Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice little independent Nazi Zombie movie.
If you're tired of gigantic hollywood horrors with their formulaic plots and calculated frights, you might want to try this little movie. Set in Eastern Europe, shot in Scotland, starring Ray Stevenson and costing a little over £1 million, you might be pleasantly surprised at the quality of this movie. Genuine tension is offset with sparing gore. Great gun battles and...
Published on 18 Mar. 2008 by Max Berman

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nazi-undead
This film should have been more than it was. The premise is great, the atmosphere is spot-on, the costumes and make-up are menacing and the characters are pretty decent. This menace is somehow lost, however, at some point during the overblown final plot-arc, which is a major shame because it really looks stunning and builds up some satisfying apprehension.
I cannot...
Published on 19 May 2009 by Arrrrrrrach


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice little independent Nazi Zombie movie., 18 Mar. 2008
By 
Max Berman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outpost [DVD] [2007] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
If you're tired of gigantic hollywood horrors with their formulaic plots and calculated frights, you might want to try this little movie. Set in Eastern Europe, shot in Scotland, starring Ray Stevenson and costing a little over £1 million, you might be pleasantly surprised at the quality of this movie. Genuine tension is offset with sparing gore. Great gun battles and some Nazi voodoo technology thrown in for good measure make this micro-budget effort well worth watching. There are some great characters from all over the world dying in some really creative ways and some pretty nasty baddies lurking in a pretty scary environment.

Why not bypass the hollywood dross and see how a bunch of enthusiastic Scottish film-makers do things. Great fun stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprising, 28 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I think everyone has a soft spot for budget horror films, but at the same time I don't think we expect much more from them than a bit of action, violence and fun. With Outpost, however, there is something rather original about it, and you quickly realise that this isn't quite like other mundane horror flicks.

A group of mercenaries are commissioned to accompany a scientist to an old Nazi bunker, which curiously has not been looted. It is soon realised that something is afoot when bodies are discovered inside, and even a 'survivor', who is apparently in a vegetative state. Fire-fights soon start taking place at the surface, between the mercenaries and an unknown foe, and strange things begin happening underground. Cutting the story short, basically what the bunker contains is Nazi super soldiers, who don't very much like visitors.

Fantastic action scenes throughout, and some damn scary moments when the lights go out and Nazi zombies start creeping around everywhere. Quality stuff; much recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forget zombies this is immortal time shifting Nazis!!, 26 May 2009
By 
Patrick Cann (Kenilworth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Being a fan of all things Romero I bought this thinking it would be packed with the shuffling undead as implied by other reviews, not so. My first pleasant surprise was to see Tyres (Michael Smiley) in one of the roles. Anyway I digress, on to the picture. A troop of mercenaries are enlisted to acccompany a businessman to a remote bunker in Eastern Europe. Once there they find evidence of Nazi experiments to create super soldiers. Without ruining the whole story things go wrong from there to the end. As I said no zombies but lots of supernatural super soldiers. Not all of the film made perfect sense and the viewer is left to fill in some blanks in the plot but I enjoy a film like that, one which makes you think a bit instead of spoonfeeding you. It is obvious that the whole thing was made on a shoestring but that adds to the whole feel in this instance. Instead of lavish production and acres of CGI the sets are old industrial builings which are grotty and look as if they have stood dormant since 1945. That being said there is one moment of 'Doctor Who' effects but don't let that put you off. On the whole I say buy it if these kind of films are your thing, you shouldn't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nazi-undead, 19 May 2009
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
This film should have been more than it was. The premise is great, the atmosphere is spot-on, the costumes and make-up are menacing and the characters are pretty decent. This menace is somehow lost, however, at some point during the overblown final plot-arc, which is a major shame because it really looks stunning and builds up some satisfying apprehension.
I cannot give it less than three stars, but only because I absolutely love this sort of thing, having grown up with Wolfenstein and Doom to take me to the early hours. One day somebody will nail this idea and unleash true grim krieg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I was expecting, 20 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I've seen a few war/horror pics including The Bunker, Dog Soldiers (my absolute fav), and I had The Outpost recommended by a friend. This is a pic set in the modern day and based around a group of mercs on a job.
It has a really simple story, so don't expect too many plot twists and turns. But the tempo of the action/suspense is quite good, its not just guns blazing from start to finish. The acting is good but a couple of the characters are very 2D, but hey there's mostly mercs so you can forgive this.
The effects are very simple, the movie relies on lighting and camera work to provide the atmosphere - and I think it does it really quite well.
It doesn't have the depth of character development and combat humour of Dog Soldiers and isn't quite as unnerving as The Bunker but I think it come closes enough to sit along side them on my DVD shelf - this one's not going to the charity shop.
The ultimate measure for me is do I regret spending 94 minutes of my life watching The Outpost, and the answer is absolutely not.
Definitely worth a watch if you like this genre and if you do then make sure you also watch The Bunker and Dog Soldiers as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great concept let down by a by-the-numbers script and underwhelming ..., 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outpost (Amazon Instant Video)
Great concept let down by a by-the-numbers script and underwhelming acting. The directing is adequate but really no more than that - it certainly doesn't get the most of the creepy situations, and never really makes the undead Nazis as scary and menacing as we want them to be. And why do so many screenwriters/directors think that it's a good thing to make all their characters cynical, wisecracking bastards who just speak like pale shadows of characters in other films? If you're going to start killing them off, and want us to care about it, then just get us to like them. And why are supposedly seasoned soldiers portrayed as gung-ho idiots, who shoot randomly at anything that moves, go to pieces the second things don't go their way and clearly would not have survived five minutes in actual combat?

Yes, you guessed it - I was frustrated by this film. It was just a bit dead, and not in a good way.

On the plus side, it looks great and the score is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice little independent Nazi Zombie movie., 23 April 2008
By 
Max Berman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
If you're tired of gigantic hollywood horrors with their formulaic plots and calculated frights, you might want to try this little movie. Set in Eastern Europe, shot in Scotland, starring Ray Stevenson and costing a little over £1 million, you might be pleasantly surprised at the quality of this movie. Genuine tension is offset with sparing gore. Great gun battles and some Nazi voodoo technology thrown in for good measure make this micro-budget effort well worth watching. There are some great characters from all over the world dying in some really creative ways and some pretty nasty baddies lurking in a pretty scary environment.

Why not bypass the hollywood dross and see how a bunch of enthusiastic Scottish film-makers do things. Great fun stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A worthy effort, 20 Oct. 2008
By 
Mr Chairman (Buckinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Made and shot on location in Scotland, the ideal place I suppose as it was chucking it down with rain throughout most of the film.

OUTPOST is a very solid debut from the Director with Ray Stevenson cast as the lead, who was perfect in my opinion primarily because like in the excellent TV series Rome, he can be a nasty piece of work yet you always seem to warm to his character, no matter what he does to shock you.

The basic plot is a team of Mercenaries in war-torn Eastern Europe are hired to find some real estate for what they are told are 'wealthy and powerful' backers, although they are not told the actual intention of the mission until nasty things start to happen, which is once they stumble across an old WWII Nazi bunker complex and find a survivor.

There's no real introduction to any of the mercenary characters, their beret regimental badges tell most of their tale for you, with an ex- Para, Royal Marine, US Marine, Russian Spetsnaz etc. You never know where they have all come from, but you just know it's not nice place.

The tension slowly builds on the excellent set that is the Bunker, all made entirely for the production in Glasgow indoors and mainly out of wood. It fooled me as I was wondering what building it was they must have shot it in, so full marks for the production design.

The action very much harks back to an old 1980's style horror flick, where the tension and what you think might happen is very much at the forefront of your viewing, as opposed to slash and kill in every scene. However, when you do see some nastiness in Outpost it's controlled very well by the director, it's nasty, but not over the top and like any good horror film leaves a lump in your throat then quickly moves on.

I thought this was an excellent idea for a horror/Zombie film. There was only one point which I thought made it look like the low budget production it was, and that was outside at the start of the final fight scene with the cheap pyrotechnics they used. Otherwise there was little to distinguish it from a multi-million production.

However, saying all that, throughout the film I did always feel that there was something missing which would have taken it onto another level, like the stifling claustrophobic atmosphere they created in the excellent film, Downfall, with Bruno Ganz, which takes place mainly in Hitler's Bunker in Berlin as the Russians are closing in at the end of the war.

If the director had managed to create half of Downfall's tension it would have made this an unmissable film to see, but sadly he didn't although full marks for effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something wicked this way comes, 16 April 2010
By 
Kenneth F. Mcara "Kenneth F. McAra" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
The existence of this film, as shown through the interviews provided as extras to the DVD, is a triumph of enthusiasm, panache and gripping storyline over money. It was made swiftly and efficiently by a group of first-timers for a miniscule amount of money, with filming taking place in Dumfries & Galloway as well as in a specially-constructed set (the bunker) in - of all places - Govan Town Hall, Glasgow. Whilst the idea behind the film (modern mercenary soldiers on a mission which is not all it seems) is hardly unique, the style belies the low budget and the film is both entertaining and quirky. The first 40 minutes are used to build the tension slowly, as we become aware of the likely fate of those involved, and we are misled several times regarding when the carnage is to begin and who will be the first victim. Despite assertions to the contrary on the DVD cover, the film is not particularly gory, although there are several violent deaths in the final 20 minutes or so.

The film carries many echoes of the Alien franchise and sits firmly in the "entertaining nonsense" category. It was so successful that a sequel, Outpost II, is currently in pre-production, with the same writer, director and production team.

If you are attracted to films which feature unkillable reanimated Nazi soldiers, then this is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars could have been so much more, 17 Aug. 2009
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Outpost [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
A man called Hunt (Julian Wadham) approaches DC (Ray Stevenson) and hires him and 6 mercenaries to act as escorts and bodyguards as he looks for a long abandoned WW2 Nazi Military bunker (the outpost of the title). He is searching for a piece of machinery based on a theory by Einstein called the "unified field theory" - how the 4 forces of matter interact. Unfortunately, when they find the bunker they also find a room of bodies (not skeletons) and one survivor. Then things really start to go wrong, and the extent of the Nazi experiments starts to come to light.

For those that know about first person shooter games, the underlying story is (I am told) ripped from Return to Castle Wolfenstein - Return to Castle Wolfenstein: The Extended Edition.

This was a low budget movie, but is really not that bad for its lack of money. It has little or no CGI FX - which means that the film is dependant on the acting and scene setting rather than flashing effects. Much of the acting is ok and is good enough to carry off the tension required.

Unfortunately, this film misses the target because there are no `characters' among the mercenaries that you can take hold of and follow through to the end. This is due to the fact that they are flat (honestly they do lack any dimension at all) - this would appear to be a scripting problem. No thought had been given to producing characters that the watcher could get to know - when the mercenaries start to die I had a "so what" type of feeling rather than the usual "oh no" feeling I get. Character development could have been done throughout the first half of the film, but was completely ignored - such a shame as a little thought in that direction could have turned this from an ok film into a great film.

Overall, it misses the humour and camaraderie of the likes of Dog Soldiers [DVD] [2002].

At the end was still left questioning whether the bad guys were zombies or ghosts or what.

This film is, however, a good way to waste 1 hour 27 minutes on a Halloween night during a back-to-back horror fest with friends and family. It does build up some tension and can produce the odd jump every now and again. It is one of those films that will sit in the cupboard and come out every couple of years for the horror film fest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outpost [DVD] [2007] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews