Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


121 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive
Having owned and thoroughly enjoyed the first 'Medieval Total War' my expectations were quite high for this edition. Some reviews had also made me a little worried about the progression in game play and concept, but this was all dispelled upon my first play. Rather than armies simply being moved from region to region, mountains and lakes have to be negotiated as armies...
Published on 14 Jun 2008 by Mr. D. P. Witter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game
It's a good game, graphics are improved a LOT since the first Medieval in the battles you take part in.

My only problem with this game is the campaign map, there's something about it, I don't quite get on with it so well I much prefered the old style campaign map from first Medieval, it was easier to control tax in some areas and control certain things, new one...
Published 19 months ago by Kurt Dugmore


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

121 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 14 Jun 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Having owned and thoroughly enjoyed the first 'Medieval Total War' my expectations were quite high for this edition. Some reviews had also made me a little worried about the progression in game play and concept, but this was all dispelled upon my first play. Rather than armies simply being moved from region to region, mountains and lakes have to be negotiated as armies shape their way through the terrain. These paths can also be used as important strategic strongholds, or ambush locations for other unsuspecting passing armies. The first edition lacked terrain on the main campaign map and this is perhaps the biggest change when first playing the game.

The main beauty of Total War II is how detailed both parts of the game are. For those who have not played the game, the game is broadly divided into two sections - firstly a map style campaign, similar to Civilization or the board game Risk and secondly individual battle scenarios. The game can therefore be played as both a strategy game and/or a battle one. Battles can be resolved automatically or commanded personally depending on how long or short you want the game to be.

In terms of playing time, the game does require a large amount of attention if you want to succeed as a ruler. Turns cannot simply be skipped in order to save money or for a building to be finished, as otherwise other `factions' will leave you in their wake. With experience and patience a huge European Empire can be under your grasp, but just when you think you have the game cracked, new and more powerful factions appear from the east, natural disasters strike cities, the plague sweeps through Europe and then America is discovered. Unlike many strategy games that become tedious and repetitive over time, these events help keep the game interesting.

The expansion pack features four mini-versions of the main game. Each is as detailed as the main game, but concentrates on specific areas such as Britain and the Middle East. These are equalling rewarding to play and I found the Crusades Campaign (which I still have yet to complete) perhaps even more compelling and addictive than the main game.

Overall Medieval Total War II is an absolute masterpiece of a game and coupled with the expansion pack it becomes the only game you will want to play for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medieval II : Total War, 15 April 2008
By 
D. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Medieval II is the successor to 'Rome' and the original 'Medieval: Total War', combining the best of the two games while adding a lot of great new features to the gameplay.

It puts you in command as a Medieval King, Sultan or Emperor, where you must lead your armies to victory over Europe and Asia, while building and maintaining a sprawling empire. The game is essentially split in two, allowing you to command huge armies in real-time battles in one section, and a turn based empire-builder in another.

The graphics are truly stunning, and the game is easily the best looking RTS on the market. The battle animations are also a wonderful new addition, allowing you to see your soldiers pull off some nifty sword work on the battlefield. The artillery and cannon loading sequences are also pretty good. It's the little details like these that make the game worth buying.

The game itself is packed full of features. You have the ability to play a 'Grand Campaign' which puts you in control of a certain Medieval faction over the course of 450 years of warfare. The 'Kingdoms' expansion allows you to play through several historical scenarios such as the Spanish conquest of the Americas, the Crusades, the Teutonic Wars and the 13th century conquests in Britain. Each scenario allows you to play as various new factions, be it Ireland, Lithuania or the Aztecs etc.

You can also try your hand at winning a historical battle such as Hastings, Pavia, Otumba or Acre. This puts you in command as various historical personages such as Richard the Lionheart, William the Conqueror or Hernan Cortes. You can even design your own custom battles!

With so much features, it will take months of gameplay to go through it all. I still haven't seen a quarter of what the game has to offer.

I've been wanting to play Medieval II for around 2 years, but my old PC wasn't up to the game's huge system requirements. Now that I have a new computer, I can safely say that the wait was worth it. Still, it is worth noting that even with a beefy computer you still need to turn down some of the features. For instance, I need to have features such as grass or shadows switched to the lowest settings if I want to play a medium sized battle - and that's with 2 GBs of RAM, a 512 MB Geforce 8400 card, and a powerful Intel processor. The game is also compatible with Windows Vista Home Premium, but it's better suited to Windows XP, especially if you want to edit the game files.

Medieval II: Total War is defiantely worth getting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ambiguous Review, 25 Mar 2008
By 
C. ASHTON - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
I must say right now, before I go on, one minor detail: my computer isn't fast enough to play the actual battles, which is arguably the most important part of the game- my 1.8 GHz Intel computer can only play the campaign map, and that is all I can review at the moment.
Nevertheless, the campaign map is really quite entertaining. The cutscenes, oddly, play flawlessly on my computer, and they truly are amazing. There have been no budget cuts when it comes to voice acting, or synchronising the animations on screen with the sounds that you hear. And the game itself is far more tactical; factions won't enter war with you quite so lightly as they used to (i.e. in Rome Total War) and the options open to you have tripled in size.

To really enjoy the game, I would recommend a computer with at least 2GB RAM and 2.2GHz processor. Even on the lowest graphical settings, my 0.98 RAM computer cannot cope with the battles. If you can fulfil this game's requirements, however, then this is a companion that your computer quite simply should not be without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great game, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
fantastic game for a RTS player to stick there nosey into
great strategy element to it and you can also get the "third age total war" mod for it aswell which is incredible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superproduction, 14 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
I have not played this for several years... At this price I decided to buy a copy just to keep it in my collection, to remind me of the good old times;) When the game arrived I decided to install it, just to see how the graphics would look on my brand new gaming rig. I started a campaign playing Venice (hard/hard). I regained consciousness at 4 o'clock in the morning after conquering Constantinopol... After all this years, MEDIEVAL 2 is still a great game. Now I have to go as I need to play trough each expansion pack at leat once more:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Making some things clearer for this game, 21 April 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
I won't say anything about gameplay as the total war series is well known and if you have alread liked other editions of this series you will probably like this too.

I want to clarify 2 or 3 things that baffled me before buying this product so that it will be easier for the rest.

This edition (the gold edition) is already patched. this means that it is read updated and bugfixed so you dont have to look for updates from the official site or anything.

It includes 2 dvds; the first has the main game and the americas expansion on and the second the rest three expansions. When you install the game there is a small time gap after the end of the installation of each expansion and beginning of the next. (a prompt window pops up and asks you to press next) so while installing if you notice some inactivity dont worry it is probably because of that, it happens even to fast PCs.

It works with windows 7. I am playing the game in win 7 x64. No problem at all.

You will need at least directX 9. But you can find it on the first dvd of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, 22 Jun 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
I played the earlier 'Rome' total war to death!
This games is basically the same thing but with various improvements. The graphics are noticeably better - the detail is great if your PC can handle it.
There are additional enhancements to overall game play as well, though I am still discovering them as I have only been playing this game for a few weeks.
With the bonus total war 'Kingdoms' this game is HUGE!!
Excellent value for money.
Long term addictive campaigns.
Fantastic battle graphics.
A MUST for all strategy fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless, 5 Dec 2008
By 
M. Whitmore (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
I thought they would be hard-pressed to even get close to the coat tails of Rome: Total War but this game is so flawless in it's design and execution that it far exceeds any doubts one might of had. If this game had been around during the time of Spartacus I very much doubt he would of got much done. He's be too busy trying to quash that annoying band of Spanish rebels with his trusted English longbowmen. Or maybe he may of had some trouble with the Mongols invading from the east leavinng him no choice but to pull his army out of Persia and defiantly stand firm, shielding the borders of Western Europe from Eastern rule.

This game will have you up for hours. Forget food, water or showers, you'll be completely immersed in domination of the New World.

Make sure you can play this before you buy it though. Recommended specs are 2.4 Ghz, 1 GB ram, Gefore 7300 video card and 5 GB of disk space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two steps forward, two steps back..., 16 Sep 2008
By 
D. Burchett "Taodave" (Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
This compliation brings together Medieval total war 2 and the expansion 'Kingdoms'. It includes a thorough guide for each and if my experience is anything to go by then it loads and plays without flaws or fuss. This is very similar in looks and feel to Rome total war but this later incarnation is more sophisticated and complex.

Rome is fantastic, quite possibly the best pc game of this genre so far which means Medi 2 (this game) has its work cut out if it is going to impress. And impress it does. On a 1650*1080 screen the units look absolutely amazing with layers and layers of detail. When units come together to fight on the battle field the little choreographed sequences look realistic and are thoroughly involving.

Cities and castles too look really amazing with all the walls and towers you could ever wish for. This detail translates equally well on to the campaign map where you now have the ability to zoom in and out of the action according to taste (Rome had a fixed camera viewpoint).

When cannons fire (over an increased distance) the earth shakes and caste walls are torn down...charge!!!

So is it a great game and is this version value for money. The answers are yes and yes. I have been playing the Mayans in south america and my jaguar warriors have been making short work of the pompous technological spanish...who needs guns, not us!!! The expansions in Kingdoms appear to be well thought out and add some diversity to what was already an amazing game.

However i have some criticicms that will not go away. For one, units now have the ability to ignore your orders as they please, so i now have to run around the battlefield like an old hen re-issueing ordrs to charge or engage. Tis is tiresome and detracts from the fun. it makes battles quite a bit more labour intensive without any increase in fun. At times when defending of engaging a settlement units get confused and start running around like headless chicken, the odd unit seemingly doing anything but obey the orders you just issued. They get stuck, confused and then just as likely mullered.

My biggest criticism concerns the campaign map where the movement of units has been lets say s-l-o-w-e-d- down. Click on a merchant and click where you want him to go. Then go off and make a cup of tea. With fresh tea in hand, as you are sitting back down your merchant is just coming to a halt. So you get frustrated click on the space bar and everything zooms around the map. This is silly, poor and needless. In Rome you have about 550 turns to complete the main campaign, in Medi 2 you now have just 225 so you really have to get your skates on. No summer and winter turns as in Rome (and that worked so well) in stead each turn covers about two years. Sixhundred turns at 2 per year would have been much better and it seems that the slow speed of characters moving around the map serves no other purpose than to hide how short the main campaign is and how few battle will be fought.

In conclusion this is an excellent game but my concerns are that the things that worked so well in Rome and were far from broke have been changed here for no gain. The game looks fantastic but it is alot less fun and as i have gone back to Rome i guess i have to say that for me Rome is the better game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, despite a few minor flaws., 30 Jun 2008
By 
T. Booth "Deuce" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Anyone familiar with the Total War series will have a pretty good idea of what to expect from Medieval II and its expansion pack. There are two "levels" of gameplay; the strategic map on which cities and castles are built, and the tactical map on which battles are fought. With a couple of minor adjustments, the gameplay here is virtually identical to the previous instalment, Rome, the primary differences being the greater variety of units, buildings, and options available. The graphics are also greatly improved, and the look of the maps and the armies is fantastic. You pay the price for this in hardware requirements, though, and even the best home gaming PCs will struggle to cope with battles slightly larger than the norm.

The interface and gameplay is in some ways little changed since the first outing of the Total War series, and has now been polished to the point there is little to criticise. If anything, the weakness of Medieval II is that it tries to do too much. Some of the features it has added to the strategic map in particular- extra characters like merchants and priests- add little to the fun of the game and are much of the time simply pointless and frustrating distractions from the main gameplay. The strategic gameplay is solid, and challenging, but after a few plays it can become a bit predictable. There is a noteworthy bug in the strategic calendar, where characters age at six months per turn, but the calendar advances at two years per turn. This also leads to some ludicrous situations such as it taking sixteen years to cross the Atlantic... but these are details, and in any case this is all a sideshow. The true strength of the game is on the tactical battlefield.

Frustratingly, though, the game has not fixed some of the more annoying elements of its predecessor. Units from the eastern end of the map are still overpowered; the non-player horde armies are still virtually impossible to defeat, and a single unit of horse archers can still waste hours of your life as you fruitlessly chase them around a battlefield trying to finish them off (there's still no "super-fast-forward" button as there was in Shogun and Medieval I). Again, though, these are small details in an otherwise excellent battle game. The AI is possibly a little on the predictable and passive side, but is still challenging enough for all but the most experienced players... and then there's always the multiplayer.

(Players of Shogun will also welcome the return of short, entertaining videos illustrating the success or failure of assassination attempts.)

The game is slightly schizophrenic when it comes to historical accuracy; on the one hand it still paints in the broadest of brush-strokes when it comes to the strategic map (controversially leaving Aragon out entirely), which will doubtless irritate any scholars of the period. However, when it comes to unit names and designations, it is entirely authentic, to the point where, to some English-speaking readers, the names of some units will be all but unintelligible. It is difficult to fault the game too heavily in this regard, though, and the variety of units available is amazing.

The expansion pack, Kingdoms, fixes some minor bugs from the original, but, more significantly, introduces four new grand campaigns to play through, as well as new multiplayer factions. Of these campaigns (the Third and later Crusades, the British Isles c.1250, the Baltic Crusade, and the Spanish conquest of America) the only one to introduce anything really new is the American campaign, with its wide variety of native factions and units. All of the campaigns are fun to play, though, and their focus allows them to include historical details overlooked in the main campaign.

Overall, the game is excellent. Anyone who is already a fan of the Total War series will love it, and anyone who has not previously played it would do well to give it a try. My criticisms above are nitpicks and do not seriously detract from the experience, although veteran players might be slightly disappointed that some of the details have not been fixed since Rome. The strategic gameplay is comparable with franchises like Civilisation, and the tactical, unit-based gameplay is still by far the best of any game on the market. The graphics are breathtaking, and the interface is completely intuitive for all the important elements of gameplay (and there is good in-game help for those who need it). Five stars are well-deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition (PC DVD)
5.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews