Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


125 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive
Having owned and thoroughly enjoyed the first 'Medieval Total War' my expectations were quite high for this edition. Some reviews had also made me a little worried about the progression in game play and concept, but this was all dispelled upon my first play. Rather than armies simply being moved from region to region, mountains and lakes have to be negotiated as armies...
Published on 14 Jun. 2008 by Mr. D. P. Witter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game
It's a good game, graphics are improved a LOT since the first Medieval in the battles you take part in.

My only problem with this game is the campaign map, there's something about it, I don't quite get on with it so well I much prefered the old style campaign map from first Medieval, it was easier to control tax in some areas and control certain things, new one...
Published on 24 Dec. 2012 by Kurt Dugmore


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 417 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Is it even legal to make games this good?, 25 April 2009
By 
Censuwine (Balzan, Malta) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Well, what can I say? This game is incredible. The map ranges from Finland to the Sahara Desert from North to South and Portugal to the Middle East from West to East, but as you go on further in the game you can discover the Americas, making conquests in new Pagan lands more fun. The campaign map is beautiful and brilliantly detailed. Battles have also been improved from the previous games meaning you can take prisoners. In the Gold Edition, the game comes with not 1, not 2, not even 3 but 4 expansion packs! Namely the Americas, Brittania, Crusades and Teutonic. In the Americas Campaign become New Spain and conquer these vast lands or become the Aztecs, Mayans, Apache Tribes and others to fend off Christian invaders! In the Brittania Campaign, choose from England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland or Norway and vie for supremecy in the Emerald Isles. In the Crusades become 1 of 2 invading Christian factions (Principality of Antioch or Kingdom of Jerusalem), or 1 of 2 Islamic factions (Sultanate of Egypt or Kingdom of the Turks) or the Neutral, Orthodox Byzantine Empire, but beware of Venice seeking glory! In the Teutonic Campaign you can become different Nations with different missions. Being the Teutonic Order means you must convert Lithuania to Christianity......or wipe them out.....permanently. Being Poland means you must stop the monster of the Teutonic Order which your King feels he unleashed and stop the Holy Roman Empire influencing you and the Teutonic Order. As Lithuania, fight off the Teutonic Order and keep your peoples pagan, or if you are in trouble, turn them to Christianity and then strike the Teutonic Order when they have no reason to attack you! As the Holy Roman Empire, fend off the invading Danes and influence the Teutonic Order to wipe out Lithuania or convert them to Christianity for approval with the Pope. As Denmark, strengthen your cities in Estonia and Germany, start your invasion in Germany and destroy the Holy Roman Empire once and for all. As Norway, opt for neutrality and invade Sweden (rebel land). As the Mongols, try to avoid invasion since being the only Islamic nation and strengthen your forces in Russia. And finally, as Novgorod, defend your republic and trade from Lithuania and the Mongols and expand your giant of a Nation. However, in this great game (as in all the game not just the expansion pack) I did encounter a small problem. You cannot play battles on a laptop unless it is a gaming laptop, but that problem is wiped from your mind as your strategy to conquer the known world begins! Good value for money, a worth it game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal Game., 10 Oct. 2014
By 
Christopher J. Campbell "Chris Campbell" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I am huge total war fan; I had Med 1, Rome 1, Med 2, Empire and now Rome 2.

I find that this game, along with the expansions, is the most polished and smooth of them all.
The scope that the expansions bring is unbelievable and for the price, there is a fantastic amount of playtime to be had.

If you are new to the Total war games, this is a great starter.
If you are an old hand at them then this is a must have!

I would thoroughly recommend.

Cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bleep-ing Great!, 5 Aug. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
(First of all, I haven't played the in-game battle scenarios much so I won't comment on them. I was actually pleasantly surprised, however, that the battle scenarios played fairly well on my "surplus-to-requirements" laptop, and the map-based play runs as smooth as any game I own, so I wouldn't let requirement issues put you off too much if you're borderline, and aren't so interested in the battles like me).

Not played this series before, but saw a friend playing it, and found this affordable bundle on amazon (purchased at £7.02).

For that price-tag, compared to other similar products right now, this is essentially a gamer's must buy item!

The gameplay is addictive, and 5-10 hours can flash by all too quickly. That said, once you get over the initial buzz, it feels like the sort of thing that you can pick up anytime you have 30 mins + to yourself.

The engine is well-presented with very few interface issues, the basic strategy is very easy to learn, and yet the gameplay offers a deep and varied mix of warfare tactics vs the AI, management of your kingdom, and all the ups and downs in your exchanges with other kingdoms to keep you engaged... Now back to my current to-and-fro exchange with those English [BLEEP]-ers in the Pyrenees...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally back to the Middle Ages, 14 Sept. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
It's been many years since I last bought a Total War product (Rome TW). Finally I have the technology capable of running this massive heap of brilliant games all in one box. Hoorah! It runs a treat on my HP Pavilion G6 but unfortunately has all the potential that Rome TW had for turning me back into a mouse clicking social recluse living on beer and pizzas in a darkened room. Oh dear. Wonderful stuff, lovingly created and presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Game, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Excellent game, this is a lot more fun than I expected I spent ages playing all the different factions. The campaign map has a variety of functions and allows to take over the world with enough hours spent on it. The in-game real time battlefield simulation is a lot of fun, you'll gradually work out more and more effective tactics as time goes on. It's truly addictive so be warned :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best game ever and with mods you will play it forever, 26 Dec. 2012
By 
The Dwarf "DWF" (In the cold North) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game has taken so much of my time due to its re playability. The options are vast and with the great mod community even Lord of the rings is possible to play(third age mod). I must say that all the options one is given when owning a original copy of this game is huge. Buy this game and search for third age mod and you will understand why this game is the best of them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it for the Mods, 13 April 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
An older game but given extended life by virtue of the Mods that are still being produced for it. The stability of the game was and still is excellent. I guess when this was released, a PC could do battles with 6000 men, these days I expect its 30,000 (I need a new PC but I can do 10,000 men smoothly). The quality of graphics in later Total War games was not significantly improved compared to this game (except perhaps the last - Shogun 2 - with the move to DX10)

Probably the most popular mod is currently "Third Age Total War", but there are hundreds out there, that just change text/data/sound files without needing to change executable code (i.e. the only kind I am prepared to execute). I suggest checking out you tube for examples.

From what I have read, later games in the Total War series are much less modable (and I won't touch cracked game code and suggest you don't either). So, that means this title will stay the focus for recreational modders for some time to come.

Join the scene - buy the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 21 July 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Awesome game, great lores, worth every single penny.

Just download the 1.05 patch for the version you have and just take few days off work :D

Shame didn't knew this series earlier. A friend persuaded me to try Napoleon, and ended up playing every single TW ever came out. (Still Rome and Shogun 2 to go).
Thumbs up for another awesome UK made game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best strategy game every produced, 2 Aug. 2008
By 
Sam "msaa500" (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I do not think any words will do justice for this game, so I will keep this very short and to the point:
-Good things: everything really, graphics are superb, the strategy itself, the battles are just the best thing i have ever seen on a pc screen, extremely addictive game, i spent almost 9 hours on it when I first installed it, and the only thing that kept me from going on was having to go to work. Very enjoyable to play, and unlike other strategy games where you spend lots of time gathering resources then you lose in 10 seconds, this is something a lot more thought provoking, and needs some real skills.
Bad points: you need a very good PC to play this game, and a large amount of Rams, the more the better.
- Caused my PC to crash and freeze a couple of times (running on 1 Gig Ram)

This is by far the best, most enjoyable and addictive game in the market so far, and much better than the previous editions, cannot wait to get the new one coming soon. Get it now, but be warned, this will take your life away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game!, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This is a great game to play, i actually didn't buy it for the regular campaigns, instead i bought it for the Lord of the Rings Third age mod, which i would recommended to anyone out there! especially if you love the Lord of the rings film's, you can re-enact famous battles from the film like Helms deep, Mines Tirith and lots more! - As i say this is for the Third age mod, which if you want you have to buy this particular version of Total War!!... I havn't had a chance to try the actual campaigns, cos tbh i don't want to, but the graphics are great, and im running this on a laptop with naff intel internal graphics, which face it arn't the best, most new PC's and Laptops will be able to run this thing no problem at all. Havn't tried it in windows 8, but might stick it in the virtual machine i have going to see if it runs. I'd really recommend this game to people that like these sorta genres of games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 417 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD)
£7.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews