Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The game begins with you
Bright, colourful, funky and refreshing. The World Ends with You jumps out and hits you like a cold shower in a turgid swamp of grime. Square have cleaned the land of random battles, grinding and the general choreish nature of many RPGs and taken a whole new approach.

The story is set in modern times and the basic premise is that you find your character Neku...
Published on 2 Mar 2009 by G. Hanks

versus
15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not what i was hoping for
Upon reading the numerous five star reviews for this game, i searched and searched until i found a copy and rushed home to play it. However, after playing it for several hours over several days, i finally decided this game wasnt going anywhere.
The graphics are brilliant, and the two screen system is utilized brilliantly, making this game a visual gem.
This is...
Published on 17 Jan 2009 by H. keningale


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The game begins with you, 2 Mar 2009
By 
G. Hanks "hanks1980" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The World Ends With You (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Bright, colourful, funky and refreshing. The World Ends with You jumps out and hits you like a cold shower in a turgid swamp of grime. Square have cleaned the land of random battles, grinding and the general choreish nature of many RPGs and taken a whole new approach.

The story is set in modern times and the basic premise is that you find your character Neku awakening in an alternate Shibuya, with no memory and where only certain people can see him and he has 7 days to live. In a very small nutshell that's the basics of the story and all you need to know really, it's best to let this one fold out with as few preconceptions as possible. Be assured though that the story is both original and of high quality and, along with the visual style, quite unique. The visuals themselves are very impressive and although they don't look like they're pushing the DS to its limits they are certainly distinctive and great to look at. Think Manga-esque with the cel-shaded jagged edges and heavy black outlines of Jet Set Radio except in pure comic book 2D.

Combat takes place in real time and is actually initiated by the player rather than completely random. From initiating the fight you are taken into battle mode where you can control two characters, one on each screen. The bottom screen is controlled using the stylus to use certain equipped "pins" that allow Neku to attack the enemies on his screen in a variety of different ways. On the top screen you use the D-pad or face buttons (if left-handed) to attack the same characters but they are also represented as separate entities on the top screen. It's quite hard to describe and certainly takes some time to get used to controlling two screens at once. Should you require it though you can elect to have the computer take care of the top screen action whilst you focus on the battle below.

Levelling up takes place for both your characters and also the pins that Neku equips. The more you use pins the stronger they get and with over 300 pins to collect in the game there are a hell of a lot of options to customise your deck and find your favourite tactic for taking on the enemies.

This is by far one of the best games to grace the DS and contains many hours of game time to boot with a lot of replay value. Trying to collect all the pins in the game will likely take longer than a thorough play through of such Behemoth sized games as Oblivion. I managed to clock up 200 hours playtime and still hadn't completed everything that the game had to offer.

Games like this should be encouraged as it is seldom that such brave experiments and innovations are tested in today's mainstream risk adverse gaming market. It is safe to say that this experiment has certainly paid off by providing gamers with a rich, unique and vibrant experience unlike no other to grace a handheld.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best RPG on the DS, bar none people!, 19 May 2008
By 
C. Wells "ex.one UK" (Lincs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The World Ends With You (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Unbelievably lacking in hype, The World Ends With You is unequivocally the best RPG out now for the Nintendo DS. Why? Because any game that continually draws you deeper and deeper into its story and constantly draw you deeper and deeper into the game mechanics deserves all the praise it so rightfully earns itself.

You play as grumpy, irritating teenager Neku Sakuraba who has apparently just died and been planted into the world of UG Shibuya. You must survive seven days literally in a game of life or death by completing set missions that are sent to you each day. Failure to complete the mission by any of the players taking part means instant deletion.

The game has you pairing up with several characters, who appears on the top screen whilst Neku appears on the touchscreen, and has ou battling against evil monsters called 'Noise' who are essentially there to try and delete you. However, there are also the Reapers, who organise this little game (little game, who are we kidding? THEY'RE ALL GONNA DIE!) - their mission? To kill you basically.

Amazingly, despite a fairly dark undertone, the story is actually quite charming and occasionally light-hearted. There are some good characters and some fantastic character development - you may start hating Neku but you warm to him after a while as he opens up and stops being such a jackass - and some wonderful NPCs to contend with.

What really sells the game is the wonderful array of gameplay mechanics involved - there are far too many to list - all of them are perfectly implemented, never feeling forced, and always leave you wanting to know what's next. It's a deeply rewarding system and the combat, while initially confusing and difficult to master, almost becomes second nature.

It is far too fantastic a game to NOT recommend to anyone. I don't care if you don't like RPGs, I would fully recommend this to everyone I know if I had the chance to.

Here I am: The World Ends With You is the most incredible experience on the DS so far. I am saying this without hyperbole. No other game has had me up so long at night wanting to just level up. Brilliant under all circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another 5 star review!, 25 Sep 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The World Ends With You (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Being new to the DS which I got a few months ago I was getting very bored with Brain Training every day and started searching for a RPG and saw the excellent reviews for The World Ends With You. I must say it is every bit as good as everyone says. Completely addictive and a great storyline. As previously mentioned the dual play takes a little getting used to but it is great practising and you will win stuff along the way which will help you out. One piece of advice - keep saving as much as you can - you don't want to lose your hard work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am completely loving this game, 7 May 2008
By 
Adam D. Bisset (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Ends With You (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Amazing graphics, complex and imaginative storyline, developed characters, innovative use of the DS dual-screen capabilities all combine in this interactive manga RPG. It's great to look at and excellent to play. Highly recommended for people who like RPGs with an interesting story.

Only downside is that the fighting elements are a bit repetitive, but once you've climbed the learning curve they don't have to take too long, and you earn new skills on the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best game ever made, 9 Jun 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The World Ends With You (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I own almost 300 games on 7 different gaming platforms but this game beats them all hands down, I bought this game 2 months ago and I can't stop playing it, i could barely turn it off to write this review.

this game's battle mode is unique and incredibily enjoyable.
Unlike most games where the fighting is great the story is also fascinating with twists and turns I never saw coming, this has got to be the best game ever made, 5* doesn't do it justice.

I have played and completed it about 10 times now and I'm still not getting tired of it. If you're only going to buy 1 game this decade make sure it's this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Wonderful World, 31 Jan 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The World Ends With You (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
The RPG genre of games is easily one of the most popular of gaming with its home country of Japan esentially living off them. It is also easily the genre that is the most stale. Little progress has been made in the years of its genres excistance in both themes, environments and battle system. The World Ends With You (TWEWY) is finally here to help revitalse the RPG concept.

TWEWY or It's a Wonderful World as it's known in Japan is based around main character Neku, a spiky haired 15 year old who loves graffiti but prefers to isolate himself from society. After getting sucked into the Reaper's Game he soon finds that he must partner up to survive in this strange world where he must compete in the Reapers games or face deletion. The plot can be boiled down to amnesia, friendship and self improvement, typical of the JRPG; thankfully the well designed characters means what's next is always of paromount interest.

Taking place in a faithful recreation of Shibuya, Tokyo the player quickly learns that due to their particibation in the Reapers game the local residents are not aware of their presence. Exploration of the environment can be accomplished with the D-pad or stylus depending on taste but it's the battles where the game really shows its uniqueness. Instead of turn based battles the player actively searches out the enemy, Noise as they are called before engaging in combat. Played on both screens control of Neku is handled via the stylus while is partner is controlled on the top screen via the D-pad. It's a unique system that takes a while to get used to but once adjusted becomes remarkibly enjoyable.

Though the environment isn't amazingly expansive with players having to frequently revisit other sections of the game world repetition is lowered somewhat by how each area offers something new and exciting to keep the plot flowing, whether it be a pin slamming mini-game or a new enemy. Replay value is also added via the pin system. Neku uses special pins while in battle which can be swapped and mixed to create new attack scenerios; the promise of hard to find pins and how they evolve adds to already engrossing battle system.

One cannot finish without mentioning the engrossing soundtrack which is compossed of hip-hop mixed with J-Pop to create interesting pieces which suit the art direction and general style focused gameplay. Fast paced one minute, slow and drama building the next it is clear that time was well spend into making the music sync with the game.

TWEWY is easily the best RPG on the DS and is well worth investing in. Though the story can be too traditional the characters are engrossing and the art direction is original. Add a one-of-a-kind battle system and some great music and we have an example of what all RPG's should be attempting: something fresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars intuitive gameplay and interesting story, 2 Oct 2013
By 
Alice Stolarski (Jülich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Ends With You (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
this game has nice graphics and a really cool soundtrack, the story is kinda unusual but very cool. the gameplay uses mostly the touchscreen instead of the buttons, the top screen is used to to control your partner. fighting is quite fast, but doesn't get boring as you always get new attacks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tricky to get the hang of but overall quite fun, 9 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Ends With You (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I bought this game after being told it was a puzzle game but it turned out it was an RPG. I'm not very good at Role-Playing games, I could never really get into them, so for the first few hours I didn't enjoy playing it much. I couldn't get the hang of the battles and I didn't understand what was going on in the story because it was rather abstract. I continued playing anyway and I'm glad I did because soon enough the controls for the battles were becoming easier and the story was actually going somewhere. Pretty soon I was hooked and played right to the end. I think the thing that kept me going in the beginning was the graphics; I love the manga style and the weird character designs. There is a fair bit of dialogue to read along the way but not half as much as some games. Anyway, considering I don't like RPGs I enjoyed this game a lot and would recommend it. If you are not used to playing RPGs, just keep playing it and eventually you'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 8 May 2010
By 
Miss L. Bruce-Kerr (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The World Ends With You (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
The World Ends With You is probably the best game available on the DS. It's accessible and enjoyable for everyone- the plot is insanely addictive and interesting; while the battle system is not only unique and enjoyable, but also fun and adjustable. And that doesn't even describe half of the game.

Unbelievably under-rated and unknown, this game is a rare gem- it's exciting enough to play over and over again without boredom. In fact, playing the game is really only half the fun- Tin Pin Slammer is a brilliantly addictive mini-game, not to mention the post-game extras- I won't spoil those for you. Even more unusual is the strong message in the game- I won't spoil that for you, either. There's so much that's interesting and amazing about this game, from the art and the storyline to the extra details like clothing and fusion attacks.

It's impossible for me to list all the things that make this game so awesome- all I can say is "Play it! Find out for yourself!" because The World Ends With You is a game simply not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best RPG since Tales of Symphonia, 4 Jan 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The World Ends With You (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
What can I say about this stunning masterpiece of a video game... Where to start I wonder... Ok after hours of playing this amazing game it has been so much fun, I have still not completed it, but I am working on a few other games as well. Game play is great, it takes some time to get used to the controls, what with the pins having similair effects eg. a slash on the touch screen being treated as a movement of the character. All in all one of the greatest RPG's of all time, but what do you expect from the guys that brought you Kingdom Hearts? (Which I love). The game also features some great music in the game and is on sale right now on Itunes and CD. I highly recommend this great title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World Ends With You (Nintendo DS)
The World Ends With You (Nintendo DS) by Square Enix (Nintendo DS)
£16.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews