Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An authentic and wonderfully entertaining rendition
I was a bit uncertain at the beginning of this film as to how "authentic" this performance might be. I need not have worried. The film is a superb rendering of the opera, closely following Wagner's libretto and very prescriptive stage directions, unlike some staged performances on DVD which mess around with Wagners stated intentions. The imaginative effects enhance the...
Published on 30 Oct. 2009 by J. Rippon

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing filmed version.
Wagner - Der Fliegende Hollaender [1975]

Except for the presence of Donald McIntyre as the Dutchman and some quite impressive storm sequences in the first act there is little to recommend this budget production with very routine performances (to be kind).

The film quality is good, the lip sych poor, and the singers obviously having trouble getting...
Published on 1 Aug. 2008 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An authentic and wonderfully entertaining rendition, 30 Oct. 2009
By 
J. Rippon (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner - Der Fliegende Holländer [DVD] [1975] [2008] (DVD)
I was a bit uncertain at the beginning of this film as to how "authentic" this performance might be. I need not have worried. The film is a superb rendering of the opera, closely following Wagner's libretto and very prescriptive stage directions, unlike some staged performances on DVD which mess around with Wagners stated intentions. The imaginative effects enhance the story-telling in a manner of which Wagner would certainly have approved. The casting is superb. It was fascinating to see a relatively young Donald McIntyre as the Dutchman; his wonderful bass-baritone as powerful and authoritative as in his more recent performances as Wotan. Catarina Ligendza is a particularly convincing Senta with a voice to match her very striking physical beauty. I was particularly impressed by Herrman Winkler's Eric. This character is often portrayed as a rather subsidiary figure and frankly, a bit of a wuss. Winkler's very powerful and rich tenor, coupled with very impressive acting imbued his role with real significance and tragedy. Some (real) critics point out that this opera is perhaps the least "Wagnerian" of his operas and therefore in some way inferior to his later works. I would agree that it is obviously less earnest and philosophical than his other operas but all the more entertaining for that. The third act is almost like Gilbert and Sullivan in terms of wonderfully catchy tunes, amusing libretto and exuberant action by a large chorus. It really is great fun and a revelation to anyone who is only familiar with Wagner's later, more heavy operas. My only (slight) reservation is that the lip-sync is sometimes a little wayward and the actors facial expressions do not always accurately reflect the more intense emotions of the voice. This was probably unavoidable given the technology available in 1975 and the difficulty of having to mime to particularly passionate and expressive music. However, that said, it does not diminish the pleasure of a fantastic performance. This film is a brilliantly conceived and performed version of a most entertaining opera and would be an ideal introduction to the works of Wagner for those unfamiliar with his operas. I am sure that I will watch this DVD over and over, especially when I could do with being cheered up! Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but also musically excellent, 18 April 2010
By 
P. Markham "PM" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner - Der Fliegende Holländer [DVD] [1975] [2008] (DVD)
Considering that it was made in 1975 this film version of one of Wagner's most approachable operas has excellent picture quality and sound. The orchestra and singers are outstanding. Particularly good are Donald McIntyre as the Dutchman, Catarina Ligendza as Senta and Bengt Rundgren, rich-voiced as Senta's father. The acting is generally very good and the production is excellent, really conveying the true feel of opera but still presenting a visually exciting and interesting drama for the screen. There are moments where the special effects are not quite what one would expect today and occasionally it is obvious that this is a studio production, but I was surprised how rarely this became apparent in a film from 1975. I was pleasantly surprised by how engaging and entertaining this film is whilst remaining absolutely authentic and true to Wagner's vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly stormy production, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner - Der Fliegende Holländer [DVD] [1975] [2008] (DVD)
I first saw a performance of this opera many years ago at Sadler's Wells, with a very young Donald MacIntyre singing sublimely as the Steersman. On this DVD he has matured into the title role and gives an outstanding performance. This production is filmed realistically instead of being a stage production in an opera house, and benefits enormously from this. It convinces as the performers on board the two ships really are soaked by the spray, and any theatre production would find it difficult to compete. I recall that at Sadler's Wells the way that the Dutchman's ship made its entrance was totally convincing - I nearly fell off my seat as I thought the ship was going to sail right into the stalls. A month later I saw the same opera at Covent Garden, and all that inferior production could offer was a bare platform that rocked and did nothing for the viewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing filmed version., 1 Aug. 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wagner - Der Fliegende Holländer [DVD] [1975] [2008] (DVD)
Wagner - Der Fliegende Hollaender [1975]

Except for the presence of Donald McIntyre as the Dutchman and some quite impressive storm sequences in the first act there is little to recommend this budget production with very routine performances (to be kind).

The film quality is good, the lip sych poor, and the singers obviously having trouble getting inside their roles miming in a film studio. Even the sound gives a hard metallic edge to the voices.

Almost any opera house based performance is preferable, I particularly like the 1989 Savonlinna Opera festival production with its dramatic setting.

Unless you are a McIntyre fan try something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Early Wagner, 10 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner - Der Fliegende Holländer [DVD] [1975] [2008] (DVD)
While carefully conforming the three act offParisian opera, Wagner begins ti incorporate his ideas for leitmotifs and eliminating arias. This musical drama holds the germs of his ultimate intentions. Early productions had problems with The Swan and other problems to depict strange and magical transformations. This production reflects how some of these problems were solved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Der Fliegende Hollander, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner - Der Fliegende Holländer [DVD] [1975] [2008] (DVD)
I thought this was a really splendid film. I particularly enjoyed the performance of Ligendza in the role of Senta, which is the best I've heard since Anja Silja. The orchestral sound also came through very clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 2 May 2014
By 
M. Taplin "mikekoi" (Weston-super-Mare, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner - Der Fliegende Holländer [DVD] [1975] [2008] (DVD)
All operatic performances are classic in scale and some due to antiquity are classic in spirit. This is such a one. It is an enjoyable performance, with stirring music and some bravura moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wagner - Der Fliegende Holländer [DVD] [1975] [2008]
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews