since Final Fantasy X!! If u like good quality games that last longer than the 10 hours you get from a game these days this is the one I`ve been playing for 70+ hours and I`m still not at the end :) The story`s great I dont usually care about the story if the gameplay is good but I`ve been in tears twice with this story its so sad at bits but all in all this is the game to get if you like RPGS its well worth the money I would pay full price for this game its totally worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Fun, 9 Jun 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
Pros:

+Astonishing graphics
+Even better music score
+Well performed voice actors
+A well told story that spans four discs

Cons:

-Load times are long and frequent
-There's some slowdown to deal with

Hironobu Sakaguchi, the creator and producer of the Final Fantasy series, left Square-Enix and formed Mistwalker along with several of the staff members who made the Final Fantasy series. Their first effort, Blue Dragon, was, for the most part, a decent RPG but not what you'd expect from the man who brought you Final Fantasy. Lost Odyssey is a much better effort than Blue Dragon. From the creators of Final Fantasy comes another sprawling epic that's far better than Blue Dragon could ever hope to be.

If there's one thing Mistwalker has solidified themselves in doing, it's the ability to make a beautiful game with some decent production values. The story of Lost Odyssey centers on Kaim. An immortal who has lost his memory. As the game progresses, you learn more about Kaim and who he was. In spite of having several overly done moments, Lost Odyssey doesn't feature a bad storyline at all. Much of it is well written, the dialog well spoken and acted by their voice cast. Even better is that there are a lot of emotional moments going on that make the game a thrill to play. While there isn't anything too stark about the story itself, the characters are likeable enough to keep you going. And they should be. This game spans four discs.

Lost Odyssey doesn't do a whole lot to separate itself from a lot of JRPGs. It has a few good elements to it, but in truth, this is really just your average turned based battle system. There are a few tidbits to separate it from other JRPGs, however. Such as placing your characters in the front or back row. While Final Fantasy has already done this, Lost Odyssey puts much more emphasis on this. There's a guard gauge you must keep an eye on, and once it runs out you'll take much more damage from attacks. Learning skills is also somewhat different. Kaim, like other characters who will join you, is immortal. Immortals can, however, learn abilities from their mortal allies by battling with them in combat.

There are also attack rings. When a character attacks you can hold the right trigger and then release at the right time to do extra damage. While it doesn't really add much of anything to the combat, it keeps you focused. Combat isn't too hard to learn. Neither is the rest of the game. In fact, Lost Odyssey plays pretty much like a standard RPG.

Lost Odyssey looks absolutely beautiful, though. Helped along, of course, by a well told story. The characters and environments are absolutely beautiful. To compliment all this, the music score is astonishing. Done by former Final Fantasy composer Nobuo Uematsu The voice acting is also pretty good. If there was anything that might keep the game's production values down, it might be that it just doesn't run all that smoothly. Blue Dragon suffered similar problems. While the slowdown people may not mind, the frequent and somewhat long loading times might be problematic.

In short, Lost Odyssey is so far the best JRPG you can get on the XBOX360 at the moment. It's deep emotional story and focus on its characters make it a more memorable RPG. While it suffers briefly in the technical department, it's certainly not a bad game by any means. JRPG fans should definitely pick up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RPG Perfection, 25 Aug 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
Lost Oddyssey begins in a battleground. Your unnamed hero fighting for survival. I must admit after this over dramatic opening sequence the game does slow down a bit. But like oblivion give it a few more hours and it picks up steam again. It does have a few diifiicult fights, one memorable one with some pompous soldiers, which require serious thougt, training, or luck. But in 30 hours of gameplay I've only been seriousely stuck twice. I word of advice the strategy guide for this game is very comprehensive and helps you extrct maximum enjoyment from the game, whilst not giving too much away. Good luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid adventure which all RPG fans should experience, 10 Aug 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
Lost Odyssey is quite possibly the best RPG available thus far on the Xbox 360. It doesn't break many boundaries, but is a very solid game that can be recommended to any fan of the genre.
The game's battle system takes the form of rando encounters and turn-based combat. I disagree with some complaints that this is outdated, for me this system still works and is classic rather than cliche. Each to their own of course. The addition of rings adds a more exciting element to the battles however, as well as a good touch of originality.
The storyline for me was good, but not great. The classic "save the world from a big baddie" scenario still works, but there is some magic missing to fully engage me and grab my full attention. Call me dumb but some aspects got a bit complex that I didn't quite get, especially in terms of many of the main characters' pasts. The English voice acting is variable. There are some good voices, notably Jansen, but the characters of Cooke and Mack become awfully irritating brats thanks to their voice actors' cheesy presentation, which genuinely detracted from the overall experience for me. Several emotional and touching scenes were suddenly ruined by those two suddenly showing up. Luckily you can opt for Japanese voice actors if it gets too unbearable. The game's soundtrack is generally good, but the same tunes tend to be recycled a bit too much for my liking.
Overall, Lost Odyssey is a solid and thoroughly enjoyable RPG, and will appeal to the majority of RPG fans, particularly Final Fantasy fans. There's just something missing which stops it being 'amazing'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top game, 21 July 2008
By 
Mr. A. R. Hewitt (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
im on the 4th disk and the story is amazing, the game play is amazing. you really connect with the characters and the game does a great job of immersing you into the atmosphere. 9/10.

quality title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not bad, but good!, 2 May 2008
By 
D. Ward (N.Yorks UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
Lost Odyssey is in itself a marmite game, you love it or u hate it, there is no in between. This is the first turn based game i have played since FF7 years ago, and actually found myself really enjoying it. The characters are slightly over emotional in a 'no matter what' kind of way and it gets really soppy in parts, but they are very engaging, and i found myslef smiling at a later plot that develops within your squad, since you kinda see it coming, but damn, this game has HOURS of play in it even if you only intend to carry out the main quest.

Against - The play can get frustrating sometimes when your trying to navigate round a maze type area, and your being constantly brought into monster fights, for you to almost forget where you where going when you pop back into the maze, and i for one found the dreams quiet boring (short stories in the form of memories unlocked) since some can take almost 5 mins to read. The ring system... sounds simple, but doesnt seem to have any effect on anything other than normal attacks.

For - A good cast, with engaging plots, and while the combat is turn based, its actually very good, and towards the end you start to have favorate characters. There are HOURS of play to this game, and replayability since you get to start at lvl 50 2nd time thru.

Summery - I would reccomend it to anyone with a feint intrest in RPG games, since the graphics are really good, and the story grows on you.. not exactly a game thats hard to put down, but time does fly when ur playing it :) 4* from me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and fun with some originality., 2 May 2009
By 
Dimitrios Kapsoulis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
This game is probably the best JRPG on the xbox360 at the moment. It has a huge story that keeps the style constant instead of switching between dark drama and a lighter tone in what is known as the "GTA 4 syndrome". The characters are realistic and varied enough to make you care about them. The fact that the protagonist is not an angst ridden doe eyed teenager like most JRPGs helps a lot. I particularly enjoyed parts where the protagonist instead of brooding over a fight with the major bad guy, attacked instead. The story is pretty basic but very well written and there are optional short stories that are shown in a series of texts with beautiful music and are really emotional.

The combat is your standard rpg turn based combat but since you have 5 party members and a huge array of different skills and combos it allows for a bit of strategy in the style of the shadow hearts series. The ring system is particularly interesting since you can craft all sorts of rings with different abilities which you can change mid battle with no penalty like losing a turn. The leveling system is designed so that you don't have to farm exp or have characters that are 20 levels lower than your mains. Basically you need 100 exp for each advance and depending on your level you get different amounts of exp from monsters. eg: a 25 lvl character will get 10xp from monster X but a 20 lvl character will get 100xp from the same monster. The skill system is also great. Some character learn skills by leveling up while others by learning skills other character already know. It is a lot simpler than it sounds and it allows for great customization and versatility.

All in all a great game, with excellent storytelling, realistic and likable characters and a nice combat system. If you are a fan of rpgs and jrpgs in particular this is a title that should not be missing from your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best JRPG on 360, 9 July 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
This game is great it's basically a Final Fantasy only on 360, it's the best JRPG on the console it's story, graphics & characters are all awesome plus it lasts for about 40 hours, whats not to like? =))
5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing back the old skool but minus the needless levelling up, 23 May 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
I remember when i first played final fantasy and just couldn't put the thing down for weeks. It was like a good book, i just had to know what was going to happen to Squall and co. next, even when the combat started getting a tad repetitive. More modern RPG's i've played just seem to lack this seem appeal and when i heard the masterful creators of Chrono trigger were making an RPG for 360 i was green with anticipation. That was until it arrived and i realised that blue dragon didn't actually have a plot at all somewhere near the end of disc one.

I was therefore a little sceptical of LO but tried on recommendation from a friend and wow. Such an improvement on mistwalker's previous game. The story is genuinely gripping this time around and you will fall in love with the deep yet accessible story and characterisation. The graphics are amazing if you've cared to view any trailers of the game, easily the best graphics i've seen on an RPG yet.

The gameplay is also smashing with the combat having an addictive quality to it due to the VAST amount of skills, weapons and property-granting rings available for your characters to use. The battles have an amazing difficulty level that certainly isn't a breeze but doesn't require mindless level-grinding that's come to be associated with similar old skool RPG's.

Overall the best RPG i've played since FF9. Has a slow pace so if you're the kind of beer-swilling boar that can't divert his attention from Halo 3 matchmaking for more than 3 minutes this isn't the game for you but if you've ever liked a console RPG before i can't recommend this game to you any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FF Clone ... No!, 6 Mar 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
Many have described this game as a Final Fantasy clone ... I beg to differ. There are elements of ANIME throughout the game, just as there are in the FF series, and the cut-scenes do remind me a bit of the FF film (name escapes me at the moment - sorry), but what else would you expect? Gamers really should stop comparing RPGs the likes of this to the Baldurs Gate or Elder Scroll series.

The graphics are crisp, and for a change look like they have been produced for a next-gen console, rather than tweeked to suit the platform (like many games we are seing at present <g>), and the FMV's although disruptive at times are highly professional, and could easily turn up in an anime of the game.

The battles are turn-based (like FF) but not everything revolves around Oblivion, Guild Wars, etc, .... get used to it LOL

Gameplay has a bit of everything - puzzles, quests, battles, the lot ... it's a very complete game, and I'm totally enjoying it, and have already recommended it to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb46d6e04)

This product

Lost Odyssey
Lost Odyssey by Microsoft (Xbox 360)
24.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews