Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wondefully ambient, deeply satisfying
From the lovingly smooth sweeping pads of '4.02' to the long drawn out crystalline vocals of '12.18', '76.14' is an album that should be experienced as a whole.
If you are looking for a musical experience that will relax the body and put the mind at peace then whether you have the volume down and sleep or alternatively turn it up and lose yourself then this...
Published on 15 Aug 2000

versus
3 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, straight forward, electric bliss.
Tom and Mark deliver another exceptional album. Although released when 'Ambient' music was still all the rage, they managered to produce a timeless album, which captured the best of the blissed electronica sound, sun soaked synth sounds, musical progression and melancholy chord changes, with out wasting time with wacky new age soundscapes or musical skits. They cut...
Published on 20 Jan 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wondefully ambient, deeply satisfying, 15 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 76:14 (Audio CD)
From the lovingly smooth sweeping pads of '4.02' to the long drawn out crystalline vocals of '12.18', '76.14' is an album that should be experienced as a whole.
If you are looking for a musical experience that will relax the body and put the mind at peace then whether you have the volume down and sleep or alternatively turn it up and lose yourself then this musical gala may be just what you have been looking for.
For anyone remotely interested in 'ambient' music '76.14' should certainly find a home on their shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOUNDSCAPES FROM EDEN, 16 Aug 2002
By 
JOHN SHERN (CARSHALTON, SURREY United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 76:14 (Audio CD)
Another landmark in the Ambient era of 1993.This album simply is stunning.Nocturnal listening of the highest order with angelic soothing pads,ticking clocks,mutterings of different languages etc. The album opens like Close encounters' Opening credits,eerie,dissonant chords,heralding one of many nameless tracks(all tracks titled by their running times...GENIUS)Allowing the listener to make his/her own envisions of a truly better place 'No Matter where you are!'...A truly beautiful Aural painting..PRICELESS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best British electronica album ever made..., 11 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 76:14 (Audio CD)
Without getting too hung up on genres (you could happily call "76.14" `ambient',`electronica' or `chill-out') suffice to say this record is the best British album of its kind ever made. Prior knowledge of Messrs Middleton and Pritchard's `other' recordings (as Reload or Jedi Knights amongst many others) is un-neccessary. Simply put the record on and marvel at the imagination is reveals. No title or track titles are necessary. There's a thematic continuity to it that simply transports the listener. It's one of those `perfect' albums that once heard become impossible to imagine having been done in any other way. The nearest comparison I can ever draw is to something like Pink Floyd's "Dark Side Of The Moon". Not a `whale song' or waves-lapping-on-a-beach in site! Pure Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contains greatest ever ambient track in the world ever, 12 Jan 2000
By 
This review is from: 76:14 (Audio CD)
Possibly the warmest wombiest ambient album I've heard. The album as a whole is a classic - one of those records like Screamadelica where the sounds don't date, and like Screamadelica it's hard to listen to any one track - you have to go the whole journey. That said, it contains one overarching masterpiece in Obsilon-Menos aka The Tick-Tock song. 20 minutes (counting intro) of swooned-out bliss, like being stuck in Spiritualized's air conditioning system or swimming off Heaven's Bahamas. One friend of mine described it as "like watching giant catapillars tromp towards the horizon" but you don't want to listen to her - she's talking rubbish. It's got to be said though that the track invites sublime/ridiculous grandiloquous (no, i can't spell) dribbling comparisons - you gotta hear it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first and last word in ambient electronica - stunning, 23 July 2001
This review is from: 76:14 (Audio CD)
There's no words that can do justice to this record, you just have to hear it. Every time I listen to it I am simply transported to a different realm. Individual tracks stand out on their own, such as the famed second track (featuring a ticking grandfather clock), but listen through the whole record and you're off on a journey through your mind.
As far as ambient goes, this is the best record I have heard, and I'm not holding my breath for a better one to come along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best ambient album ever, 16 Jun 2003
This review is from: 76:14 (Audio CD)
This is it. Thé best ambient album ever. I worked in a cd-shop for several years and sometimes you got people asking about ambient music. I had one move to make. Just pick out this cd and put it in a little bag with the message : listen to this after a hectic day or when you just want to relax and take little time of in space or some place where everything seems quiet and floating into perfection. I added the words : if U do not like it, we'll refund U. Well... everybody was back with compliments and with the question if we sold another cd of that kind of music. We had some things that came close but this was and still is truly the best ambient cd EVER !!! Eat your heart out Klaus Schülze and Tangerine Dream (great music as well !!)
To me it's simple... if I want to relax I put this on. And it's certainly not some mellow s**t... No, this is deep !! One of my favourites of all time. This is simply more than music, it's an experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic ambient album, 1 Jun 2002
By 
Jay M "jay_mc" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 76:14 (Audio CD)
One of the most perfect ambient albums. Some tracks do have beats but most songs are carried along by the melody or bassline.
Probably the best 'warm' ambient album, if you get my meaning, as opposed to the 'icy' ambient of Biosphere's 'Substrata'.
You really have to have this album in your collection, ambient fan or not. It's one of those all time classics, a trend-setting milestone. Check out the 'Tick-Tock' song, you get what I mean!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scientists discover pure ambience in CD form SHOCKER, 20 Nov 2003
By 
Simon J. Whight "fourfourfun" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 76:14 (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album from the era when ambient was at its peak, rank this alongside works like The Orb's Adventures Beyond The Ultraworld, KLF's Chill Out. Those who know of Tom Middleton will probably know of his work as Cosmos (spacey lovely house), Jedi Knights (nu-school breaks which inspired the likes of Adam Freeland) and his Sound Of The Cosmos mix (which is a blinding exercise in breaks, house and downtempo spread over 3CDs) ... or perhaps the even later Global Communications tracks The Way / The Deep which explored funky cosmic house. This, however, is as far detatched from the housey Middleton as possible. 76:15 follows the 'swirling ambience' template, beatless, seamless and atmospheric ... taking you on a journey from one end of the CD to the other. Take 9:39 for example, full of deep space cosmic bleeps, a hypnotic 'warrooooooom!' bass pulse, and eerie choral synths. Definately swirling ambience. There are some astoundingly beautiful moments on here too. 14:31 is plain gorgeous, a slowly ticking clock keeps the beat of the track while lush orchestral synths create a gorgeous uplifting mood. Its not all totally beatless, 9:25 has a gentle break that helps the track move along. Think Orb's Supanova At The End Of The Universe and you're pretty much there. 7:39 features almost Plaid-y Warp style synths, while 8:07 and 5:23 work hypnotic keys over deep pulsing Sasha style bassline stabs. 12:18 finishes off the album with more dramatic orchestral synth action like in 14:31 ... a top closer.
As you can tell, the entire album is named after the sum of its track times, with each track named after how long it is. Apparently to stop the listener having preconceptions about how the music sounds before they listen to it. A nice idea, this is an album you make your own concept for, your own story ... as opposed to The Orb's journey from Earth to the Ultraworld.
Thanks to the scattering of perkier tracks, the fades between tracks with ocean waves crashing, strange chattering voices, and the sheer lushness and quality of production, the album never gets boring, its a corker. If you're into your electronica, be it a Warp head, Orb fan, Orbial ... whatever, this is one to check! With Middleton being a bit of a funky house and breaks master recently, you could pass this by ... overlook it as 'unworthy'. Don't! Its probably one of the best chill albums you can buy.
If you want things with a bit more bump to them, or in fact something less spacial. Try heading to Middleton's later albums like the Jedi Knights Nu-School Science or the aforemention epic 3CD mix The Sound Of The Cosmos. Both quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 Feb 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 76:14 (Audio CD)
We used to play 12:18 when my wife was pregnant, and now when we play it again for our daughter, she just chills right out. Its almost as if she remembers it from somewhere... the track is exactly what you hope the inside of a womb sounds like, so dreamy and peaceful. In my opinion, this is even better than Howie B's "Music For Babies" for babies, if you get what I mean :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 76.14 just hits the G spot, 19 Aug 2003
By 
Johan De-silva "Mr Scruff" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 76:14 (Audio CD)
Martes by Murcof comes very close with its mix of classical instrements played in unorthodox way + layers of electronic blips and blobs but 76.14 is the best ambient album I own. I dont know why but 76.14 just hits the spot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

76:14
76:14 by Global Communication (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews