Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album yet?
Although Swagger comes close, Float has instantly become my favourite FM album. I pray the next one is this classy.

1. Requiem For A Dying Song:
This track is powerful and catchy, I first heard it several months before Swagger was released performed acoustically and loved it. Hard hitting, but some might say a little 'greenday', of course, those people...
Published on 2 Aug. 2008 by Sir Squidshaker

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Treading water, drinking watered down whiskey...
Dave King is an erudite and obviously intelligent soul but he's trying far too hard to squeeze his education into the good time Oirish punk rock Flogging Molly produce.

He takes well worn cliches, gives them a twist and fails. Adding a spin or trying to create new ones just drags the whole Flogging Molly experience down. It's something that has hampered every...
Published on 13 Mar. 2008 by Sera69


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album yet?, 2 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Float (Audio CD)
Although Swagger comes close, Float has instantly become my favourite FM album. I pray the next one is this classy.

1. Requiem For A Dying Song:
This track is powerful and catchy, I first heard it several months before Swagger was released performed acoustically and loved it. Hard hitting, but some might say a little 'greenday', of course, those people need their ears checked.

2. (No More) Paddy's Lament
I'm still debating whether their label got the apostrophe right on "Paddy's" but with a song this good it's hard to care.

3. Float
A slow acoustic number, stays with you long after you stop listening to it.

4. You Won't Make A Fool Out Of Me
I didn't like this one as much as some of the others, but still a hit in the Squidshaker camp.

5. Lightning Storm
Probably my favourite, the accordion is right on the money. I actually have this on my Myspace page. It replaced the Lazytown cake song, so you know it's good.

6. Punch Drunk Grinning Soul
Terrific, and the best name of an FM song since 'The worst day since yesterday'. Top notch, rather bitter tune.

7. Us Of Lesser Gods
The sweet soulful number, lots of panpipes/flute.

8. Between A Man And A Woman
I don't quite like the lyrics of this, but the instruments are amongst the best on the album. Can't complain!

9. On The Back Of A Broken Dream
By far the best Chorus on the album without contest. Sample this song if you're still unsure, you may be wooh'd over.

The other two tracks are brilliant. Pick up a copy now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only buy one Flogging Molly album, buy this, 4 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Float (Audio CD)
Having read the first review on here, sorry to disagree.

This is a varied album with songs that really get into your head. Each track is strong in it's own way and if I am to pass criticism, the whole album feels too short and over to quickly. Previous albums have been a roller coaster of strong and weak tracks, the songwriting is strong and the pace is kept just right on this album and there are there is no loss of momentum leaving the listener reaching for the skip button.

True the opening lyric to the album "there's a government whip cracked across your back" is a bit of a cringer, but after this the lyrics get better, making perfect sense on many songs, but the raw emotion of "Float" and the power build up to the thrashing punk-folk crescendo of "Punch drunk grinning soul" are what the band are all about.

Putting lyrics to one side and talking about the sound of the band collectively, the hardest thing for Flogging Molly to do is to step out of the shadow of their influences. Float, more than any other album drives them in a direction further away from their obvious Pogues influence. The drums and bass and guitar are sharp and crisp and work together tightly like a modern punk band, with the mandolin, fiddle, and accordion parts adding a navvie's shovel load of Irish flavour.

FM are finding their sound more than ever. I'd recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing album - pure Flogging Molly, 9 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Float (MP3 Download)
I bought this album on a whim with some Amazon vouchers - I've been a Flogging Molly fan for about 5 years, but never really listened to Float. After seeing them live in Cardiff, I wanted to hear more of their stuff so bought this for a bargain £2 (it's worth so much more!) For anyone who's a fan and, like me, somehow managed to avoid hearing Float, get it now! The beautiful lyrics, stomping rhythms and Dave King's evocative voice are all here...Float is pure Flogging Molly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 8 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Float (Audio CD)
I have loved FM for years and was really looking forward to this album. It is not as great as Drunken Lullabies or Swagger, but is still good. Favourite tracks are (No More) Paddy's Lament and Float, but not a fan of Us of Lesser Gods.

Well worth buying, and can't wait to see them live in the UK again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new dawn, a newly invigourated Molly, 29 Mar. 2008
By 
Mr. Nick Coaker "colecooley" (Dartmoor) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Float (Audio CD)
This album is the seventh piece of art attributed to Flogging Molly, everything included. It does not fail, it is not sounding stale, it sounds like what it is, a band who have found their niche, fine-tuned it, and got better. The album marks a turning point, as it is the first recorded in the home of Dave King and Briget Regan (a wonderful pair), Ireland. It has some real touches of the classic style, as well as the benchmark riffs and high-speed playing.

There are no stand out tracks, they are all brilliant. Their ability to open an album on a blaster and close with a sentimental ode has not changed, and why should it? It's a signature now, like the themes, drink, death, Ireland, love, and the Irish-American dream.

Finally, thank the boys (and girl) for putting Between a Man and a Woman to record. With only Never met a Girl Like You Before to get studio treatment, we're almost done. I love this album, but then I love Flogging Molly. All that without a bloody Pogues comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yet another excellent album from this band, 6 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Float (Audio CD)
This is the third album by this band I've listened to. I remain of the same opinion after listening to it - they are a good entertaining band, well worth listening to and I want to hear more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Treading water, drinking watered down whiskey..., 13 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Float (Audio CD)
Dave King is an erudite and obviously intelligent soul but he's trying far too hard to squeeze his education into the good time Oirish punk rock Flogging Molly produce.

He takes well worn cliches, gives them a twist and fails. Adding a spin or trying to create new ones just drags the whole Flogging Molly experience down. It's something that has hampered every Molly album, just as you're getting into it a lyric jars and you're left thinking ??? when all you want is simple heartfelt passion.

That said, if you like their previous stuff you'll enjoy this, it's by no means a bad album but don't expect a 'Black Friday Rule' or 'Rebels of the Sacred Heart' or even a 'Tobacco Island'. It's a pale shadow compared to anything from 'Drunken Lullabies' or 'Swagger'.

I love Flogging Molly but Dave King has to stop trying; Drink yer Guinness, down yr whiskey and don't start recording the next Molly album until you can't stand up/yr mind's a blank... Because what Flogging Molly need is a dunderheaded thug roaring "My heart belongs to Ireland" or "I'll never hurt you Molly, my love. Not again" with that wry Shane MacGowen glance askance that tells us all that, soon as the little woman's put out, she'll feel the back of my hand! (And she, bless her, will love her man no matter what.) I'm talking passion; rightly or wrongly.

They don't need another album of borrowed cliches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as previous albums!, 31 July 2008
By 
A. R. Bond "Bond" (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Float (Dig) (Audio CD)
I personally prefer the livelier Flogging Molly from albums like Swagger and Drunken Lullabies. I just don't think Float is quite right for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Float
Float by Flogging Molly (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews