Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

2.5 out of 5 stars35
2.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 June 2010
The steel teeth that come out when you press the yellow buttons don't stick out far enough and therefore barely reach the shell which means that the shell is barely cracked and you still have to use a knife to finish breaking the shell and remove the top, which defeats the purpose of the item. The search for a working egg topper goes on...
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2010
Already had a very cheap Chinese-made metal egg topper with loose blades so pretty messy. Bought one of these Faringdon's thinking that the quality would be better. Sadly not! Back to using the cheapo topper as this one is useless! The blades do not protract enough to get a good 'bite' on the egg.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2011
I have a passion for boiled eggs and I am always burning my finger tips trying to get the shell off - this was bought for me as a Christmas present - sadly this is now relegated to the dark-depths of the cutlery drawer as it doesn't work... the teeth just don't extend far enough to get any kind of purchase on the egg, it just slides off... a real shame :(
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
After boiling a standard sized egg and using this product to 'top' my egg the blades only scraped the surface of the egg, I did rotate the cutter and only ended up with particles of shell all over my egg and still had to use a knife to remove the top of my egg. I was really disappointed in this product and am looking to return it for a refund, had I of been happy I was going to order at least three more for Easter presents.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
Rubbish waste of money and waste of space in the kitchen drawer. Yet to find an egg topper worth buying
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
I bought two of these. They just don't work. I just exerted a little bit of pressure, the topper collapsed into the egg, and I ended up with a scalded hand. Rubbish and dangerous. I will be returning the two egg toppers to the seller.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2010
The topper is well made and would function well, perhaps, on pullets eggs, but for a normal size egg it is too small in diameter and slides off the egg before it cuts. I ended with some very tattered eggs until I surrendered!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2010
If you enjoy boiled eggs and toast soldiers but, you're sick of burning your fingers and chomping on broken egg shells, this is for you. All it takes, is a little bit of pressure down on the egg and simple push in the blades, twist it round and, the perfect boiled egg.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
Useless piece of plastic that does not even scratch the surface of a boiled egg! Complete and utter waste of money. You'd be better off trying to "top" an egg with a £5 note!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
Do you have Toppers with larger orifices?

Otherwise OK but two sides of Topper do not always appear to come out to cut the shell
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items

£4.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.