Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blew me away
I feel that words cannot really describe my thoughts on this book, it completely blew me away. I will try my best to put my thoughts into words, just don't expect too much!

At first I was a little unsure about reading a book based on September the 11th, not because I had no interest in the subject but because there was a part of my that thought it didn't seem...
Published on 1 April 2012 by Lucybird

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok but not a lot
Ok but nothing too deep pretty light and not really one I would recommend. Appreciate what happened affected all in many different ways and I acknowledge this but it really is just ok and nothing more in my opinion.
Published 22 months ago by Mrs. W


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blew me away, 1 April 2012
By 
Lucybird (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: That Day In September (Paperback)
I feel that words cannot really describe my thoughts on this book, it completely blew me away. I will try my best to put my thoughts into words, just don't expect too much!

At first I was a little unsure about reading a book based on September the 11th, not because I had no interest in the subject but because there was a part of my that thought it didn't seem right to make money out of a tragedy such as that day, but once I started `getting to know' Artie I didn't feel that way any more. It felt more like he was helping people to understand while relieving his own pain. I can imagine that writing about what happened that day must have been difficult for him.

In terms of read-a-bility for such a difficult matter That Day in September was surprisingly easy to read. The book was short (less than 100 pages) and the language was simple, so I managed to read the whole thing in less than an hour while waiting for the boyfriend in a coffee shop. However the simplicity didn't take anything away from the subject matter (at least in terms of emotional impact), if anything it let events speak for themselves. I liked that Van Why left things unsaid, sometimes words cannot match an emotion or an image, who can really describe what we all saw (whether in person or through the television) that day?

I did find myself wanting to e-mail Van Why as soon as I had read the book. Wanting to write about what I had read and urge you all to read it. What a shame I was nowhere near a computer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok but not a lot, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Day In September (Kindle Edition)
Ok but nothing too deep pretty light and not really one I would recommend. Appreciate what happened affected all in many different ways and I acknowledge this but it really is just ok and nothing more in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ashame for 9/11, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Day In September (Kindle Edition)
u feel like ur there its a sad story but good one its ashame for them ppl xxxxxxxx xxxxxx xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving!, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Day In September (Kindle Edition)
I was in the USA the morning it happened, and the whole country was stunned by the event, but to see it through the eyes of some one who was actually there was amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a touching tribute, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Jodie Downes (Stoke-on-Trent, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Day In September (Kindle Edition)
I'm not normally a fan of non fiction, but 9/11 is something that really struck me and stayed with me. This was heartfelt, emotional and beautifully portrayed. It was truthful without being distasteful and personal without being selfish. An insight into Artie's experience and a glimpse of Ground Zero in the making. I would recommend to anyone with an interest in the 9/11 tragedy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A very personal account, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Day In September (Kindle Edition)
This book gave an insight as to how an ordinary person was affected by such a tragic event and I found myself wondering how a person overcomes such an event. It is not the most complete review of what happened on that day and after but it gives another personal perspective of the events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very powerful book., 30 Nov 2013
By 
Louise "Hi my name is Louise and I am from th... (Durham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Day In September (Kindle Edition)
Along with everyone else I will never ever forget that day, the images on the tv. Newspapers the next day. But to read this first hand witness account was so very moving indeed. Thanks to author for sharing his experience with us.

Louise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a brisk reminder, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Day In September (Kindle Edition)
i read this book in a very short time ,its a personal account of what that day in September meant to the author .
i think you could read a number of books like this and find the same account within reason .
sorry but nothing new .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars That Day in September, 10 Nov 2013
This review is from: That Day In September (Kindle Edition)
That Day in September is a personal account of an eyewitness to 9/11. Unfortunately the first disappointment of the book is the realisation that instead of the book being written by someone who was in the Twin Towers, the Pentagon or a first responder, as I first assumed, it is actually by someone who was very close to the World Trade Centre that day but was never actually inside, and was in fact only in the area for a very short time after the planes hit. Indeed, very little of the book is actually a description of what he witnessed that morning, although some of the description he gives is harrowing, such as watching a pile of bodies grow as people started jumping from windows.

The vast majority of the book is the author's life story, he talks about being gay and moving to New York, having a dead end job and eventually becoming an actor after releasing that life was too short to be held back. Unfortunately none of this is particularly interesting, and as Artie Van Why wasn't vastly more affected (in an overall perspective) than most others by 9/11, the post 9/11 events don't hold the same draw as those told by those more profoundly affected like the victims families.

I think That Day in September is more of a cathartic experience for the author than a real attempt at producing a bestselling account of that day, and in this I hope it succeeded.

Overall, there is not really anything special about Artie's short account, as he didn't really experience anything differently to thousands of New Yorkers, and wasn't really involved in the events of 9/11 for very long. As such it is not really an interesting read and is not a book I would recommend.

[A review copy was provided by the author]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A different aspect, 29 Oct 2013
By 
Fiona Messenger "honestfi" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That Day In September (Kindle Edition)
I've read testimonies and I've even read novels based on that horrific day 11 September 2001 - they were all written from the point of view of law enforcement or the fire service. This is a very human testimony - a very ordinary guy, in a very ordinary job, deeply affected by what happened in his city. Even 12 years later, it is still heart wrenching and deeply upsetting in places - particularly when he says that he felt so helpless and didn't do enough...in fact he did more than what many could stomach. Although due respect to those in paid or voluntary work who lost their lives, or are still living through a holocaust of losing loved ones or colleagues on the day, (and feel that because of their role they could have done more) it is refreshing to have this account from an ordinary citizen, and very well written. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

That Day In September
That Day In September by Artie Van Why
£2.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews