Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


92 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not A Translation
The two reviews currently available for this item are irrelevant (and misleading to potential buyers) insofar as they refer to the Nevill Cogill translation of the Canterbury Tales (which is another, quite different, volume in the Penguin Classics series). My completely new edition provides Chaucer's original Middle English text, with glosses on the page, a large...
Published on 10 Nov. 2007 by J. Mann

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle formatting ruins the text
Kindle formatting turns this book into a building site of footnote numbers, line numbers, indented and double indented margins. I suppose all this information might suit an academic reader, but it has lost the clarity of the printed edition.
Published on 2 Sept. 2010 by rubbidge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And God bring all of us to kingdom come., 8 Sept. 2006
This is an excellent translation of a marvellous work. I was amazed at the sophistication of Chaucer's writing and found the ideas in the tales very modern and expressed with great subtelty and wit. The tales themselves, and the superb translation into a modern verse form, are richly varied in subject matter, theme, tone, and stylistic form - classical tragedies, knights and damsels, and religious homilies, but my favourites were the comedies based on real-life medieval types: millers, students, friars, clerks in farcical and bawdy situations of fraud, adultery, eating, belching and farting. These paint a hilarious and colourful picture of the life of medieval england. Don't be intimidated by the length or the fact that the work is so ancient - Coghill's translation makes it a surprisingly easy and highly enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Edition, 27 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Written in the original Middle English vernacular, you really get a feel for Chaucer's original text that many modern translations simply cannot compete with. It takes a bit of practise to get the hang of, but once you have, it opens up the exciting and thoroughly entertaining world of the Canterbury Pilgrims. Containing helpful footnotes that offer translations, along with very detailed and well researched notes at the back, Jill Mann's edition comes highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Formatting, 16 Feb. 2013
Not a translation indeed and the very version many would want. However, many aslo prefer e-books , yet the formatting of this Kindle version is, as is usual with many a Kindle poetry book, awry in the extreme. I just bought the Penguin version of Dante's Divine Comedy, as although not perfect, one can live with the less than optimal formatting. However, I would advise anyone against buying the Kindle version of this book without checking out the sample first. Not sure whether the fault lies with Kindle or with Penguin but'tis a pity: the one star is for formatting; I would give 5 for content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars would love it, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canterbury Tales (Kindle Edition)
if i could get my kindle to link to my router[its a new Virigin one] i still have some patience left and will continue to work at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canterbury Tales (Kindle Edition)
fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrongly advertised, 23 Jun. 2013
By 
This review is from: Canterbury Tales (Kindle Edition)
It ISN'T in the original spelling ............ I can't give it 0 stars but it was a waste of my time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong description, 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canterbury Tales (Kindle Edition)
This is deeply disappointing. I bought it because it is described as being in the original spelling, by which I understood it to be in Chaucerian English. However it is a modern translation - and if it is a modern translation you want, there are many better ones on the market. What a waste of money. It irritates me every time I see the cover on my Kindle. I want a refund!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars they didn't send me the right book, 9 Nov. 2013
I needed this book for a module at university. I sent off for a second hand copy and I was sent a completely different Canterbury tales book without line numbers. Line numbers are very important if you're studying this as I am so I was very frustrated and completely wasted my money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Canterbury Tales
Canterbury Tales by D. Laing Purves
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews