Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first experience of The Feeling
Not having bought or heard any Feeling music before and based entirely on a recommendation by a friend, I bought "Join With Us" and was surprised to find proper music for a change. I'm so fed up with all the RAP and repetitive junk that is today's pop, I haven't bought anything since "Life is a Roller-coaster", so I was a bit unsure of The Feeling, but not any more...
Published on 8 May 2008 by Dai Mumfy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moving on...
It would seem that The Feeling are trying to move on from the pop-rock vibe that they made with their first album Twelve Stops and Home. Now they've moved on with Join With Us. A poppy dance-y slightly cheesey album. As much as I wanted to enjoy this (and I did really like most songs, like "Without You" and "This Time" to name two) it just didn't really seem as original...
Published on 3 Aug 2009 by E. Moore


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELO on Crack, 6 July 2008
This review is from: Join With Us (Audio CD)
As a fan of there first album I bought this album when it first came out, listened to it once and said "What is this? It sounds like ELO on crack. RUBBISH!!" And so didn't listen to it for ages. However i found it again the other day so listened to it once again. My reaction this time was "What is this? It sounds like ELO on crack. GREAT!!" I always find the things that take a while to like usually stay with you for longer. Good Album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still playing since launch day, 6 May 2008
By 
catki2 (UK, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Join With Us (Audio CD)
After the first albumn, I wasn't sure on the first play about all the tracks, but I've always found that these are the tracks that last rather than tracks that you like immediately, but soon tire of.
Fantastic follow up to the first excellent first albumn. The tracks range in style, but still retain that 'feeling' Feeling.
Try it, you won't be disappointed if you liked the first albumn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality again from the feeling!, 4 Mar 2008
brilliant album well worth buying! one of fav albums can listen to it over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun-time Feeling, 27 Feb 2008
By 
C. P. Horne (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Join With Us (Audio CD)
If asked to describe this album in one word I would say "fun".

One thing clearer than anything is that the band had tremendous fun throwing all kinds all kinds of musical styles and influences into this delightful little mix.

It's done in such a merry and uninhibited way that you can't help but smile.

Take the Celtic-infused Connor, Turn It Up's Status Quo-esque instrumental section, the 50s rock'n'roll swagger of Don't Make Me Sad with its ragtime outro and the song that will draw the strongest ELO comparisons yet: Join With Us.

It was never going to be as good as Twelve Stops And Home. Not as far as I was concerned anyway. Nevertheless, on first listen it sounds pretty darn good and improves with each listen.

Their ability to make incredibly infectious songs you'll be humming all day is intact. The melodies are strong and satisfying. The lyrics could be better and Dan's voice is sometimes lacking emotion.

Don't go looking for the melancholic beauty of Rose or Strange on here. You'll find it to an extent in This Time but it is otherwise absent.

On the plus side if you prefer The Feeling at their foot-tapping best you're spoilt for choice.

Overall, here is a band who have stuck two fingers up to the difficult second album stigma and delved child-like into their musical toybox, resulting in a lively, eclectic but most importantly fun album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such an underrated band who should be bigger, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this on the recommendations of other reviewers and I am happy to endorse the positive nature of this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Join With Us (Audio CD)
After listening to the album a couple of times I thought it was great. However, over the past few listenings I've come to dislike it to some extent. The sound is very 'cacophonic' at times and becomes annoying.
Still OK but no longer on my regular listening list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars With Feeling!!, 11 Aug 2010
By 
Sue Eggleton (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Join With Us (Audio CD)
Great sing a long favourites and some lesser known more melodic ones - all with great lyrics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Feb 2008
By 
Stuart D. Johnson "thejonsoon" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Join With Us (Audio CD)
This is one of those records that just grabs you straight away. Like their debut, it's light and enjoyable, full of easy, radio-friendly tunes. The Feeling are showing a knack for creating catchy, original melodies and after no more than 4 listens, I'd recommend this to anybody who enjoyed the bands first album.
I Thought It Was over hinted at a new direction, but the rest of the songs on this album definitely sound like The Feeling as we know them. "join with us" for example is full of lush harmonies and displays an energy that persists throughout the album. "The Greatest show on earth" is overly long at around 8minutes, but for the first half at least is as compelling as anything that the band have written.
Some critics have dismissed the band as a guilty pleasure (just as they praised the band as a wonderfully guilty pleasure in the past [does anything a critic writes really matter?]). The only way to find out is to buy the record and see for yourself, there is nobody else around making music as shamelessly enjoyable as this. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy Buy Buy!, 20 Feb 2008
By 
If like me you loved 'Twelve Stops and Home' and were wondering if this album could be anywhere near as good then you will not be disappointed. This album is full of yet more great catchy songs, both fast and slow. Make sure you get yourself the special edition to get the great bonus CD full of alternative versions of their previous singles. Plus the packaging is great too. Well worth the extra pennies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - and a nod at the Finn Brothers and Split Enz, 25 April 2008
By 
C. Whyatt "Music Lover" (Wargrave, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Join With Us (Audio CD)
I like both albums (can I call them that these days?) and the songs are great pop rock. The constant at the back of my mind is Tim & Neil Finn of Crowded House, Finn Brothers and even Split Enz - all of who The Feeling seem to sound strangely like, especially the vocals and the humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Join With Us
Join With Us by The Feeling (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews