Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A VIVID ACCOUNT OF SOCIAL BANDITRY
Bonnie & Clyde - 40th Anniversary Edition [DVD] [1967]The real - life exploits of Bonnie Parker (Faye Dunaway) and Clyde Barrow (Warren Beatty) who created a reign of terror and killed eighteen people whilst robbing banks in the American South - West of the early 1930s. The film won two Academy Awards in the year 1967. Co -star Estelle Parsons won her Academy Award for...
Published on 11 Dec 2009 by BABU VARMA

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lower resolution BD
Just on image quality ...

This disc plays in the VC-1 format at 15 MBS on average, this results in a lower resolution image; noticeable higher resolution is experienced with the AVC format playing at 25 MBPS as used in " Laurene of Arabia " for instance, especially for distant landscapes. Mind you, you would not notice the difference with a "domestic" flat...
Published 19 months ago by john-claude


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A VIVID ACCOUNT OF SOCIAL BANDITRY, 11 Dec 2009
By 
BABU VARMA "B.K. Varma" (Trichur East, Kerala State, India) - See all my reviews
Bonnie & Clyde - 40th Anniversary Edition [DVD] [1967]The real - life exploits of Bonnie Parker (Faye Dunaway) and Clyde Barrow (Warren Beatty) who created a reign of terror and killed eighteen people whilst robbing banks in the American South - West of the early 1930s. The film won two Academy Awards in the year 1967. Co -star Estelle Parsons won her Academy Award for her preacher's daughter wife of Barrow's brother, Buck, portrayed by Gene Hackman. The second Academy Award went to Burnett Guffey for his wonderful cinematography. The original script of Bonnie and Clyde passed through divers' hands before the finished film opened to critical indignation and audience acclaim. David Newman and Robert Benton first submitted the script to Jean-Luc Goddard and then Francois Truffaut, both of whom suggested improvements before turning it down. Then Warren Beatty bought the property and produced it with Beatty as star and Arthur Penn as director. Robert Towne, who later wrote `Chinatown' and Beatty's `Shampoo', polished the final draft without taking screen credit. The result was one of the most popular and influential films ever made. The film's vivid account of social banditry paralleled the growing counter - culture and Vietnam protest movement and was developed later in many subsequent films. The film's graphic violence ricocheted into the Seventies and Eighties. The climatic slow - motion massacre turns the heroes into frenzied corpses. The ugly and humourless Texas Ranger, Hammer, lowers his smoking carbine and stares directly into the camera, in silent admonishment of our own impulses. Special Features in this DVD Include: Revolution! The Making of Bonnie and Clyde consisting of three featurettes: - Bonnie and Clyde's Gang (22 mins). The Reality and Myth of Bonnie and Clyde (24 mins) - Releasing Bonnie and Clyde (18 mins) Love and Death: A History Channel documentary about the real life Bonnie and Clyde (43:13) Warren Beatty's Wardrobe Tests (07:39)
Two deleted scenes: The Road to Mineola (2:06) and Outlaws (3:17)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks as good as new., 4 May 2009
By 
M. S. Forrest - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bonnie And Clyde [Blu-ray] [1967] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This film is somehow both dated and not dated, you can tell when it was made but at the same time it looks like it was filmed last year. Both leads are excellent and the support is second to none with a nice bit of comic relief from a young Gene Wilder.
The blu-ray picture and sound is fantastic, one of the best transfers I've seen for an old movie.
Extras are good too , although the factual documentary was overshadowed a little by the recent one put out on the BBC.
A few liberties taken with the truth but everything works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WE ROB BANKS!, 9 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Bonnie And Clyde [Blu-ray] [1967] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
THE FILM: You can't deny BONNIE AND CLYDE was influential for its time, blending humour and realistic violence perfectly. Because of the 1930's setting, I can't see the film dating too much, even after 43 years.
PERSONAL: I saw BONNIE AND CLYDE when it first came out in 1967. I was just old enough to see "X" rated films (16). The film was a sensation then, and having watched tame violence for years, I walked out of the cinema stunned after the explosive finale. It can't possibly have the same impact today, but hopefully new viewers will still be impressed by some of the film's qualities.
BLU-RAY: I've watched this film improve in picture quality over the years, from video, to laserdisc, to DVD, to HD. Obviously the Blu-ray is an improvement over the SD version, details as always sharper with vibrant colours. Sound is now mono through each speaker rather than just the centre one, very clean, but it would have been nice to have a 5:1 mix for the HD version. Good documentaries and interesting to see most of the main cast interviewed who are still with us after 4 decades. Where was Gene Wilder though?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still great, 18 Mar 2008
Bonnie and Clyde was the first film I watched at the cinema. It is still one of the best films made in my opinion. It is raw and real, and it gives a glimpse of an unusual period of time where the banks were the bad guys and the bad guys could actually be portrayed as "good guys". Fabulous film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good afternoon, we are the Barrow gang., 3 Nov 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Bonnie & Clyde stands today as one of the most important films of the 60s, it's impact on culture alone marks it out as a piece of work to note, but as gangster films go this one is something of a landmark. Quite how writers Newman & Benton managed to craft a story of two deadbeat outlaws into cinematic heroes is up for any individual viewers scrutiny, but they bloody well do it because we all want to be in the Barrow gang, because we get lost in this romanticised outlawish tale unfolding in front of our eyes.

The film is a fusion of incredible violence and jaunty slapstick, and smartly pauses for delicate moments to let us into the psyche of the main protagonists, we know they have hangups, and with that we know they are fallible human beings, and this sets us up a treat for the incredible jaw dropping finale, and the impact of this finale hits as hard now as it did back with the audience's of 1967.

The cast are incredible, Warren Beatty gives a truly brilliant performance as Clyde, he looks good and suave tooting those guns, but it's in the tender troubled scenes where he excels supreme. Faye Dunaway as Bonnie is the perfect foil for Beatty's layers, she nails every beat of this gangsters troubled moll. Gene Hackman, Michael J Pollard, and Estelle Parsons put the cherry on the icing to give depth and range to the rest of the Barrow gang, and these fine actors are clothed in gorgeous cinematography courtesy of Burnett Guffrey. To round out the plaudits I finish with love for director Arthur Penn because it's his vision that gives us something of a nostalgic movie that plays up and down with its subjects with cheeky aplomb, in fact it's just like the banjo music that features so prominently throughout this wonderful film.

Nominated for 9 Oscars it won just the two, the entire actors who played the Barrow gang were nominated, and truth be told they all would have been worthy winners, as it is they gave out just the one to the least strongest performance from Estelle Parsons, go figure. It's legacy both in culture and box office lives on and for me Bonnie & Clyde is not only one of the best films of the 60s, it's also one of the best in history. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Classic, 16 April 2009
By 
Iain Summers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
From the start this movie promises something special, staying faithful to the true "legend" the performances are all pitched perfectly. With Estelle Parsons just inching it as Blanche Barrow, Clyde's sister-in-law who originally committed the story to paper in her prison cell.
Bought out of curiosity, as I remembered seeing the movie on TV years ago, I was riveted by the style; expert direction and stunning camerawork which truly evoke the depression era.
All this and the definitive version of "Foggy Mountain Breakdown" by Banjomeister Earl Scruggs.
Feeling fresher than films made in more recent times, any fan of Tarantino will come away from this movie the richer for the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy and stylish, 5 Dec 2009
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Clyde has a certain hick appeal, and Bonnie is a vampish partner in crime. It's a well-crafted, slick film that draws you in and hold you till the bitter end. The historical background is intriguing, and you sympathise with the villains. It has a hopeless charm to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UK Blu-ray specs, 28 Aug 2010
By 
D. Vitale (Rome) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bonnie And Clyde [Blu-ray] [1967] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Runtime: 111'
Languages: English, Japanese, Italian, Spanish, German, French (all Dolby Digital 1.0).
Subs: English (HoH), Italian, Spanish, German, French, Chinese, Danish, Japanese, Norwegian, Finnish, Dutch, Swedish, Portuguese, Brazilian.
Region: Region Free (ABC).
Aspect ratio: OAR 1.78:1
Video codec: VC1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lower resolution BD, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonnie And Clyde [Blu-ray] [1967] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Just on image quality ...

This disc plays in the VC-1 format at 15 MBS on average, this results in a lower resolution image; noticeable higher resolution is experienced with the AVC format playing at 25 MBPS as used in " Laurene of Arabia " for instance, especially for distant landscapes. Mind you, you would not notice the difference with a "domestic" flat screen TV, especially since there are so many close-ups, but you do when projecting on a large screen with a top of the range HD projector, well tuned and focussed.

It's a long time since seen the film in the late 60s, but I feel that the images have been cropped to suit the TV format philosophy requirement ie the use of many extreme close-ups; by that I mean not only cropping top and bottom of the pictures to suit the 16.9 format, but also the sides, to concentrate on the centre of the frames.

That's why I gave this BD three stars,

But an interesting, atmospheric film to watch all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonnie & Clyde (Blu-Ray), 17 Aug 2010
By 
Brf Churchill "BANJOMAN" (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bonnie And Clyde [Blu-ray] [1967] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Great film classic, brillant Blu-RAY transfer enough said, oh good price to. If you like the film, you will love this version.You won't be dissapointed. But It now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bonnie And Clyde [Blu-ray] [1967] [Region Free]
Bonnie And Clyde [Blu-ray] [1967] [Region Free] by Theodora Van Runkle (Blu-ray - 2008)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews