Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare great slice of Disco cheese
I'll admit I only bought this for the one track...Melba Moore's "Pick me up I'll dance" which is one of those hard-to-find gold nuggets but there are other tracks here worth mentioning because on closer inspection you'll find some real gems, largely from the 1970s, but also a few from the early 80s like Vicky D's uptempo classic "This beat is mine" from 1982...
Published on 18 Feb. 2010 by Mr. Tony Magnier

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disco
This starts off as an interesting collection but the sound quality is rather thin. If the tracks had been remastered it would have been a lot better as I have little quarrel with the selection. There are better disco compilations available and I would direct readers to those.
Published on 23 Oct. 2012 by Bruce the Moose


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare great slice of Disco cheese, 18 Feb. 2010
By 
This review is from: Ultimate Disco (Audio CD)
I'll admit I only bought this for the one track...Melba Moore's "Pick me up I'll dance" which is one of those hard-to-find gold nuggets but there are other tracks here worth mentioning because on closer inspection you'll find some real gems, largely from the 1970s, but also a few from the early 80s like Vicky D's uptempo classic "This beat is mine" from 1982.

Another rare find on this compilation is Johnny Mathis "Gone gone gone" a "Power Play" back in the day on Radio Luxembourg and the multi award winning disco classic "Got to be real" by Cheryl Lynn. Other notable mentions include "Bourgie Bourgie" by Gladys Knight and the Pips, "Dance little lady dance" by Tina Charles, the rare "Female Intuition" by Mai Tai, and the super-rare "Music is the answer" from Colonel Abrahms who later went on to score a massive top 10 hit in 1985 with "Trapped".

Mind you some of the usual disco chestnuts turn up here too, you've probably seem them on dozens of disco compilations already, "Never too much" from the late great Luther Vandross, "Boogie Wonderland" by EW&F, "Going back to my roots" Odyssey. There are other tracks which may be largely unknown but are well worth a listen, amoung this odd asortment "Weekend" by Mick (not Michael!) Jackson, "Finders Keepers" Chairman of the Board, and more.

The tracks have been remastered well so you get great sound quality and not only that but none of the tracks are re-recorded or recorded Live, they're all the originals.

I have to say this 3 CD set is a real treat and I would recommend it to anyone who lived through this golden era, or to those who may be curious to see what all the fuss was about. Go order it today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Track LIsting, 13 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Ultimate Disco (Audio CD)
Since amazon haven't provided a track listing i found one elsewhere on the net...
hope it's the right one, no guarantees, but it was with a picture of the same album (selling for £9 on ebay)

Track listing
1. Ain't No Stoppin' Us Now - McFadden & Whitehead
2. Instant Replay - Hartman, Dan
3. Blame It On The Boogie - Jacksons
4. Love Train - O'Jays
5. Long Lost Lover - Three Degrees
6. Don't Leave Me This Way - Melvin, Harold & The Blue Notes
7. Rock The Boat - Hues Corporation
8. I'll Always Love My Mama - Intruders
9. Best Of My Love - Emotions
10. Play That Funky Music - Wild Cherry
11. Dance To The Music - Sly & The Family Stone
12. Armed And Extremely Dangerous - First Choice
13. Turn The Beat Around - Robinson, Vicki Sue
14. How Much Love - Sayer, Leo
15. Love Really Hurts Without You - Ocean, Billy
16. Keep On Dancing - Bay City Rollers
17. Dance Little Lady Dance - Charles, Tina
18. Daddy Cool - Boney M
19. Pick Me Up I'll Dance - Moore, Melba
20. Weekend - Jackson, Mick

1. Groove Line, The - Heatwave
2. More More More - Andrea True Connection
3. Disco Nights (Rock Freak) - Williams, G.Q.
4. Got To Be Real - Lynn, Cheryl
5. Keep On Dancin - Gary's Gang
6. Boogie Wonderland - Earth Wind & Fire/The Emotions
7. Strut Your Funky Stuff - Frantique
8. Going Back To My Roots - Odyssey
9. Let's Go Round Again - Average White Band
10. Gone Gone Gone - Mathis, Johnny
11. Disco Lady - Taylor, Johnnie
12. Finders Keepers - Chairmen Of The Board
13. Express - BT Express
14. When You're #1 - Chandler, Gene
15. Change It Up - Blue, Barry
16. Windy City (Theme) - Windy City Orchestra
17. Do It Anyway You Wanna - People's Choice
18. It's A Disco Night (Rock Don't Stop) - Isley Brothers
19. Aint That Enough For You - Davis, John & The Monster Orchestra
20. Love Come Down - King, Evelyn 'Champagne'

1. Funkin' For Jamaica (N.Y.) - Browne, Tom
2. Groove, The - Franklin, Rodney
3. Bourgie Bourgie - Knight, Gladys & The Pips
4. Bring The Family Back - Paul, Billy
5. You Know How To Love Me - Hyman, Phyllis
6. Looking Up To You - Wycoff, Michael
7. Give Me The Reason - Vandross, Luther
8. Let Somebody Love You - Burke, Keni
9. Expansions - Smith, Lonnie Liston
10. Just A Groove - Adams, Glen Affair
11. This Beat Is Mine - Vicky D
12. Just Let Me Dance - Scandal
13. Happiness Is Just Around The Bend - Gooding, Cuba
14. Turn It Up - Conway Brothers
15. Jump (For My Love) - Pointer Sisters
16. Female Intuition - Mai Tai
17. Jump Back (Set Me Free) - Braxton, Dhar
18. Music Is The Answer - Colonel Abrams
19. Share The Night - World Premiere
20. Body Work - Hot Streak

Details
Number of CDs: 3
Recording type: Studio
Distributor: 2 Entertain/Sony DADC

Portions of this page Copyright 1948-2012 Muze Inc. and Muze Europe Ltd. All rights reserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Collection of DISCO!.., 8 Jan. 2012
By 
Mr. C. Cowley (Cheshire,U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Disco (Audio CD)
This is a great 3-CD set of 60 classic disco tracks largely from the disco peak of 1975 through 1980,though there are a few from the early 80's in there too.As with most collections there's the usual hits that everyone knows that turn up again and again and again(Earth,Wind&Fire 'Boogie Wonderland',McFadden&Whitehead 'Aint No Stopping Us Now'etc.).But as the previous reviewer rightly pointed out there's a good few rarities here too and that's what prompted my purchase-those tracks you recognise from years ago but never seem to get played or make it onto collections.So because of this,this particular set is highly recommended and i'm very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disco, 23 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Disco (Audio CD)
This starts off as an interesting collection but the sound quality is rather thin. If the tracks had been remastered it would have been a lot better as I have little quarrel with the selection. There are better disco compilations available and I would direct readers to those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars YOU'LL WISH YOUR FOOR LIT UP!!, 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Disco (Audio CD)
A great collection of classics....forget the neighbours - get it on and play it loud....or find an excuse for a long car journey just to you can pop it on there too.... Timeless, classic, quality...happy days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great tracks, but really let down by bad edits and poor mastering, 2 Sept. 2012
By 
Mr. D "Mr. D" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ultimate Disco (Audio CD)
This review is for: Ultimate Disco Classics
I've bought five titles in this "Ultimate" range from Music Club. Generally speaking they offer good track selections and excellent mastering and I have enjoyed the other four. But this particular release is different from the others and is let down by poor mastering at times and some really poor versions used for some of the tracks. A lot of the tracks are buffered close together with no gap or a split second gap, which is annoying if you want to play a track in isolation. This may be fine if you just want some background music for when you're doing something else, but if you know and love these songs and want to replace your original vinyl records then it doesn't make the grade. It all sounds like it has been put together in an extreme rush and without any real care or respect for the music. It starts off not too bad on Disc 1 and the first half of Disc 2, but it gets worse the longer it is on, particularly Disc 3 which starts well with Tom Browne, Rodney Franklin and Gladys Knight, but goes down hill. Many of the tracks don't fade out properly, they start to fade and then just end abruptly which is extremely irritating (for instance, Michael Wycoff "Looking Up To You" ends abruptly in the middle of a word!). Where it is usual for a fade out on a track to be around five seconds, here you are lucky to even get one second on some of these tracks, they just suddenly stop. Also, there are some extremely short versions used here. Disco is a genre where 12" mixes running 6 minutes plus are the norm. Understandably on a compilation with 20 tracks per disc I would expect 7" single versions to be used. However, many of the tracks are even shorter than the 7" mixes. Dhar Braxton "Jump Back (Set Me Free)" is 3:59 on 7" single, here it is 3:11 and sounds far too short. Glen Adams Affair "Just A Groove" on 7" is 3:12. As if that is not already short enough, here it is 2:32 ending abruptly just after it starts to fade out. World Premiere "Share The Night" is 4:19 on the original 7" single, here it is 2:58 and badly edited completely ruining the flow of the track. The edits in Vicky D "This Beat Is Mine" are all over the place, even losing the beat at one point, making it hard to listen to. Cuba Gooding "Happiness Is Just Around The Bend" is the worst. It is a total mess, it has the most bizarre edit at 1:28 that totally loses the flow and again at 2:24. Over all, there are a lot of good tracks here, but as a collection it doesn't work at all because of the bad edits, short versions and abrupt endings. I would get rid of it, but it includes a track I haven't got on any other CD: Timex Social Club "Rumors" which is the Shep Pettibone 7" version. But as soon as I find that on another CD, this one will be heading straight for the charity shop.

There are far better Disco compilations that I can recommend. 2 of my favourites are: 100 Essential Disco Hits or 100 Hits: Disco (Both have 5 CD's and a stronger track list over all). I can also recommend: Disco Fever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Disco (Audio CD)
Excellent dancing music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Disco (Audio CD)
Funk at its best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, boring background music., 30 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Disco (Audio CD)
I bought this, for family parties, to dance to.

Most of the tracks are humdrum. The sort of stuff you would play in the background.

Pretty disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultimate Disco
Ultimate Disco by Robbie Rivera (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews