Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Much Better
More Breaking acts and a few Gems too
Thoroughly recommended
Buy this to sample the Best of 2008 its worth it
Published 19 months ago by Mr. V. Yates

versus
4 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brainmelt?
What I expected from what is officialy titled the third in the series of brainfreeze phenomenon -->: More funk, more soul, more bounce per ounce.
What I got from what is officialy titled the third in the series of brainfreeze phenomenon -->: No funk, little soul, slightly reduced bounce per ounce.
If you do as I did and buy The Hard Sell based exclusively on...
Published on 28 Jan 2008 by R. J. Singer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Much Better, 20 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. V. Yates "Vinny" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk Awards 2008 (Audio CD)
More Breaking acts and a few Gems too
Thoroughly recommended
Buy this to sample the Best of 2008 its worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk Awards 2008 (Audio CD)
Lau's 'Hinba' is the highlight of this for me, but there are so many good songs, it's hard to know which ones to single out. It was a very good year for the R2 Folk Awards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent intro!, 17 July 2008
This review is from: Folk Awards 2008 (Audio CD)
Ok...so I'm new to the folk scene, but what an introduction. Excellent!!
Made me want more and feel more confident about exploring the possibilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I prefer 2007, 10 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Folk Awards 2008 (Audio CD)
Good broad sample of new folk, great value - a few tracks are dire but then one man's great is another's awful. 3 cds, well 2 and a half, good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Requires repeated listening, 2 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. L. Adams "Giddeo" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk Awards 2008 (Audio CD)
As mentioned by one of the other reviewers this album is not at all like Brainfreeze and Product Placement.

The album consists of two tracks, in much the same way as Brainfreeze, the packaging is pretty cool however theres no booklet included which is a shame because thats a big part of owning the album for me.

The first fifteen minutes aren't much to listen to, however the rest of it is pretty cool.
The first time I listened to this album I wasn't very impressed however after a couple of listens its actually a very good album on its own merit.

There is also a hidden track at the very end, a new take on the track that DJ shadow wrote for Dark Days.

This album will definately find itself in my regular rotation.
Be warned, though fans of DJ shadow's solo work will appreciate this album fans of Brainfreeze and Product Placement may be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brainmelt?, 28 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Folk Awards 2008 (Audio CD)
What I expected from what is officialy titled the third in the series of brainfreeze phenomenon -->: More funk, more soul, more bounce per ounce.
What I got from what is officialy titled the third in the series of brainfreeze phenomenon -->: No funk, little soul, slightly reduced bounce per ounce.
If you do as I did and buy The Hard Sell based exclusively on your knowledge of how great Brainfreeze and Product Placement were and expected more of the same, you'll no doubt be disappointed. If you bought it and are already a fan of DJ Shadow's more obscure solo work, then you may eventually grow to accept this CD as a classic, despite it requiring a good 4 or 5 listens to convince you of such. Shadow and Chemist seem to have deliberately veered away form the party-rocking funk-fest of Brainfreeze to the slightly mellowed Product Placement down to the almost obscure Hard Sell. Many people may feel a case of 'The Outsider Blues' with this latest release, but that's Shadow for you. Still going strong, and still forcing me to buy his stuff by being a genius. Odd, but nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Folk Awards 2008
Folk Awards 2008 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews