Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game on the 360? (almost) without a doubt
This game is incredible in so many different ways it's not even fair to any other game out there. All other reviews on here are nice and long and detailed, so I'll just summarise them in an ugly pros/cons table, so apologies for that.

Pros:

Unbelievable story- compelling, interesting, engaging, emotional, heart-breaking.

The BEST...
Published on 12 Oct 2008 by kampori

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A thousand years of frustration
I didn't like Lost Odyssey for the first couple of hours of playing. The opening is a let down (flashy acrobatics in the introductory cut-scene don't translate to the player-controlled, turn-based boss fight you're eventually dumped in), lead character Kaim is another sulky mercenary/soldier type, the environments have a colour palette consisting of brown and grey, and...
Published on 13 Sep 2008 by D. S. Roberts


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game on the 360? (almost) without a doubt, 12 Oct 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
This game is incredible in so many different ways it's not even fair to any other game out there. All other reviews on here are nice and long and detailed, so I'll just summarise them in an ugly pros/cons table, so apologies for that.

Pros:

Unbelievable story- compelling, interesting, engaging, emotional, heart-breaking.

The BEST cinematics I have ever seen- Just like a movie.. (links in with previous point.)
Delicious, Jaw-dropping graphics (especially in cut scenes) but also in the main game and fight sequences.
Fighting- proper RPG turn based combat, interesting, cool and fun moves to do.

Maps/Environments- Big, different, sweet graphics and effects in each.
Cities/NPCs/Town folk- Lots of NPCs and things to interact with. Shops, inns, taverns.. all there for your disposal. Chat with people to unlock "dreams" or a side quest.
Length- long! Sweet..

Characters- Engaging, deep and properly explored.

Cons:

Combat- the moves take a bit too long to actually "do". After hours and hours of endless fighting, this can get a bit tedious, especially with the same effects.

Saves- "Save Points" are miles apart from each other, although you can save from the menu at some points.

Map- no access to the world/map (cities) to go from one area to another except in 1 spot of a whole environment. Annoying if you want to quickly jump back into a city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A contender for best game on the Xbox 360., 3 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. C. H. Rudd "Benwahwah" (Cumbria, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
I have managed to get my hands on a copy of the Asian release of this game which has full english audio and menus and text, and I have to say that it if turn based RPG's are your cup of tea then this is an absolute must own.

Lost Odyssey is made by the creator of the Final Fantasy series and the Xbox 360 game Blue Dragon. While I didn't think Blue Dragon was a fantastic game (very enjoyable but not the killer RPG the 360 was looking for) I think that Lost Odyssey is absolutely brilliant.

The story for Lost Odyssey is excellent. It revolves around Kaim who is an immortal but can't remember his past. I'm not going to go to much into the story as I don't want to inadvertently spoil it for anybody. However I am half way through the second disc at the minute and have already found myself almost reduced to tears on a couple of occasions. So far it has been a fantastic story and it is very moving indeed.

The graphics on this game are also top notch. Some of the bosses look absolutely amazing and there is only a few times when there is any slow down so no real worries there. The graphical style of the game very much reminds me of Final Fantasy X but with HD clarity.

The sound is also an area where this game truly excels. The music is from Nobuo Uematsu who provided the music for most of the Final Fantasy games and this is probably some of his best work. The English dub for this game is absolutely brilliant as well. I haven't even checked out the Japanese dub yet it is so good. The characters actually sound like real people rather than people reading from a script. The stand out character in this game is Jansen he is probably one of the funniest sidekicks I have ever encountered in a game. The only niggle I have with the sound is that at times the characters voices can't be heard of the background sounds. Thankfully this doesn't happen too often but it can be annoying when it does.

The gameplay is very like the Final Fantasy games with its turn based combat but as with the other Final Fantasy games Lost Odyssey has its own little differences to call its own. In this game it is the "ring system" where you have to time your attacks to get them to do the optimum damage. Lost Odyssey also has little to no grinding which I find to be a very welcome inclusion. This isn't to say that the game is easy as it isn't, against boss characters it isn't unusual to die but as there is a save point before most boss characters that isn't really a problem. The most important thing in dealing with boss characters is to have a good strategy to beat them. Another area where people have been concerned is the loading times. While sometimes these can seem a bit over long they aren't really that troublesome. Lets face it if your prepared to put in over 50 hours to complete the game (which it will take just for the main story apparently, which is believable as it took me just over 10 hours to complete the first disc) then a slightly longer than normal loading time shouldn't be anything to worry about.

In reply to a previous "review" no it doesn't require a subscription service I have heard that pre orders of the game get a special bonus item which you download off Xbox Live using an activation card.

All in all as you can probably tell if you have stuck with me this far I think this game is absolutely amazing. It just saddens me to know that it probably isn't going to sell as well as some of the rubbish that gets best seller status but I just hope that it sells enough to see Mistwalker make more top Rpg's like this for the Xbox 360.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like playing a movie..., 5 Mar 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
The other reviewers have captured the content and broad outline of this game, so I won't add to that. I have tried to give you a feel for whether this game will be one for you or not.

This game is great for:
- those with long stretches of play-time available
- people who like cut scenes
- those who want a game that has an easy gamer-interface without too much complication
- someone who is injured or immobile and wants to spent around 60 hours watching what is effectively an engaging interactive movie

It is not great for:
- those who like to save/leave the game more frequently than once per hour
- those with little patience for linear gameplay and cutscenes
- those who really liked Oblivion because of the freedom

Graphics are amazing - I really recommend HD viewing for this game. Load times are noticeable, but not annoying. Battling is better than most RPGs. There are some puzzles, mini-quests and ability to purchase items in shops. There are LOTS of cutscenes - hence the comment about playing a movie. Storyline is, thankfully, excellent.

Recommendations: (1) Don't assume the game will baby you - you have to actively seek out the side quests (but they are worth it for the items you get given once you complete them) - try chatting with folks in town like in Oblivion. (2) Don't play when you have a time constraint. Some sections are extremely long-winded. (3) Give the Pipots whatever they ask for - they are very generous little beasties.

Having been very disappointed in Assassin's Creed and not bothered with Two Worlds, given the reviews, this game is heaven sent! I recommend this as a 'buy' as you will be hard-pushed to get value from renting I think (unless you have a lot of free time).

For reference, other games I really liked are: Morrowind and Oblivion, Modern Warfare, Bioshock, Double Agent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money Well Spent, 3 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. L. Willis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
Have to say have been waiting for a decent RPG to hit the Xbox 360 and now we have it, with stunning graphics and great gameplay this game really does deliver, if you liked playing through the final fantasys you will really enjoy playing through this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On par with FF series, 20 April 2011
By 
Victoria Hill (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
As the title says, I think this RPG is right up there with Final Fantasy. There were times when I forgot that this wasn't an FF game, it is simply that good. I prefer Lost Odyssey to Final Fantasy 13, and even that game is awesome.

There is plenty to do in this game. The storyline is great and pretty easy to follow but you can step away from the story for some parts and focus on a plethora of side-quests and achievements. I racked up over 120 hours of gameplay on my run and ended up with 980 gamer points. It is very addictive. The graphics are lovely and the scenery is fantastic. There are three main cities to explore; Uhra, Numara and Ghotza. Each city is vastly different, with differing architecture etc. And as always, plenty of side-quests and exploring await in each city. There are also dark caves, little villages, scenic areas, ancient ruins and all-sorts of other places to explore.

There are nine playable characters, four of which are immortal. Their immortality does not mean they cannot be killed in battle. They are immortal in the games storyline. However, if they are killed and aren't resurected, they come back to life after awhile. Each immortal has a lot of abilities to learn. These can be learned from accessories, many of which are obtained in side-quests and through exploring, but can also be learned from non-immortal characters. The main character, Kaim, can remember fragments of his past which are collected as dreams. The dreams add a lovely, unique aspect to the game. Basically, they are short stories with music and scenery to accompany them. As a party, the characters gel together nicely, adding a lot of humour throughout the game.

The music is composed by Nobuo Uematsu, the composer behind most games in the Final Fantasy series and it's fantastic. It fits perfectly in the world of Lost Odyssey and adds a lot of depth to the gameplay. However, if you get fed-up of the music in a particular area, you can go to the options menu and turn it down, or off. Each area has it's own ambience too. Sometimes it's just nice to sit back and listen to some birds in the trees, the hustle and bustle of a city or the roaring cascade of water in a dark, damp cave.

The creators of Lost Odyssey pulled out all the stops with this game. I don't regret buying it and would love to play it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb game, 6 Dec 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
Ok i had no idea what to expect when i purchased this game, but wow what a game, you will appriciate leveling in this game as some bosses can be challanging but whats the point in an easy game? you will notice that the graphics are very nice. the most amazing part of this game has to be the story line, it truley is one of the great story lines, you actually feel for the characters in game, another thing that can let games down is voice acting, which im pleased to say isnt the case in this game, very good voice acting from start to finish. The battle system works tremendously well (old school battle system to me) which is how it should be.

In conclusion; If you want a gripping amazing game this is for you, firstly the graphics are gorgeous and the score is beautiful, but this game isnt about the graphics or the sound its the story, which is brilliant. Challanging and rewarding at the same time, with much to do. real winner 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A thousand years of frustration, 13 Sep 2008
By 
D. S. Roberts "dewirobs" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
I didn't like Lost Odyssey for the first couple of hours of playing. The opening is a let down (flashy acrobatics in the introductory cut-scene don't translate to the player-controlled, turn-based boss fight you're eventually dumped in), lead character Kaim is another sulky mercenary/soldier type, the environments have a colour palette consisting of brown and grey, and things start off fairly humourless (I personally can't stand po-faced RPGs).

Then I got a little further and started liking it. Some more colourful characters show up, and the game seems to develop a sense of humour. The story is at least interesting, if nothing mind-blowing ("Oh no, I've lost my memories!") The combat system is a fairly modest turn-based affair, but it's easy to get to grips with and satisfying to use - the only real unique point is holding and releasing the R-trigger with good timing to improve attack damage - a twist on the timed button presses used in the Paper Mario games. The skill-learning system is quite expansive without being overwhelming, allowing the immortal members of your team to pinch skills off the mortals over a number of battles by linking them up. The ring system is a nice addition, basically changing your attack attributes the way weapons do in most RPGs, and they can be built with the various ingredients dotted liberally around the game world. Both the skills and rings will keep you in the menu screens for a fair chunk of the game, granted - and while the freedom of the skill system is nice, it would have been nice if the option was there to automate it.

So, I went through the first 2 discs (the game's a 4-disc-er, though more as a result of all the FMV than extensive length - it can be finished in around 40 hours) on generally good terms with Lost Odyssey, with only the odd difficulty spike really souring things. But then Disc 3 comes along, and the quality of just about everything plummets. The dialogue, which had previously, I thought, been handled pretty well, gets atrocious. Jansen's 'hilarious' comments especially become extremely grating - whoever thought they could base an entire character on rapid sarcastic mutterings needs hitting with a door. Half the cut-scenes on the third disc feel rushed or unfinished, ending awkwardly and barely making any sense - likewise, the characters' expressions are also choppy in various scenes, while brilliant in others. After a few hours of this I just didn't care what was happening anymore - the game makes no attempt to disguise its megalomaniac villain, which I respect it for, but once you find out very little of interest develops in the plot. You just seem to get more characters - some of which you'll never want to use, except to steal their abilities.

Underwhelming story elements aside, the game is plagued by confusing and frustrating design. Some of the dungeons, particularly the industrial towers with several identical floors, are just too big and annoyingly lacking in points of reference. Coupled with the lack of a map that covers more than your immediate surroundings, it can make traversing some of the areas a real chore - unfortunately the game usually takes this opportunity to be stingy on save points, meaning you could be stuck for hours before you get to save, allowing you to turn your 360 off and do something else before the temptation to put it in the microwave becomes too great.

The game also suffers from erratic difficulty - occasionally a boss will pop up that simply annihilates you in a couple of turns, leaving you to either go off and 'grind' (ie fight repeatedly to improve your level) or keep trying, blasting it with everything you've got so you can kill it first. Usually you'll have to resort to the latter anyway. It's a shame, because the majority of the bosses are reasonably challenging, many with interesting quirks that need to be exploited, making it worse when one shows up that employs cheap tricks, like seriously outnumbering you or taking multiple turns.

As a last gripe, the game isn't brilliant for giving you direction outside of dungeons. A lot of the time when you reach towns you're left to wander around until you reach the point that triggers the next story event - hardly a problem exclusive to this game, but it's a pain. Directions when given vehicles to explore the world map are often frustratingly vague, too.

Lost Odyssey has moments of genuine brilliance, and is for the large part at the very least enjoyable, but the constant dips in the quality of production and abundance of design niggles prevent it from being one of the greats. The lack of a truly great story means that if your tolerance for frustration isn't very high, it's unlikely you'll want to stick with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately in my personal top 5 xbox games, 14 Aug 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
Let me start of by telling you I'm not your average gamer. Never really been big on first person shooters, so my interest has waned in gaming since they began accounting for 90% of all games a few years ago. Decided to give this a shot out of nostalgia toward the PS1 final fantasy games, and I have not been disappointed. The turn based battle system is one I honestly like, but if that is a turn off for you stay away, plus there is a lot of cut scene video (which is impressive visually) and dialogue, so the game isn't for everyone admittedly. Just reached disk four after 30 hours(ish) play in around two weeks, more than I have put into any xbox 360 game so far.

Overall, easy five stars for me, bettered on the 360 so far only by a handful in my personal opinion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best RPG since Final Fantasy X, 13 Feb 2012
By 
James L. Thorpe "James T" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
Lost Odyssey has one of the best storylines in RPG gaming history. As the game goes on you really get to know and like some characters and really feel like that your with them in thier epic journey. The gameplay is simple but effective, nice graphics and a gripping storyline keeps you wanting to go all the way to the end. However,the game can be slow to start but just keep going and it will get better. Final Fantasy X is my favourite RPG game of all time, but this is worth a good second place. Only this and FFX has made me so emotional. If you're a RPG fan, then I recommend this. It doesn't cost much so it's definitely worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Game, 22 Mar 2010
By 
Linda Walsh (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lost Odyssey (Video Game)
All Final Fantasy and turn-based RPG fans should buy this game it is one of the best games I have played since Final Fantasy X!! If u like good quality games that last longer than the 10 hours you get from a game these days this is the one I`ve been playing for 70+ hours and I`m still not at the end :) The story`s great I dont usually care about the story if the gameplay is good but I`ve been in tears twice with this story its so sad at bits but all in all this is the game to get if you like RPGS its well worth the money I would pay full price for this game its totally worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost Odyssey
Lost Odyssey by Microsoft (Xbox 360)
21.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews