Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time for the Time Lords
This was purchased as an extra for my son's Christmas stocking; and it has been a find wirth buying.

Along with series 3 on DVD, the fob watch has completed his "wardrobe" as we now are fully fledged for acting out "Family of Blood" and "Last of the Time Lords".

The only downside, is the quality of the sound that comes from the watch is poor to say...
Published on 10 Feb 2009 by Mr. H. T. Tennant

versus
106 of 111 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I wouldn't keep MY memories in it, it would break!
From about five feet away the watch looks quite good, the detailing on the front is well moulded and it generally looks quite real and solid, indeed from five feet the watch looks as it does in the photograph above; don't be fooled this is the best it will ever look.

When you get close enough to actually touch it and pick it up, the cheap slightly shiny grey...
Published on 3 Mar 2008 by Zayfod


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time for the Time Lords, 10 Feb 2009
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who The Doctor's Fob Watch (Toy)
This was purchased as an extra for my son's Christmas stocking; and it has been a find wirth buying.

Along with series 3 on DVD, the fob watch has completed his "wardrobe" as we now are fully fledged for acting out "Family of Blood" and "Last of the Time Lords".

The only downside, is the quality of the sound that comes from the watch is poor to say the least, but it doesn't affect the fun factor for my son and his friends when playing.

For all those parents with kids that dream of being an exile of Gallifrey, this is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 111 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I wouldn't keep MY memories in it, it would break!, 3 Mar 2008
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who The Doctor's Fob Watch (Toy)
From about five feet away the watch looks quite good, the detailing on the front is well moulded and it generally looks quite real and solid, indeed from five feet the watch looks as it does in the photograph above; don't be fooled this is the best it will ever look.

When you get close enough to actually touch it and pick it up, the cheap slightly shiny grey plastic creaks in your hand, belying the flimsy construction.

The front of the watch is opened with a difficult to reach, loose fitting plastic stud on the top of the adjustment dial, which itself is moulded into the main body and does nothing, revealing the face of the watch, which conspires to be shadowy and difficult to read. The door itself is thin and the hinge worryingly flimsy to the extent that it feels as if the force of the spring could break it off on opening.

By far the worst thing about this watch however it the "light and sound effects", which feature a few red and yellow flashing LEDs, and a minute or so long clip from the second episode of 'Human Nature' with the young lad saying something along the lines of "..Some times I remember having two hearts and being a Time Lord, not only that but the last of the Time Lords..." and so on. Not only is this a fantastically annoying sound for the watch to make, but it is the sort of thing which seriously hampers the creation of a childhood fantasy world when your toys start whittering on at you; I know this I remember it happening.

In short AVOID! Wait for someone to bring a better, metal version out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 79 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so, I might be a bit older than the target audience..., 16 Feb 2008
By 
BE (the Heart of Norfolk) - See all my reviews
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who The Doctor's Fob Watch (Toy)
I bought a Time Lord watch :)
... Still not a Time Lord. Even when I put the batteries in. :(

... okay, so, yes, a toy. For ages 5 and up. I'm, er, up.

It is plastic. Except for the chain. The chain makes the plastic look cheap. But does function to keep the watch where it is put, so that part works out. The case has patterns just like on the show, and seems fairly accurate. Same with the watch face. So that's nice. But the light effect is pathetic - I've got a better light on my keychain, and it doesn't light the center of the watch at all. And the sound effect happens whenever you make the light, so it isn't much use if you, for instance, want to know the time in the cinema. Plus it sounds like the Doctor only if the Doctor is talking through a comb after inhaling helium. Actually come to think his voice doesn't change when inhaling helium, so it's just out of character. Er, I mean, it sounds mostly like hsssh shhh crsshh and you can only tell what he's saying because we have it memorised from TV. Bit disappointing really.

On the plus side - Time Lord watch! Wheeee!
It, er, gets all its stars from that bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fob watch, 20 Mar 2010
By 
Elaine Kesham (Somerset England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who The Doctor's Fob Watch (Toy)
Bit disappointed with this. The doctor who voice is garbled and unintelligible. The front keeps coming off. Not much good. Wouldn't recommend unless you're just collecting and will never touch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab for a 3 year old boy, 13 Jan 2010
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who The Doctor's Fob Watch (Toy)
My 3 and a half year old son absolutely loves this watch, I think previous reviews were a bit harsh, and these adults are forgetting that these really are supposed to be replica fun toys and NOT the REAL DEAL, I think based on reviews this item would be recommended for a young child who does not yet know how to tell the time but likes the idea of having a cool flashing watch which has sound effects and something to hang off his trousers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big kid review, 11 Dec 2009
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who The Doctor's Fob Watch (Toy)
Being a Dr Who fan I find this watch quite entertaining.
It does tell the time and yes, it does look a bit cheap but,
I bought it for the fun and every time I get it out to
look at the time... I laugh.

One day I'm sure its magic will be released and every one
owning one will become a time lord or assistant - in my dreams maybe.

If you want a big kid present that is fun then this is it.

Suitable for under 30's too but, I'm
sure it won't last as long as I don't think it feels durable
however being a timelords watch I could be wrong.

If you own a dog I wonder if yours will look as confused and
bark when the feature button on the watch is pressed.

Possibly Dr Who had a really heavy cold/swine flu on the
day it was recorded or has become half dalek...
No idea who the voice actually belongs to....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice watch but really a toy, 21 May 2009
By 
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who The Doctor's Fob Watch (Toy)
This watch is welldesigned but the plastic is... beurg ?
But, is a time lord watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Even for kids it limited, 24 July 2009
By 
Mr. I. Fraser (London UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who The Doctor's Fob Watch (Toy)
I bought this for my 6 year old daughter who is a fairweather Doctor Who fan - shes likes flicking through my Russell T Davies Autobiography and looking at the pictures, and she'll happily sit through the non scarey episodes with me - so you get the picture. So having recently watched both Mr Smith AND the sound of drums trilogy (which both features the watch) about 20 times she was excited about getting the watch. And to be fair, it is what it is, a lump of plastic with a few lights. The watch has a very tiny built in speaker, and when you press the button on the side, it play back a sampled line from Mr Smith. It sounds absolutely rubbish and she even pointed out his voice was too high! Not impressed, they could have got a few different quotes in there instead and cycled them. Also the flap looks like it could easily be broken in the worng hands.

The only metal bit is the chain which adds some quality.

Overall, i guess its a kids toy and kids have great imaginations. I just think its a little expensive for what it is and you could probably pick up a metal watch someone and they can still pretend its the dr who watch! Whatever you do, dont buy this as an adult fan. Buy the proper metal replica collectors watch (about 100 quid and only something like 100 made with certificate) - you'll find it on the internet if you search the collectors sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Who's fob watch, 7 April 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who The Doctor's Fob Watch (Toy)
Bought this as an 11th birthday present for a girl. She is very happy with it. Excellent, amusing prop at school but not recommended for children who tend to use toys as weapons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This watch is me!, 10 Jan 2009
By 
G. Rutland (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who The Doctor's Fob Watch (Toy)
Anyone expecting a quality fob watch to actually wear will likely be very disappointed with this example - for that you want the fully authorised replica signed by Derek Jacobi. But as a toy this is excellent, and still comes on a nice chain even if the watch itself is plastic. The detailing is very nice both on the case and face, and it does still work as a fully functioning watch (until, as you'll see below, it inexplicably seizes up), and the light and sound effects are especially impressive. It might have been nice to have a 'mute' option so as to eliminate the risk of a lot of noise when checking the time, but as I said, this isn't really designed as a serious fob watch. It even has the educational value of teaching the time and Roman numerals.

ADDENDUM: I've revisited this review to rescore the durability to 3 stars, as the model reviewed sadly went West (the clock mechanism inexplicably seized up). Though a replacement was sourced, this was disappointing indeed.

2ND ADDENDUM: Make that two. The replacement went as well though the rest of it is in full working order. Definitely avoid if you want this to be an actual timepiece in any way, shape or form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who The Doctor's Fob Watch
34.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews