Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My earliest S.F. memory
This was my first ever experience of Science Fiction which I remember fondly. I liked it so much I also bought the paperback many decades later. I was particularly bowled over by the thought that there could ever be beings from another planet, that they could be amongst us, that strange devices called interroceters could be used as an intelligence test & the bug eyed...
Published on 1 Sep 2009 by Mr. A. J. L. Banister

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good 50s sci-fi experience.
This film will offer you a typical 50s Sci-Fi experience. It features everything you might be expecting: spacecraft and space travel, strange looking alien creatures ,and the kind of acting that makes you realize why some of these actors vanished after this film. Rex Reason(with his impressively deep voice) is not the greatest actor,but he does have a handsome presence...
Published on 4 Dec 2009 by Close Range.


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To DVD at Last..., 26 Mar 2008
By 
Al (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: This Island Earth [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
The movie itself a a great example of 50's sci-fi. The only reason the DVD gets 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the actual quality of the DVD release. The Technicolor DVD transfer is good, the colours are bold and the image is sharp. However, I couldn't help but noticing that transfer could have done with some cleaning up, there's an awful lot of wear and tear on the original film which is quite evident in the titles. A more major gripe is the utter lack of DVD extras, not even a theatrical trailer. A bit more effort into producing the DVD would have got this the full whack. In conclusion, the film itself is fantastic, the DVD however is not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Feb 2014
By 
L.C "@@" (Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Island Earth [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
I saw this film ages ago as a boy and I had to buy it.
This 50s sci fi genre is not for everyone, however the story lines are good and the special effects for the time of no CGI are a wonder.
Well worth having, but folks will wonder what your about if they watch it with you unless they too are into the sci fi genre.
Recommended, you wont be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captures the fear of the atomic age perfectly., 22 April 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Island Earth [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
Carl Meacham is an atomic scientist, who after passing a cunning test, gets invited to work at a top secret lab out in Georgia by the rather odd looking Exeter. The project is apparently in the cause of finding world peace, and once arriving at his destination, Carl finds other notable scientists are also there, including the radiant Ruth Adams. As things progress things don't quite add up, and this leads to a realisation that the future of Earth is very much in the balance.

This Island Earth not only divides the casual film viewer, it's also proved divisive amongst the most hardened of sci-fi genre supporters. Some say it's story is barely worth a second glance, whilst others point to a distinct lack of scientific nous as a reason to do the film down. To me I find it to be very much on the money for the era it was made. This film comes nearly ten years after America ended World War II with an atomic attack on Japan, nuclear reactors had been commissioned and were no longer seen solely as a weapon of mass destruction, the nuclear age was prominent and very much a reality.

Yes the film is far fetched fantasy, and it tries too hard to encompass a myriad of plot strands, something which to the younger viewers is likely to fly right over their heads. But the value comes very much in the production as a whole. Marvel at the sets, the model work and the gadgets that feature heavily in this delicious slice of berserker sci-fi. Take in the incredible work of cinematographer Clifford Stine as we find ourselves on a desolate planet, it's a beacon of the genre because it identified the benefits of Technicolor to sci-fi and used it vividly to enhance its story (even if subsequent home entertainment releases have yet to restore it to a print fully worthy of the color venture).

The lovely Faith Domergue and square jawed Rex Reason play our intrepid scientists with verve and vigour, whilst Jeff Morrow is uneasily quirky as the mysterious Exeter. This Island Earth is a technically wonderful film, a shining light from a time when cinema was a craft from all quarters of the medium, it's also intelligent and knowingly astute of its time frame.

Don't believe the nay sayers, this is a smart, poetic fantasy that also contains genuine moments of beauty. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Meteoric Rise To Flame!, 15 Jan 2013
By 
Arch Stanton (Cornwall, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: This Island Earth [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
A scientist mysteriously receives and builds an 'interossiter'(?!) machine and then discovers that it is infact an intelligence test designed by some aliens, disguised as Tefal men (off the old adverts), who are actually from the planet Metaluna! Apparently they're recruiting Earthies in order to work out a strategy to protect themselves from their arch enemies, some jokers who keep firing Meteors at their planet. Will the Earthlings save the alien planet from doom or will their Metalunian kidnappers simply tire of their inability to complete difficult tasks yesterday and explode them for the hell of it...
Sci~Fi adventure from the 50s that bombards the viewer with some state of the art effects (which are still good enough today, if you are capable of using your imagination in this modern cgi world!) along with a fun script, full of interplanetary intrigue and cornyness..
I don't believe this is anywhere near as good as the best of the genre from that era but never the less it's still a thoroughily enjoyable and undeniabley iconic sunday afternoon space yarn.
Personaly i would've liked to have seen more mutant attacks and fighting, and errr... more Tefal babes in silver space bikinis!
The region 2 dvd is a good print with no extras! 3.5/5 rounded up to nearest star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Island Earth is consider another must have early SiFi classic., 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Island Earth [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
This Island Earth is consider another must have early SiFi classic. The full widescreen version of this movie improves the viewing experience. The acting and special effect are good for their time and, apart from some illogical dialog, is a enjoyable movie which can be view time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Island Earth - magnificent!, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Island Earth [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
I recently purchased the WIDESCREEN version of This Island Earth from Amazon/UK
I am aware that many people have stated that TIE was never filmed in Widescreen. I can now say definitively that this position is dead wrong.
This widescreen version from Amazon/UK is unquestionably widescreen. It has been cropped top & bottom (slightly) but new details have emerged at the left & right sides.
In order for this to be the case (and it is) the original film (frames) HAD to be filmed in Widescreen. Thus, for the "standard" presentation (in theaters and the US DVD versions) it was cropped side to side. In the widescreen UK version, each frame was cropped top & bottom. You cannot do this UNLESS each frame contained an image that included ALL the copped sections that were "deleted" depending on which aspect ratio was used. As I said above, most US theaters used a standard ratio; although I did personally see TIE presented in a widescreen ratio at a theater in Dallas, TX many years ago.
Otherwise, the film quality is of the highest possible; the print was absolutely pristine; sound likewise. It was a true joy to behold.
Question : Why isn't this WIDESCREEN version available for American audiences !! Come on, Universal, let's get this beautiful film available in the US too !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful-full of wonders, 6 July 2012
This review is from: This Island Earth [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
"Greetings, Earthman, welcome to our painting".Yes, this could have been the first words after landing on Metaluna. But it doesn't matter.

Like "The Thing From Another World", this is an early attempt in cinema in showing Man's tiny place in the universe.

While the effects may be creaky now, they reamain enjoyable. I have always loved the scene of Metaluna being bombed by the meteors giuded by spaceships.

Everything is as expected, but this remains a wondrous, wonderful piece of sci fi nostalgia, which can hardly be recommended too highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Island Earth in Pal format Wide Screen, 5 Jun 2010
By 
William Burnell (Ridgefield, Ct.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Island Earth [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
I have viewed this movie for years on T.V. Owned the VHS & Laser Disc. versions I have to say seeing this movie the way fans saw it in 1955 was like seeing it for the 1st. time ! The colors are stronger , there's more image to be seen on the ends , as opposed to the "zoomed" in vhs & laser disc. copies. Overall a better movie experience. Gary Tooz's review of the movie in the PAL version is spot on & the slightly speeded up voicesare there, but not to objectionable. If you"ve seen the movie a lot you"ll notice it, other wise you can deal with it. Maybe in the not to distant future Universal will put some effort into a good restoration & some additinal info on the making of this movie, it would be worth for the movie viewer who wants a bit more" meat on the bone" version. If you have a multi regional dvd player , by all means get the Pal version , its worth it. Enjoy..Thats what movie viewing is all about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the classic sci fi movies of the 50 ..., 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Island Earth [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
One of the classic sci fi movies of the 50 's which is well ahead of its time . A very different and unique plot line which influenced countless future series.A masterpiece of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still appealing., 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Island Earth [DVD] [1955] (DVD)
This film was quite an eye-opener when I saw it in 1955. It was the first coloured inter-planetary sci-fi film that I can recollect. Aliens with enlarged brain boxes was quite an extraordinary sight. How the sci-fi film industry has advanced since the early days of Flash Gordon (Buster Crabbe), but, has the excitement of those childhood days ever been recaptured? I enjoyed 'This Island Earth'. However, my favourite sci-fi film of all time is: The Day the Earth Stood Still, with Michael Rennie and Patricia Neal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Island Earth [DVD] [1955]
This Island Earth [DVD] [1955] by Joseph Newman (DVD - 2008)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews