Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Celebration Of Great British Folk
A good sampler of Brtitsh Folk from source singers, the 50s revival, through folk-rock to more recent times. Mostly lesser-known recordings, which complements my collection. Track list/sleeve notes short of detail of when, where, etc. so can't say how recent. Some are concert performances, but quite reasonable ones. Very good value at 2.98
Published on 2 Sep 2009 by K. Hobbs

versus
30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheapo
This is a compilation of a few songs by classic British Folk singers like Ewan MacColl and later, non-essential songs by some of the great Bands of the late 60s folk revival like Fairport Convention, mixed with some contemporary junk.
I guess that the only logic in choosing the tracks for this compilation was to keep the licencing fee as low as possible. Cheated...
Published on 12 July 2009 by Tim Graf


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Celebration Of Great British Folk, 2 Sep 2009
By 
K. Hobbs (South of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Celebration Of Great British Folk (Audio CD)
A good sampler of Brtitsh Folk from source singers, the 50s revival, through folk-rock to more recent times. Mostly lesser-known recordings, which complements my collection. Track list/sleeve notes short of detail of when, where, etc. so can't say how recent. Some are concert performances, but quite reasonable ones. Very good value at 2.98
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 28 Sep 2009
By 
Tabbyiab (Dorchester, Dorset) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Celebration Of Great British Folk (Audio CD)
There is a lot that I like on this compilation and some tracks that I am not so keen on but that is often the way when buying compilation albums. I bought it 'blind', so to speak, not having heard many of the tracks on here and was speculating on finding some gems. I was not disappointed in that. For the money, well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheapo, 12 July 2009
By 
Tim Graf - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Celebration Of Great British Folk (Audio CD)
This is a compilation of a few songs by classic British Folk singers like Ewan MacColl and later, non-essential songs by some of the great Bands of the late 60s folk revival like Fairport Convention, mixed with some contemporary junk.
I guess that the only logic in choosing the tracks for this compilation was to keep the licencing fee as low as possible. Cheated among all these great names are the two no-names Jack Hallam and Straight Furrow. Whilst the latter do some traditional irish folk on cheap synths, Mr. Hallam delivers two unbearable cheesy pop-songs.
Unlike as in same lables fine compilations of Bluegrass and Blues music, there are no liner notes. No wonder why...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good varied compilation of british folk, 9 April 2012
This review is from: A Celebration Of Great British Folk (Audio CD)
A bargin cd picked up in Fopp records in their 2 for 5.00 deal. Good varied selection, quite a lot of the tracks are new to me. Excellent value.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Folk record review, 27 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. C. Robinson (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Celebration Of Great British Folk (Audio CD)
Rather disappointed in the choice of tracks on this cd which for me does not reflect the best in English folk music. However, it is easy listening and I do put it on regularly so not all bad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars folk, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Celebration Of Great British Folk (Audio CD)
A great collection of folk songs and folk singers and groups. If you like folk you really should have this
CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Celebration Of Great British Folk (Audio CD)
If you like folk but are confused by the sheer volume of music available, this album is an excellent place to start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 Jan 2012
This review is from: A Celebration Of Great British Folk (Audio CD)
Great range of folk songs for a great price!!!
I would recommend this cd to anyone that likes good folk music.
Thanks mr Amazon!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction, 24 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Celebration Of Great British Folk (Audio CD)
Only recently took an interest in folk music to suppport a recently re-discovered desire to play guitar but well pleased with this selection of new ,old and positively ancient material.I'm sure there are better compilations of more up to date material but this has an authentic mix of styles and there is some accomplished musicianship to enjoy.One real disappointment is the recording of Sandy Denny's 'Who Knows Where The Time Goes'. Absoluteley shocking and must have been a filler as the original and other versions of this song have been known to bring a tear to the eye for other reasons than this one. On the whole though a good collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this CD!, 17 April 2010
By 
H. Ellis (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Celebration Of Great British Folk (Audio CD)
A bargain of a CD, with some great tracks that will have you exploring more recordings by these artists. It didn't leave my CD player for days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad965870)

This product

A Celebration Of Great British Folk
A Celebration Of Great British Folk by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews