Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sabaton: The Art of Metal!, 6 Jun 2008
By 
Richard Leaman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art Of War (Audio CD)
The fourth Sabaton album continues the development of this most talented of bands. Although the first three albums are all excellent, displaying a unique quality from their very first release, "The Art of War" is their best album so far. Stirring anthems mixed with powerful and poignant lyrics, all delivered by a first class band and what must be one of the very best metal singers in the business today.

The idea of explaining each of the songs using Sun Tzu's is masterful, showing that the obsession with war and the tragedy that it represents is part of the human condition. We have never learnt from the mistakes of previous wars, or is it just that we never want to? You can't help but revel in the glory of the exploits described in some of the songs, but you also feel the pain and pointlessness of the sacrifice of so many young lives. How many albums have that much power?

Of particular mention on the album, "Ghost Division" is another heart pounding opening song that easily matches the songs "Primo Victoria" and "Atterro Dominatus" in terms of quality. "40:1" and "Talvisota" are both songs that inspire wonder at the actions of fighting men, and do it with pure heavy metal beating throughout. But the best song for me is "The Price of a Mile", a song about Paschendale which manages to show the futility and despair of that most heinous of battles.

If you like your metal powerful, full of strong guitars and dominant vocals, you will love this album. This is a quite magnificent album, and I'd recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 27 Aug 2008
By 
S. Chowdhury (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art Of War (Audio CD)
Since I discovered this band about a month ago, I have been listening to their songs nonstop. I recently purchased the Limited Edition version of this CD which comes with a book called "The Art of War" by Sun Tzu.

This is one of the best power metal bands out there. Even when compared with bands old and new.

Two of my favorite songs on the CD; 40:1 which is a song about WWII and how the Polish army were really outnumbered 40:1 yet they kept the German army at bay for a long time. Anyone who is Polish should listen to this track, it is very uplifting. Second track is Cliffs of Gallipoli, lyrically this track is amazing. This track is about the battle of Gallipoli in 1915 in which thousands of solders lost their lives due to stupidity. Some quotes of the lyrics "Oh mothers wipe your tears your sons will rest a million years", "Young men were sacrificed their names are carved in stone and kept alive" and "There is no enemy there is no victory".

Being a guitar player myself I have got to say that the music is of a very high technical standard. Some of the riffs and solos are best I've heard in many years.

Just have a listen you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of a near perfect album, 13 Nov 2008
By 
Czech's Mate (Wellingborough UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art Of War (Audio CD)
read some reviews of this album in the music press before buying and whilst they were very complimentary, they understate the magnificence of this album. Based on the book the art of war it is 1) A concept album which actually works (unusual)2) full of crashing riffs 3) has Rousing Choruses and 4) there's not a duff track on the album. Personal favourites are Ghost Division and 40:1 which is the highlight of the album. Credit crunch or not go out and but this album. WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art Of War (MP3 Download)
good old fashioned metal meets quotes from sun tzu a jovial romp through the terror and mass death of war and conflict
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible band, awesome album, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art Of War (MP3 Download)
I don't own all of Sabaton's back catalogue yet so I can't contrast it...

However I can tell you it is incredible, they remind me of Maiden in many ways. From the very first song the sheer intense epicness of this album will blow away all metal fans who hear it.

Don't let the 'power metal' tag put you off, this isn't anything like power metal as its generally seen. Ghost diviision, 40:1, the art of war, panzerfaust, price of a mile, swedish pagans are all amongst the greatest songs around today.

If you are bored of bands that scream unintelligably into a mic followed by a whiny bitchy chorus for 12 4 minute tracks each album, then give this a go! If you love Maiden and all the classic bands and have been waiting for a new hero to arise, then this might just be what you are looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art Of War (Audio CD)
Bought this as a gift for a Sabaton fan. It was very much appreciated. It arrived very quickly and was cheaper than buying from high street stores
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scandinavian Metal Par Excellence, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Audio CD)
Sabaton are one of a kind producing stirriing metal music with military connotations. Don't let that put you off as they write fantastic songs, generally heavy yet melodic with a few slower pieces for balance. Although there are so many great tracks special mention must be made for 'Price of a Mile' about the futility of First World War battles. The poignant lyrics are bound up in an incredible tune with a brilliant chorus. I find their whole sound unique, and the vocals, well they have to be heard to be believed. This is a re-issued version of the CD with bonus tracks and highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great CD but???, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Audio CD)
Music is great but the female voice and spoken word is so irritating .At least downloading onto the ipod gives you the option of deleting most of it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT/PHENOMENAL, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Audio CD)
W 0 W. Way beyond BRILLIANT I cant rate SABATON HIGH ENOUGH I havent stop listening to this album since it arrive even though they are swedish you can understand every word he sings and the lyrics are out of this world in just sheer brilliance and geniusI have listened to SABATONS other songs and I will not hesitate to buy any other of their albums my only regret it that I HADNT DISCOVERED THEM YEARS AGO UNDOUBTEDLY THE BEST METAL GROUP I HAVE HEARD FOR ALNG TIME. LONG LIFE/REIGN SABATON
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Superior Songs, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Audio CD)
So this this the 3rd Sabaton Album I have brought, and the first since seeing them live in October. And it is probably my favourite one of the 3 I own [Carlous Rex, Primo Victoria and now The Art of War]

It is a concept album in so far as all the songs are related to chapters or quotes from Sun Tzu's "The Art of War". Each song deals with battles were Sun Tzu's tactics were either sucessfully applied, or the failings of battles where his warnings were not adhered to.

The album starts with a spoken word introduction "Sun Tzu Says" before launching into the pounding assult of "Ghost Division." If there was an aural equivilant to being bombarded by tank fire, this song would be it with one of the most pounding drum lines I've ever heard in power metal. It's fast and furious with one of the best sing along choruses I've ever heard. The next song is the albums title track "The Art of War" a more mid-paced, keyboard driven affair with its shout along "That's the Art of War!".

The next song on the album is probably my favourite song; the mighty 40:1. Another fast paced song, it is designed to make you roar along like a loon, and with lyrics like "Spirit of Spartans! Death and Glory!" its one of the most defiant songs I've ever heard. But defiant in a mature and rousing way, and not teenage angst.

"Unbreakable" is next, a fairly slow somber song, with some haunting keyboards that give it the sinister overtone apt for a song about Ambush tactics. There is another spoken interlude "The Nature of Warfare" before the albums first big ballards "Cliffs of Gillipoli" laments the failings of this historic world war one battle.

"Talvisota" is next, a mid paced stomper about the Finnish army destroying Stalins forces when he tried invade. "Panzerkampf" is a brilliant song, again a rousing sing along chorus, singing the glories of the Soviet Union in 1943 who turned back Hitlers forces, destroying a large chunk of his army, and effectively begining the defeat for Reich.

"Union [Slopes of St Benedict]" is another stormer, and probably my second favourite song on this album. The call to arms for nations fighting together is an incrediibly rousing one, and also highlights the strengths of joining as one, as opposed to trying to face adversitary alone.

"Price of a Mile" is the second big ballard on this album, and tells the harrowing tale of the trenches in the fields of Pachendale. The drums are set to a marching pace, giving you the impression of thousands of soilders marching on. It's a tastefully done song about the horrors of that war, and acknowledges the price these men paid in a way thats respectful to their memories and an acknowledgement of their sacrifice and bravery.

"Firestorm" is next, a mid-pace song about the horrors of bombing towns and cities, again overlaced with some atmospheric keyboards.

"A Secret" is a spoken word outro, and rounds off the orginal album, however I brought the Re-Armed edition with 4 bonus tracks: Swedish Pagans [a rousing number about the Vikings], Glorious Land [A mid-paced rager about defending your land no matter the cost] along with a demo version of "The Art of War" and a live version of the Swedish National Anthem.

Sabaton are quickly gaining a reputation as a band for their brilliant albums and live shows. Their albums are far and away some of the best power metal albums I've ever heard, and I think this fact is showing with an audience that is begining to branch out from the power metal fans and into fans of other genres as well. I think this is ultimately down to the fact that Sabaton write great songs. Also, having seen them live, I can safely they are one of the best acts live I've ever seen. Their tragectory seems ever upwards at the moment, and prehaps that fact alone shows that they are a band that have fought the battles to become one of the biggest and best and are emerging victorius.

Even if you are not a power metal fan [and I am certainly not] I would recommened Sabaton, and definately this album. And if you get the chance, go and see them live, their amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art Of War
The Art Of War by Sabaton (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews