Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pride and Prejudice 1940
The 1940 Pride and Prejudice with Greer Garson is one of the most warming and uplifting films of the period. Garson is absolutely terrific - beyond comparison - and the main and supporting cast are quite stunning. The final scenes are fantastic and the finale is very touching in its own way. The film's pace is quite furious after the first few scenes, but the film is much...
Published on 19 Feb 2009 by Hon Aubrey Wilson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SOUND NOT SO GOOD
I bought this as a surprise present for my Mum as she adores this film. The sound quality was very poor and she had to have the TV at full blast to be able to catch any of it - good job she knew the words off by heart and can lip read otherwise she would've been very disappointed.
Published 8 months ago by Carolyn MOULET


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pride and Prejudice 1940, 19 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pride and Prejudice [Korean Import] (DVD)
The 1940 Pride and Prejudice with Greer Garson is one of the most warming and uplifting films of the period. Garson is absolutely terrific - beyond comparison - and the main and supporting cast are quite stunning. The final scenes are fantastic and the finale is very touching in its own way. The film's pace is quite furious after the first few scenes, but the film is much more affectionately scripted than the BBC version - although that is also very much worth watching. The 1940 film nicely complements the 1995 version and they are never in competition.

If I could only take a few films to a desert island, this would be one of them. Buy it for anyone over thirty: and sit back and watch the warm glow of appreciation. Not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not faithful but delightful!, 21 Nov 2005
By 
This adaptation of Jane Austen's novel P&P is definitely not faithful to the original plot. Still I cannot help, but be surprised at the disappointment some of the fellow reviewers expressed over this fact. They seem to have forgotten what film making was in 1940. I am not an expert on the history of film industry, but I am aware that it was definitely NOT about staying truthful to the original book when adapting it on film. As a result, it did not come as a shock for me when I saw it for the first time. On the contrary: I simply accepted that this was the way it used to be and then nothing could stop me from enjoying the film immensely.

I think that the Greer Garson - Laurence Olivier duo as Elizabeth and Darcy was fantastic. Garson was original and spirited and Olivier was attractive and aloof at the same time. The chemistry between them worked just fine. So did the chemistry between Jane and Mr Bingley, excellently characterized by Maureen O'Sullivan and Bruce Lester.

Mary Boland was delightful as Mrs Bennet and Edna May Oliver great as Lady Catherine, it was not her fault that she was given a very different character to play (yes on this point I have to say that her pretending to be formidable while she is good at heart was a bit far-fetched). Frieda Inescort was a deliciously snooty Caroline Bingley.

OK, so the costumes seem like they were borrowed from "Gone with the wind", still, it couldn't destroy the delightful, light atmosphere of the film as a whole. It is a delightful comedy of manners and thus one should treat it as such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's just alot of fun, 7 Oct 2004
By A Customer
I know this really is a bad adaptation of Pride & Prejudice if you feel you have to be faithfull to the book,but taking that into account they made it really a lot of fun!! Olivier is fantastic whatever you do!!Even if you're a maniac about the book (which by the way I am) you have to enjoy this version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pride and Prejudice (1940), 3 July 2002
By A Customer
I can honestly say this is the best Pride and Prejudice I've seen. Greer Garson & Laurence Olivier are wonderful. Everyone is perfectly cast and the musical score really matches the scenes. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TIMELESS AND CLASSIC PERIOD PIECE..., 17 Nov 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a magnificent, though not faithful, adaptation of Jane Austen's novel of the same name. The superlative cast does justice to the witty and sophisticated screenplay by Aldous Huxley. It is a wonderful period piece and a delightful comedy of manners.
The story revolves around the upper middle class Bennett family, who live in a small, provincial town. Mr. and Mrs. Bennett, wonderfully played by Mary Boland and Edmund Gwenn, have five daughters whom they must marry off. So, when Mrs. Bennett receives news of a wealthy bachelor, Mr. Bingley, moving into town, Mrs. Bennett is over the moon with joy. She soon begins maneuvering her daughters, so that perhaps one of them may be taken off her hands in happy wedlock.
Jane Bennett, beautifully played by the lovely Maureen O'Sullivan, manages to engage Mr. Bingley's heart at a local ball. Elizabeth Bennett, intelligent and articulate, manages to capture the interest of Mr. Darcy, Mr. Bingley's even wealthier best friend. Greer Garson is superlative in the role of Elizabeth, while Laurence Olivier is perfect in the role of the arrogant, soon to be humbled by love, Mr. Darcy.
Mr. Darcy, drawn to Elizabeth, falls in love with her, but makes a proposal of marriage filled with such snobbery that Elizabeth, who has since discovered that Mr. Darcy had negatively interfered with Jane's romance with Mr. Bingley, is repulsed and turns him down. Elizabeth later finds out through the machinations of Mr. Darcy's aunt, delightfully played with autocratic hauteur by Edna May Oliver, that perhaps she had misjudged Mr. Darcy, and she overcomes her prejudice against him.
Driven by a love that sees him humbled, Mr. Darcy puts away his pride and overcomes the snoberry he initially felt towards the Bennetts. In the face of a great scandal that threatens to eclipse the Bennett household, Mr. Darcy stands steadfast in his love for Elizabeth, and demonstrates it in a way that provides a solution to the impending scandal.
How this comes about and unfolds is a source of pure cinematic delight for the viewer. The dialogue is brilliant and the acting is superb. This is one of Greer Garson's best performances. It is also one of the finest period pieces ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How it was, 8 Mar 2011
By 
C. Lane (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pride and Prejudice [Korean Import] (DVD)
By the tastes and standards of 2011 this is a travesty of Jane Austin's wonderful story. But this film was made in America in war time and well illustrates the mood-lifting productions of the 1940's. It has a pretty tale set in an imaginary Britain with good looking performers and no violence. The quality of the video is good for its age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pride and Prejudice 1940, 30 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The 1940 Pride and Prejudice with Greer Garson is one of the most warming and uplifting films of the period. Garson is absolutely terrific - beyond comparison - and the main and supporting cast are quite stunning. The final scenes are fantastic and the finale is very touching in its own way. The film's pace is quite furious after the first few scenes, but the film is much more affectionately scripted than the BBC version - great though that it. The 1940 film nicely complements the 1995 version and they are never in competition.

If I could only take a few films to a desert island, this would be one of them. Buy it for anyone over thirty: and sit back and watch the warm glow of appreciation. Not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excessively Diverting!, 9 Nov 2007
By 
fineeyes (London, England) - See all my reviews
I hadn't seen this film since I was a child, and didn't have the highest expectations having heard throughly mixed comments surrounding it. I can honestly say that it was an absolutely lovely surprise. No, it isn't completely faithful to the novel, but neither is any other adaptation (not even the much loved 1995 version- I don't remember any scene in the novel where Darcy takes a bath or a dip in the lake), and it's true that the costumes are far more Civil War than English Regency, but this is one of the rare examples in which it doesn't really matter because it's just so charmingly done.

Greer Garson is simply magnificent as Elizabeth Bennet- poised, intelligent, gracious and witty and is excellently matched by Laurence Olivier's Darcy. These two prove that you don't need a wet shirt to create sizzling chemistry. The supporting cast is excellent, particularly a brilliant performance by Mary Boland as Mrs Bennet, who perfectly embodies the character's comedy and desperation without descending into caricature. Maureen O'Sullivan is a charming Jane, Edmund Gwynne a most sympathetic Mr Bennet, and Marsha Hunt is great fun as the bluestocking sister Mary.

This will probably never be my definitive P&P, but there's still so much in it to enjoy and I think it captures the gentle humour of the novel perfectly. Enjoy it for what it is, rather than what it isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an old favourite, 19 Oct 2003
By A Customer
i haven't seen this film in about five years, but i can still conjure up any scene i choose, due to the fact that i have probably watched it about 50 times whilst growing up.
it is a comedy of manners, with beautifully polite insults; delightful charicatures of the foolish, charming, bumbling, aristocratic and intellectual surround the main believable characters of elizabeth and darcy.
although not historically accurate, and although some liberties have been taken in adapting the book, it is perfect sunday afternoon, just after a big dinner, raining outside, next to a fireplace viewing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First, Lady Catherine, and now you!, 20 July 2012
By 
All right, so the costumes are all wrong (apparently MGM were getting some wear out of their left-over 'Gone With The Wind' dresses) and there is no visit to Pemberley, and Lady Catherine turns out to be a friend rather than a foe; but this is an undeniably entertaining romp, in which the stars, and especially the supporting players give their all. The dialogue is sparkling, by Aldous Huxley and Jane Murfin - in fact (sacrilege, I know) most of the best lines never appear in the book! But, as it says in the opening credits, it is 'based on a dramatization of the novel' so never claims to be a faithful copy. Greer Garson is a little old for Elizabeth, but she plays off well against Olivier, who does a very passable Darcy. They carry off the (entirely invented) Archery Lesson scene very well. The chief joy in this movie is among the supporting players, Melville Cooper excels as Mr. Collins, Edmund Gwenn is a comforting presence as Mr. Bennett, but Mary Boland as Mrs. Bennett and Edna May Oliver as Lady Catherine all but steal the picture.
Mary Boland as a frantic mother trying to marry off five daughters, is mostly hysterical, but is given some wonderfully acid dialogue:

'Mary, try to sparkle a little! (Mary attempts a brilliant smile) Just a little!'

'Mr. Darcy! Well, this is an honour! First Lady Catherine, and now you!' (To Mr. Darcy)

'I do hope he'll overlook me disliking him so much!' (of Mr. Darcy)

Edna May Oliver steals the whole movie for this reviewer in almost the last scene. This again, is entirely invented, Lady Catherine reporting back to Darcy outside Longbourn after interrogating Elizabeth. She brushes off Darcy's grateful thanks with brilliant hauteur, and is helped into her carriage exclaiming:
'Upon my word, I'm not accustomed to so much gratitude, everybody seems to be thanking me today!'
She pokes her driver in the back with her stick, and waves imperiously to Darcy.
'Don't stand there and keep me waiting! Shut the door! Go into the house!'
Sheer magic! What an actress!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pride and Prejudice [Korean Import]
Pride and Prejudice [Korean Import] by Robert Z. Leonard (DVD)
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews