Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of these reviewers just don't get what the presidents are all about!
Yes, the songs are samey if you wan to over-analyse them. However, eclectic music is not what the presidents are all about! If you want to have a laugh and a dance to yet another great album from the presidents, then buy this or their self-titled album.
There is a fun energy throughout this album, which ends as quickly as it started.
Buy this album now, then go...
Published on 25 April 2008 by Mr. C. Dransfield

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same. No bad thing.
Dated. I realise this isn't a great thing to say about a relatively new album, but there is no way of really describing this mid-90s-pop-punk sound - a number of the tracks certainly put me in mind of some of Green Day's early works.

But throw in some geuinely catchy numbers, particularly the opener 'Mixed Up SOB', ska-punk brass backing and some great lyrics...
Published on 27 Feb 2010 by T. Richards


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of these reviewers just don't get what the presidents are all about!, 25 April 2008
By 
Mr. C. Dransfield "Christian" (Liskeard, Cornwall (UK)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: These Are The Good Times People (Audio CD)
Yes, the songs are samey if you wan to over-analyse them. However, eclectic music is not what the presidents are all about! If you want to have a laugh and a dance to yet another great album from the presidents, then buy this or their self-titled album.
There is a fun energy throughout this album, which ends as quickly as it started.
Buy this album now, then go and see them live, as they are just as good live!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crazy name, crazy guys, 21 Mar 2008
By 
C. Hatfield (Leafy Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: These Are The Good Times People (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Ok, brace yourself. I'm going to use the word 'eclectic'. Yes that is a word. Not a particularly original one, unlike the lyrics on this album. I was listening to this over and over taking them in each time and, yes it is an entertaining lyrical adventure they are having here. Unfortunately the tunes they are hung on are not as original as the lyrics, which is why I'm not giving them a full complement of stars.

Having said that they are catchy enough to keep you listening. From the opener of 'deleter' to the greenday-esque 'Mixed up SOB' I would classify this as good summer driving music, so hang in there it's worth persevering. It's just never going to be a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great summer album..., 20 Mar 2008
By 
Simon McMahon "Film Buff" (Chelmsford, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: These Are The Good Times People (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I haven't heard anything from the Presidents of the USA since way back when they released Peaches... but I thought I'd give this a go, and boy am I please I did...

If you're after feel good rock, then this could be for you. Though I must admit it did sound very 90's to me, I found myself transported back to the summer of 96/97. Whether that's a good thing in a band or if it's a sign of stagnating evolution I couldn't say... the fact it I just really enjoyed the light funky rock on this album...

This is an essential summer album, great to listen to on days when the sun is shining, and when it's not it still manages to summon up that summer feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More fun than you could shake a stick at., 20 Mar 2008
By 
Curlynob (Eastleigh, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: These Are The Good Times People (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Presidents of The United States of America return with what might be their best record yet. It's clever, incredibly catchy and in places wonderfully silly. American bands like TPOTYSOA, Fountains of Wayne and Nada Surf do this sort of very American Power-Pop, very well. There's a wonderful eclectic mix of styles here, from the fast three chord rock of Mixed Up SOB, the strutting acoustic drive of More Bad Times and the bluegrass country swagger of Truckstop Butterfly to the wonderful jazzy horn section of Flame Is Love. It's a record that leaves me continually amazed at the amount of ideas coming out of the speakers. Seriously tight playing, wonderful inventive arangements and a great atitude - the ball is not dropped for a single second! It's a wonderful life afirming record and the best thing i've bought in ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same. No bad thing., 27 Feb 2010
By 
T. Richards (Kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: These Are The Good Times People (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Dated. I realise this isn't a great thing to say about a relatively new album, but there is no way of really describing this mid-90s-pop-punk sound - a number of the tracks certainly put me in mind of some of Green Day's early works.

But throw in some geuinely catchy numbers, particularly the opener 'Mixed Up SOB', ska-punk brass backing and some great lyrics and you've got to wonder whether 'dated' is such a bad thing. The sound clearly works for them, and as such 'These Are The Good Times People' comes across as a very complete, tidy album; a slightly more mature sound than, say, Green Day or Less Than Jake.

It's perhaps just a shame that The Presidents aren't making any new ground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same from the Presidents, but in a good way, 30 Jan 2010
By 
jacr100 "jacr100" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: These Are The Good Times People (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you like the Presidents' previous offerings, you'll probably be a fan of this album. Most of the songs revolve around strange female characters who need some love and attention, or cartoon-like bugs and animals. On the nature front, there's the funky good "Ladybug" that is reminiscent of such former classics as "Boll Weevil." There's also the acoustic country-boogie of "Truckstop Butterfly" and the perfect power pop of "Poor Turtle." And in the best mix of messed-up chicks and nature, there is the new wave/garage rock-tinged "Sharpen Up Those Fangs". Here, PUSA touches on a lot of the same ideas that all those other bands try to make a career out of, yet they present it in a surreal, funky glow that proves all that teenage drama isn't worth getting hung about. It's good to still have these guys around after all this time, just doing their own thing. More of the same please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars better and better, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Ms. V. R. Parker (Uckfield, East Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
All fans of P.U.S.A bow down! This band just get better and better with time, though the style of this album is ever so lightly different, the essence of what makes them amazing is still there. 'These are the good times people' is still wacky, origional and fun. You'd be an idiot to miss out on this album. It seems they have used a female artist in one or two of the songs which just makes it that bi more special becasue it really does work. Get this now and you'll love it forever!!! P.U.S.A's amazing and this album does them so much justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars dull, 23 Jan 2009
By 
Daniel Dalton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: These Are The Good Times People (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
lump was ok for one listen, some of the other bits of the eponymous album passable; this is not: this is vapid, uninspired, a bit noisy, and boring. avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Oh no....I mean Oh yes!", 11 Jan 2009
This review is from: These Are The Good Times People (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
"Oh no", I thought as soon as track 1 ("Mixed Up SOB") kicked off. "Weezer meets Offspring and produces ghastly pop-punk lovechild".
But then the feet started tapping with track 2 and by the end of this album I was wondering what I'd been missing all these years.
Not so much lovechild of "Weezer meets Offspring" as "Violent Femmes meets Cake". Apologies to established Presidents... fans if they think this comparison belittles the band but rest assured on the basis of this offering I'll be seeking out some more of their stuff. Witty lyrics, cracking tunes and quite addictive. Marvellous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars So-so, 24 Dec 2008
By 
Christopher Morris "twister84" (North East England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: These Are The Good Times People (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Amusing and catchy, moreso than one might expect this far into their career - but there's nothing to keep you coming back beyond a few spins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

These Are The Good Times People
These Are The Good Times People by The Presidents of The United States of America (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews