Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kismet Hardy....., 28 Mar. 2008
By 
Suzanne Ellis (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost World of Mr Hardy [DVD] (DVD)
I don't fish. But like those other quintessentially English, paternalistic entrepreneurs of the late Victorian age, Cadbury and Lever, I was aware that Hardy and Alnwick in Northumberland were synonymous with a family business producing the best in the world.....but unlike the aforementioned two other families, their product was used, not by the man on the Clapham omnibus, but was a bespoke luxury item enjoyed by Monarchs, Maharajah's and every angler who could aspire to owning one. I was curious to know how Hardy's had survived into the 21st Century.

The DVD, as the title, The Lost World of Mr Hardy, suggests, focuses mainly on an earlier, gentle age, where many of the population of the small northern town worked for the Hardy Brothers in their factory. Archive film, still photos, anecdotes, interviews with managers and craftsmen (none of whom seemed to have worked there for much less than 50 years) showed the development of fly fishing tackle through the early beginnings to the heyday of the 1920s when the "Perfect" reels were first produced - much collected by today's enthusiasts. Throughout all, meandering, like the rivers being fished, there is footage of lazy, hazy summer days, blue skies, anglers' casting and trout and salmon rising.

Like many similar labour intensive manufacturers, Hardy's hit a bad patch in the 1960s when cheaper imports threatened their economic viability. They looked to diversify into broadening their production into Coarse and Sea Fishing tackle. Certainly some production is now abroad, with the UK providing only sales and marketing. However, it was great to see some ex-employees still continuing the traditional hand made methods. I thought that the film provided a very balanced view of technology versus the traditional.

I found this a fascinating DVD, as a piece of social history -only men were allowed to tie the superior salmon flies! Beautifully and sensitively shot, interesting, informative. The gentle, unobtrusive background music fitted in perfectly with the ambience of the subject. Highly watch-able: very easy on the eye. And as I said, I don't fish. I imagine that if you do, then you'll immediately be onto eBay to see if there are any affordable Hardy rods!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Hardy, 17 Mar. 2008
By 
Brian Taylor (NW England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost World of Mr Hardy [DVD] (DVD)
Angling purists, social historians, anyone who fishes, has North East connections, Hardy collectors and everyone who respects tradition must watch this DVD, "The Lost world of Mr Hardy."
For in it, Andy Heathcote and Heike Bachelier have distilled the essence of Britishness.
On one level it pays tribute to the great British artisans, the craftsmen and women of Alnwick, those Hardy employees who created the world's finest fishing kit. Over 100 years of excellence is seen through the eyes of those who were intimately involved. It relates personal stories of the people who were there. Interviews and archive film footage are skilfully woven to paint a wonderful portrait of a bygone age.
On a second level, it is a requiem for UK manufacturing and a toll of the bells for our industrial heritage. A wake up call to what globalisation means to our traditions and a realisation that things will never be the same again.
On yet a third level, it is a widening beacon of light for those who want to achieve the `British Dream' (similar to the American one but quieter and more reserved). It shows that individuals can uphold the core values and skills of previous generations and turn them into cottage industries.
On a personal level, my old Hardy rods and reels just became so much more important to me.
Superb editing and evocative music made this a joy to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Hardy,s World, 30 July 2009
By 
John R. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World of Mr Hardy [DVD] (DVD)
An iconic production which will fascinate both the angler and the student of traditional British craftmanship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really do like this DVD, 8 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World of Mr Hardy [DVD] (DVD)
Being a sentimental bloke I just had to purchase this DVD and am very pleased that I did. It was lovely to see those old Hardy movies that were, at the time, light years ahead for a company dealing in angling matters. To see those HUGE salmon coming to the net (or gaff) made my mouth water and brought back fond memories of my own father catching big salmon over 40 years ago. If you like to see the development of those famous rods and reels of the Hardy Company, then this DVD is a must purchase... you won't regret it at all. Enjoy the history and thanks to Hardy for producing the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful journey through the best fishing manufacturer in the world, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World of Mr Hardy [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely wonderful documentary about the finest made fishing tackle in the world being produced in Alnick. This harks Bach to a time of record Salmon catches and a bygone age so superb craftsmanship when only the very best would do and a visit to Hardys was as important to the Gentry as going to a grand ball or the opera!

This is a must for any sportsman who appreciates quality and the skill that put England on the map. Imagine Downton Abbey meets Fred Dibnah, a real treat and after watching it I ordered two more copies for my Brothers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indulgent pleasure, 14 Sept. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World of Mr Hardy [DVD] (DVD)
Well filmed and easy to follow, this short documentary follows the history of the Hardy brand. Told though the memories of Jim Hardy, last of the family to work for Hardy's.

Anyone passionate about fly fishing and Hardy history will appreciate this DVD. A perfect gift for a collector of classic fishing equipment (unless he has it already).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't sure entirely what to expect, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World of Mr Hardy [DVD] (DVD)
Transports the viewer to a different time and place. A truly fabulous film about Hardy Tackle and makes evident the reputation for quality and affection with which the company is still held. Informative interviews, fascinating insights and great early footage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now bought two copies as gifts., 3 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. Edward G. Richardson "Ed R" (Cumbria UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World of Mr Hardy [DVD] (DVD)
This video has now been enjoyed by two fishermen friends. They have commented on it and added it to their collections of Hardy memorabilia and equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great dvd, 24 April 2013
By 
rab sneddon (BROXBURN SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World of Mr Hardy [DVD] (DVD)
with the news recentley about the sale of hardys greys this makes this dvd all the more poignant highly recommend this,If your a fisherman its gold
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my fishing mad brother-in- law loved it, 5 Dec. 2009
By 
C. ratcliffe (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World of Mr Hardy [DVD] (DVD)
I read the review of this film in the Times and thought immediately of my brother-in- law for two reasons. The first was because he's a serious fly fisherman and spends copious amounts of time tying his own fly's prior to fishing. The second, was his imminent visit to hospital to have some major surgery on a knee that would leave him somewhat immobile. So purchase of this film was a no brainer; keeping him, and more to the point my sister, somewhere near sane,and added kudos because it was only just newly released.

Now the one draw back with this review is...I haven't seen the film. HOWEVER said brother-in-law was totally enthralled and waxed lyrical on the phone to me about the history and craftmanship of Hardy's and the sheer beauty of the film. We're staying with them for Christmas, and needless to stay I look forward to seeing it with someone who really loves the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost World of Mr Hardy [DVD]
The Lost World of Mr Hardy [DVD] by Heike Bachelier (DVD - 2008)
£14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews