Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars allmost a return to top form
What a great film. plenty of proper action you expect from a Van Damme film,interesting use of British actors playing Americans.
Storyline was quite good, some of the slow motion work let the film down slightly.The prison fight scene brought back memories of Death Warant. All in all a great film just right for a Saturday night film fest
Published on 17 Aug 2008 by Mr. S. Youngson

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Shepherd
After seeing Van Damme's other recent movies like JCVD and Hard Corps I had very low expectations of this film but it is actually a decent film with some good action sequences. Van Damme is as good as he usually is and the directing has both its good and bad moments.

Any Eastenders fan will recognise that the main villian in this movie was played by the actor...
Published on 28 Dec 2009 by A. J. Harrison


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Shepherd, 28 Dec 2009
By 
A. J. Harrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shepherd - Border Patrol [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
After seeing Van Damme's other recent movies like JCVD and Hard Corps I had very low expectations of this film but it is actually a decent film with some good action sequences. Van Damme is as good as he usually is and the directing has both its good and bad moments.

Any Eastenders fan will recognise that the main villian in this movie was played by the actor who starred as 'Jase'

A decent film and if you dont expect much you might actually enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid and entertaining JCVD movie, 18 Mar 2009
By 
P. N. Hussey "pnh77" (Haywards Heath, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shepherd - Border Patrol [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This was the first new JCVD film I'd seen for years. I'd heard some good things about it and gave it a go and I'm very glad I did. A good solid actioner that while no great shakes in the plot department at least has some pretty good acting and good action, including a terrific final fight with one of the villains played by Scott Adkins. Very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars allmost a return to top form, 17 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. S. Youngson (Longtown,Nr Carlisle,Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shepherd - Border Patrol [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
What a great film. plenty of proper action you expect from a Van Damme film,interesting use of British actors playing Americans.
Storyline was quite good, some of the slow motion work let the film down slightly.The prison fight scene brought back memories of Death Warant. All in all a great film just right for a Saturday night film fest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT BAD AT ALL.............................., 9 July 2008
By 
Saturnicus "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shepherd - Border Patrol [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
We are seeing Van Damme returning to his past glories. He gives an excellent performance as a cop from St. Louis sent to join a border patrol. He returns to his old ways with excellent one on one karate. It is an all action flick with real bad-attitude baddies.
After his excellent previous film "Until Death", I am convinced that Van Damme is a great acting talent.
I must mention one character in the film, Scott Adkins,whom I have never encountered before. He was absolutely first class in the Karate department. Tall and handsome, we shall no doubt see him again in such roles.
Fans will not be disappointed and I am wondering if this movie might have a sequal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shepherd - Border Patrol [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This aint one of Van Damme's keepers, and I'm a big fan. got so bored i ended up reading and relegating the film to background noise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent DTV Action Movie From The Muscle From Brussels, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shepherd - Border Patrol [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Dvd Info.
Running time 95 minutes approx, Region 2.

Trivia.
1)Scott Atkins has appeared in another 3 movies with JCVD, Universal Soldier Day Of Reckoning, Assassination Games & Expendables 2.
2)Natalie J.Robb who play's Captain Garcia is better known as Moira Barton in British soap Emmerdale.
3)Stephen Lord played the role of Jase in British soap Eastenders.

Review.

Jean Claude Van Damme stars as a Jack Robideaux a boarder patrol agent who gets caught up in a rogue American Special Forces unit attack who are attempting to smuggle Afghan heroin across the boarder from Mexico in to the USA.

Timelord Thoughts.

Yet another decent above average Van Damme flick who seems to making a bit of a comeback as with his recent Wake Of Death DTV & now this above average movie.

Jean Claude Van Damme is starting to deliver great fight scenes & action similar to his old classic kick ass movies.

The plot is the usual one man fighting off a bunch of mercenarys but JCVD gives a competent performance & certainly delivers in the movie's action sequences.

My issue is the use of slo-mo in some of the fight scenes that seems to break up the flow of the actual fight sequences as the scenes that were in slo-mo diminished the impact of the actual fights themselves.

Scott Adkins is great as sidekick villain Karp & a action star in the making while Jase from Eastenders actor Stephen Lord does the usual Brit actor bad guy named Benjamin Meyers pretty well.

Even Moira from Emmerdale turns up as actress Natalie J.Robb turns up as Captain Garcia, These DTV movie's feature many past soap characters & I was expecting to see Barbara Windsor or Leslie Grantham turn up at some point.

This is a well made action movie which has full on action especially in it's final 15 minutes directed by Ninja 1 & 2 Isaac Florentine, A decent performance by JCVD & a good villainous role played very well by Scott Adkins makes this an above average Van Damme action movie that's ideal for a Friday night beer & pizza movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moira from emmerdale?, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shepherd - Border Patrol [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Gorgeous Scott Adkins. Good action. Sweet fighting. Van damme still has it. The films a no-brainer. Not a bad film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better..., 11 July 2008
By 
Ryan S.Cord (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shepherd - Border Patrol [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Its good to see that Van Damme is at last seeing sense and going back to what most fans want to see of him, and thats well choreographed martial arts action.
The fight scenes are very good except i feel the slow motion kicks and slow motion take downs have been over used in this film, breaking the rhythm of some well choreographed action, which is a shame but can be forgiven.
The downsides to this film seem to come from the disproportionate amount of shoot outs that occur where bad guys are shot dead as if they were cardboard cut outs just fireing randomly into the air waiting to fall backwards across a car or wall etc.. maybe im a perfectionist but i just found these shoot outs quite mind numbing after a while and wanted more quality action and also take in the fact that some of the bad guys are ex special forces you just feel that they wouldnt just stand next to each other in the open, fireing off bullets continuously in any random direction at border patrol officers that seem to have the sense to take cover behind their cars?
On the positive side the martials scenes are the saving grace, the one in the diner inparticular made me feel glad to see Van Damme can still pull off his superfast martial arts skills. Also the end fight between Van Damme & Adkins is very good although somewhat short, maybe an extra minute wouldnt have done any harm?
Overall though a film worth watching, but mostly just for the martial arts scenes. Its not as good as Wake Of Death but it outshines the poor couple of films he starred in before this, the dreadful Until Death & The Hard Corps which are best left alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shepherd - Border Patrol [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I like that , that's exactly what i was looking for , Thank you very much , have a nice time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good service, 14 Feb 2009
By 
Matthew Hall (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shepherd - Border Patrol [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Bought this as a christmas present for my bro, he enjoyed it. Good quick service at such a busy time of year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shepherd - Border Patrol [DVD] [2008]
The Shepherd - Border Patrol [DVD] [2008] by Isaac Florentine (DVD - 2008)
1.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews