Customer Reviews


179 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Musical Friend
Eddie the Elephant Tunes is a wonderful musical friend for a baby. Our baby got hers at about the age of 1 and has been a huge fan in the months since. Eddie plays a series of children's tunes, has a range of notes to press on his trunk, and has a great tactile pleasure for a baby. Our baby enjoys Eddie's company so much that Eddie often gets a big hug whenever he...
Published on 23 Nov. 2011 by MLA

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice idea but keeps going wrong
This elephant is bright and colourful to look at. It is a good size and our little girl thought he was wonderful. Eddie tends to get carrie around by his ears which I guess is why they are designed as they are.

The only problem is, we are on our third replacement one of these toys, as they keep breaking. The toy itself looks ok, but the musical bit seems to go...
Published 14 months ago by CycleRacing


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Musical Friend, 23 Nov. 2011
By 
MLA (Jakarta, Indonesia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lamaze Eddie the Elephant Tunes (Baby Product)
Eddie the Elephant Tunes is a wonderful musical friend for a baby. Our baby got hers at about the age of 1 and has been a huge fan in the months since. Eddie plays a series of children's tunes, has a range of notes to press on his trunk, and has a great tactile pleasure for a baby. Our baby enjoys Eddie's company so much that Eddie often gets a big hug whenever he starts to play his tunes.

Eddie generates a tune when the quaver symbol on his left front pad is squeezed. It isn't entirely easy for a baby to put enough pressure on the quaver to play the tunes but that isn't necessarily a bad thing as it makes Eddie a more friendly for all the family. Eddie starts off with Old Mac Donald any time he is turned on and also begins with that tune as part of his cycle so that one will become very familiar. Other tunes like B-I-N-G-O and Three Blind Mice are also well rendered. The tunes themself are nice but in Eddie's package are adorable to a baby.

What makes Eddie such a great friend is that he is the right size, weight, and feel for a baby. Eddie's ears crinkle as do his feet. The trunk is an appendage that can be useful for dragging, waving, or pretending to hunt for things. As Eddie is light, it is very easy for even a small baby to wave him around and when Eddie is moved with a little bit of vigour, his trunk and flop around in a way that can be described as dancing. Babies seem to love Eddie's dancing not least because the crinkle sound on his feet are a nice addition to his movement when he is bounced up and down.

The battery pack is located at the back behind a velcro zip. The velcro seems quite tight which is a good thing and means even parents have to put in some effort to open it up. Babies will find it very difficult to get to the battery pack. One thing to note is that when the battery pack is jolted (such as when a baby slams Eddie from a height) the programing will register that Eddie has been turned on again so Old Mac Donald will start again from the beginning.

In addition to the automated music, Eddie's trunk offers an octave of notes. These aren't easy for a baby to press because some pressure needs to be applied to make the notes work. It is possible to record the notes played but realistically a baby isn't going to be creating a masterpiece and even Mozart wasn't putting operattas together before his second birthday. The recording idea seems nicer in theory than in practice and it isn't Eddie's main appeal. The main purpose of Eddie is to give a baby an entertaining musical friend to play and dance with and to make a baby happy with his big eyes and wobbly trunk as he plays some child friendly tunes.

Eddie the Elephant Tunes is a great toy for parents to entertain babies with and effectively is a colourful teddy bear with the added bonus of some music. We didn't introduce Eddie before our baby's first birthday but Eddie has been a great little friend and the recipient of plenty of hugs since he was revealed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eddie the EXCELLENT Elephant!!!!!!!!!!, 11 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Lamaze Eddie the Elephant Tunes (Baby Product)
What a FAB toy!!! I bought this for my 7 month old daughter for Christmas & she absolutely loves it. When you push the music note on his left foot tunes are played, while the star on his right, records tunes that you play yourself by pushing the buttons (musical notes) on his trunk. She isn't old enough yet to use the recording function but I have certainly had some fun with it!!!! There is an accompanying booklet with colour & shape-coded notes to help. She loves to hold on to his ears, suck on his trunk, lie on his belly & chew on his feet. All in all, an excellent high quality product, well designed, well made, colourful, fun, high quality and plays great tunes - definitely a great purchase!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice idea but keeps going wrong, 1 April 2014
By 
CycleRacing (England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lamaze Eddie the Elephant Tunes (Baby Product)
This elephant is bright and colourful to look at. It is a good size and our little girl thought he was wonderful. Eddie tends to get carrie around by his ears which I guess is why they are designed as they are.

The only problem is, we are on our third replacement one of these toys, as they keep breaking. The toy itself looks ok, but the musical bit seems to go wrong, whereby some of the buttons work, others don't or else music plays randomly. We have put our foot down for a fourth one.

It's a shame that the musical part isn't more robust, because overall the toy is cute and when it's working is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Faulty! What a shame as it's a nice looking item!, 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lamaze Eddie the Elephant Tunes (Baby Product)
Bought this as a xmas gift for my baby niece and got it in the 'black friday' deals so it was reduced even more. Brilliant I thought. It arrived and everything seemed fine, the crinkly textures were nice and the buttons down the front made cute little sounds HOWEVER the record feature on the 'star' arm which lets a child record their musical musings does not work. Hmph! Looked at returning it but surprise surprise nothing is simple, the options are calling to have someone collect it, take it to a 'collection point' or post it back yourself but only up to a certain postage value. Come on Amazon, sort it out, why not give the option of printing off a FREEPOST label (which covers any return postage amount)?!? This would give the customer the option of popping to their local post office to return it. What with other things going wrong over this period, I can't be bothered with all this faff. Therefore, my niece will have to do without the record feature. And by the look in her eyes I can see a budding Mozart waiting to get out. Oh well! Will have to buy her that grand piano after all! Sorry Lamaze but I will be thinking twice before I purchase any of your products in the future. Disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our little one loves it, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lamaze Eddie the Elephant Tunes (Baby Product)
Our little one loves this - she likes to chew on the ears and hug it whilst furiously trying to chew various parts. It has lots of textures and scrunchy sounds and of course the trunk plays tunes when you press the symbols.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful educational gift., 9 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Lamaze Eddie the Elephant Tunes (Baby Product)
Absolutely loved this item. I'm amazed at how much they've packed into this - a child can play the musical scales on the trunk, get different sounds from the feet etc., and then record a tune using the in-built recorder. It's fantastic. A thumbs-up to the creators. I certainly would recommend Lamaze for the educational aspects as well as visual looks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Colourful, musical and fun for hours (Of course, I mean for babies), 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lamaze Eddie the Elephant Tunes (Baby Product)
My niece had her first Christmas, and unaware of what Christmas actually was she was still spoilt rotten by parents, close family, not so close family, distant relatives and friends of family. In most cases, she had a rip at the wrapping paper and started shaking the paper and biting it and ignoring the toy inside.

So I passed her this present.

Her big sister (6) helped her unwrap this one and she couldn't take her eyes off of it. Then her big sister squeezed it and showed her the noises and we got a laugh out of the bubba! She loved it, there is so much to cling onto and shake and squeeze and bite (A baby's favourite things). I couldn't believe she found it more interested than the wrapping paper!

Nice one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very cute but not worth RRP, 13 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Lamaze Eddie the Elephant Tunes (Baby Product)
i had actually bought this toy off ebay and got it for about £12 including postage brand new. i think it is definately worth the money, but it wouldnt be worth paying full price i dont think.
it is very cute and the tummy is brighter than the picture so i was very pleased with that. the feet and ears crinkle and one hand plays tunes and the other records. the trunk plays notes like on a piano. the only thing that is making me say that it is not worth RRP is the recording, it only records for about 10 seconds so you dont even have time to fit a tune in. they should make it so it records for 1 minute at the least so you can actually fit a tune in. if that was the case then i would give it 5 stars, but unfortunately its not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The toy was broken, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lamaze Eddie the Elephant Tunes (Baby Product)
The toy didn't work. I tried changing the batteries (included) with no effect. I realized it wasn'working only after unpackaging, so it wasn't suitable for returning anymore. Bad experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars press and HOLD DOWN the STAR button to record!, 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lamaze Eddie the Elephant Tunes (Baby Product)
just about to send this back as couldn't get the star "button" to do anything.
Instructions supplied are not very clear.
you have to feel around for the button, then hold it down for a second or two to make the elephant beep.
then record a tune via the trunk until it beeps again
now when you press the star button, it plays back the tune.
to record a new tune, press and HOLD DOWN the star button until you hear a beep.
it seems to be working OK now, time will tell how long it lasts!
otherwise, the elephant is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lamaze Eddie the Elephant Tunes
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews