Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars117
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.73+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2011
By the tastes and standards of 2011 this is a travesty of Jane Austin's wonderful story. But this film was made in America in war time and well illustrates the mood-lifting productions of the 1940's. It has a pretty tale set in an imaginary Britain with good looking performers and no violence. The quality of the video is good for its age.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2009
This is one of the definitive versions of the one of the most famous stories in the World. Hollywood got this one right, for a change, but that is mainly to the credit of the performances of the actors themselves I think. Still, an excellent abridged version of the original story, covering all the major scenes. If you want to see it in its entirety then watch the BBC Version (1995), with Jennifer Ehle. Don`t bother with the recent feature film version, its rubbish, by comparison, and a poor attempt at cashing in on the celebrity of the story and the author.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2003
i haven't seen this film in about five years, but i can still conjure up any scene i choose, due to the fact that i have probably watched it about 50 times whilst growing up.
it is a comedy of manners, with beautifully polite insults; delightful charicatures of the foolish, charming, bumbling, aristocratic and intellectual surround the main believable characters of elizabeth and darcy.
although not historically accurate, and although some liberties have been taken in adapting the book, it is perfect sunday afternoon, just after a big dinner, raining outside, next to a fireplace viewing
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a magnificent adaptation of Jane Austen's novel of the same name. The superlative cast does justice to the witty and sophisticated screenplay by Aldous Huxley. It is a wonderful period piece and a delightful comedy of manners.
The story revolves around the upper middle class Bennett family, who live in a small, provincial town. Mr. and Mrs. Bennett, wonderfully played by Mary Boland and Edmund Gwenn, have five daughters whom they must marry off. So, when Mrs. Bennett receives news of a wealthy bachelor, Mr. Bingley, moving into town, Mrs. Bennett is over the moon with joy. She soon begins maneuvering her daughters, so that perhaps one of them may be taken off her hands in happy wedlock.
Jane Bennett, beautifully played by the lovely Maureen O'Sullivan, manages to engage Mr. Bingley's heart at a local ball. Elizabeth Bennett, intelligent and articulate, manages to capture the interest of Mr. Darcy, Mr. Bingley's even wealthier best friend. Greer Garson is superlative in the role of Elizabeth, while Laurence Olivier is perfect in the role of the arrogant, soon to be humbled by love, Mr. Darcy.
Mr. Darcy, drawn to Elizabeth, falls in love with her, but makes a proposal of marriage filled with such snobbery that Elizabeth, who has since discovered that Mr. Darcy had negatively interfered with Jane's romance with Mr. Bingley, is repulsed and turns him down. Elizabeth later finds out through the machinations of Mr. Darcy's aunt, delightfully played with autocratic hauteur by Edna May Oliver, that perhaps she had misjudged Mr. Darcy, and she overcomes her prejudice against him.
Driven by a love that sees him humbled, Mr. Darcy puts away his pride and overcomes the snoberry he initially felt towards the Bennetts. In the face of a great scandal that threatens to eclipse the Bennett household, Mr. Darcy stands steadfast in his love for Elizabeth, and demonstrates it in a way that provides a solution to the impending scandal.
How this comes about and unfolds is a source of pure cinematic delight for the viewer. The dialogue is brilliant and the acting is superb. This is one of Greer Garson's best performances. It is also one of the finest period pieces ever made.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2008
Plot Synopsis
Long before 19th-century novelist Jane Austen became a hot property in Hollywood, MGM produced this opulent and entertaining adaptation of one of Austen's best-known novels. The elegant and slyly satirical comedy of manners gets under way when socially conscious Mrs. Bennet (Mary Boland), with the begrudging assistance of her husband (Edmund Gwenn), begins seeking out suitable (and suitably wealthy) husbands for her five daughters: Elizabeth (Greer Garson), Jane (Maureen O'Sullivan), Lydia (Ann Rutherford), Kitty (Heather Angel), and Mary (Marsha Hunt). One of the least likely matrimonial prospects is Mr. Darcy (Laurence Olivier), a rich, handsome, but cynical and boorish young man. Naturally, Elizabeth Bennet, the strongest-willed of the Bennet girls, is immediately fascinated by him, and she sets out to land him -- but only on her own terms, and only after she has exacted a bit of genteel revenge for his calculated indifference to her. Though Austen's novel was set in 1813, the year of its publication, the film version takes place in 1835, reportedly so as to take advantage of the more attractive costume designs of that period. Not surprisingly, a few changes had to be made to mollify the Hollywood censors (eager to find offense in the most innocent of material): the most notable is the character of Mr. Collins (Melville Cooper), transformed from the book's hypocritical clergyman to the film's standard-issue opportunist.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2011
The book has been top of the list for many teenagers studying for their English GCSE this year, and this film version is truly great. Yes in the modern version Colin Firth in tight wet breeches may have set a few hearts fluttering, but Laurence Olivier and Greer Garcon are brilliant in this.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2011
I could talk about how i felt the actress chosen to play Elizabeth is too old for this character, BUT the reality is, that this is a brilliant film and you soon look past the slight flaws that other viewers can see. Mrs Bennett is fantastic and i LOVE the broodiness of Mr Darcy.

I honestly can not fault this film, and i have been waiting to buy a copy on DVD especially since my video recorder died on me!!!!

Excellent purchase - quality not brilliant but easily watchable!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
If you want to know how good this is, watch the Colin Firth version, and the Keira Knightley version, produce an inverse of this and you have the rating of this degrading of Jane's masterpiece. I can not find any words bad enough to describe this appalling attempt of this classic novel, and as for the costumes well I will leave you to judge. And what would Jane Austen think of the exclamation OOPS a daisy used by Mrs Bennet in this appalling offering.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
This version may not be faithful to the text of the novel, but it is far more faithful to the spirit than any other version I have seen. In creating a slavish romance, modern producers seem to omit the humour and wit present throughout the book, and without which it would be nothing. This version also has true elegance, and no shouting! I get tired of seeing Lizzies and Darcys shouting their way through the script (not to mention going about without hats and gloves... even until well into the 20th century, hats and gloves were still worn by anyone out and about). The whole force of Lizzy's wit is that every sentence she utters in a confrontational scene is like a slap on the cheek that can't really be complained about. Shouting and crossness take all the force out of her delivery. The lightness and grace of this version are a true joy, to be watched over and over again! And another advantage is that you can return to your favourite book, afterwards, and not feel it has been ruined by so much of it having been reproduced in another context.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
Still my favourite version of Pride and Prejudice EVER! Never get bored of watching it and for me the casting is absolutely perfect. Everyone matches their description from the book and Laurence Olivier and Greer Garson as Darcy and Elizabeth are an absolute delight. You haven't watched the real Pride and Prejudice until you've watched this version.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)