Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weak story but great effects
Theres not much about Dragon Wars that is particularly novel - many of the ideas have been done before. But what Dragon Wars does is take a lot of cool things you've seen in other films and amps them up, polishes, and perfects them. So, take the best bits from Godzilla, Independence Day, Starship Troopers, and a bunch of other sci-fi favorites from the late 90's, add a...
Published on 9 Jun 2008 by C. Verspeak

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Lukewarm Than Actually Hot.
This film is one that both my sister and I watched the other night and ended up sniggering through most of it.
Here is the UK it is called DRAGON WARS, although confusingly it is called D-WAR in North America and WAR OF THE DRAGONS in the Far East.
The plot, as you may have guessed by now concerns Dragons, although you don't actually see a "proper" one until the...
Published on 11 Aug 2010 by Ben Gray


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weak story but great effects, 9 Jun 2008
By 
C. Verspeak "f*" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragon Wars [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Theres not much about Dragon Wars that is particularly novel - many of the ideas have been done before. But what Dragon Wars does is take a lot of cool things you've seen in other films and amps them up, polishes, and perfects them. So, take the best bits from Godzilla, Independence Day, Starship Troopers, and a bunch of other sci-fi favorites from the late 90's, add a bit of Cloverfield, ramp up the numbers and graphic polish, and you get Dragon Wars.

It does start off a little slow. Lots of exposition of Korean legends and a glimpse of the bad guys - some guff about an evil serpent who wants to become a all-powerful dragon. Then we're in the present day and get to meet the current incarnations of the hero and heroine before the serpent itself also reappears. Its the same giant snake we met before but its a whole lot more p***ed off, especially with Apache helicopters shooting at it. And thats when the effects really kick in. All the CGI looks great and there are some genuinely impressive scenes, particularly the aerial battle between dragons and choppers. The story remains pretty transparent and predictable right up to the end though but I think the quality of the visuals just about make up for this.

With its strong Korean flavour and lack of any star names Dragon Wars was never going to be a massive mainstream hit over here. But if you like monster action movies this really is a must see. Not a novel feature to be seen, but definitely a Gold Standard movie for any future creature features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Lukewarm Than Actually Hot., 11 Aug 2010
This review is from: Dragon Wars [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This film is one that both my sister and I watched the other night and ended up sniggering through most of it.
Here is the UK it is called DRAGON WARS, although confusingly it is called D-WAR in North America and WAR OF THE DRAGONS in the Far East.
The plot, as you may have guessed by now concerns Dragons, although you don't actually see a "proper" one until the final few minutes of the film.
The DVD casing boasts that it cost over $75 million to make, although a few minutes watching confirmed my suspicions that a very large proportion of this went on the large quantities of CGI used with whatever pocket change was left over going on the actors.
Basically the plot is as follows. In order for a wyrm to become a dragon, it first has to be chosen by heaven then wait for a chosen girl to become 20 so her lifeforce can merge with it. This is great for the dragon, but not so great for the girl who then as far as I can see dies.
As is revealed in a flashback WITHIN a flashback the last time this could occur was 500 years ago, but followers of a bad wyrm attack the village where she lives to try and grab her first. Oddly they only check for the woman AFTER nearly wiping the village from the surface of the earth, obviously not thinking that the chosen one is just as likely to get flattened by a giant fireball from the skies as anyone else.
Although she is captured, she and her lover take their own lives before she can give her life force to anyone, and so the stage is set for a rematch 500 years later in what is presumably Los Angeles.
Things start ominously with a giant snake munching down elephants at the local zoo, then it appears elsewhere in the city (how does it get around without being seen?) Then a man dressed a bit like Shredder in TMNT attacks Sarah after she is rescued by the hero from the hospital where she has been incarcerated but fails in his attempt when he is hit by not one but two automobiles in what is one of the films funniest moments.
Undeterred by this failure, he raises an army of Power Rangers lookalikes, a platoon of obese lizard things with missile launchers strapped to their backs and of course many smaller dragons, which appear to be Raptors with wings and finally the bit that the entire audience has been waiting for begins - the US Army Vs The Dragon Ninjas.
The computer-generated birds breathe fire on people. The computer generated helicopters empty round after round on the relentless computer generated snake. The snake lunges at computer generated cars and slings them hundreds of feet. The cameras whoosh between skyscrapers and plummet with burning helicopters and dying flying raptor-thingies, and the audience can relax and realise that they are finally getting their money's worth.
If only the quality of the CGI was matched by the real life extras which are surely the worst that I have come across in a modern film. They scream, run waving their hands above their heads and in general look very pleased to be on the big screen. Equally poor is the script and continuity, neither of which make any sense as the plot leaps from one scene to the other and plotholes big enough to swallow several dragons whole - the FBI manage to find the girl within a few minutes of entering the city and its crowds of fleeing citizens and the evil snake which may look impressive but passes up several easy opportunities to eat the heroine and achieve immortality.
Observant viewers may notice that the same helicopter pilot appears to die several times...
The ending is pretty bizarre, the means by which the main bad guy being defeated being down to his stabbing the hero in the relatively small mystic pendant hanging round his neck as opposed to anywhere else in his body and ends pretty suddenly leaving the audience both baffled and slightly unsatisfied.
Still, it manages to be entertaining if only for the wrong reasons - my summing up of it being "Power Rangers with an unlimited budget"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not bad!, 19 Jun 2008
This review is from: Dragon Wars [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
i will make it short and brief.o.k the script wasn,t brilliant.o.k. the acting wasn,t perfect.
watched it the first time around and thought,yeah, watchable.watched it a second time around with my children,they loved it.
alwright, now i am not being brief,but just don,t think about the plot too hard and it is afun film.the more you watch it the more it grows on you and its much better than all the crud on telly.
IT,S JUST A BIT OF ESCAPISM AND THE EFFECTS ARE GOOD DESPITE WHAT OTHER PEOPLE SAY!
there is only one critic and that is yourselves.give it ago!
if you like monster movies you will probably like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jarring, 5 Jun 2008
By 
S. Smith "sitorimon" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragon Wars [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Jarring was the feeling I came away most with from this film. While its no where near the worst film ever as many people seem to say, it has some major problems. The main reason why it only gets 3 stars from me is that it jumps from one thing to the next at such a speed without really finishing what was going on in the other scene while other scenes (like the back story which is about a third of the film and in a different language) seems overplayed and make themselves overly complicated. Its this imbalance that makes it frustrating to watch. The acting isn't too great either but then they aren't helped with some awful dialogue and some laughably dreadful lines.

But there is a period when all havoc breaks looses in which the film works and keeps you entertained and that's the great shame - the action isn't bad at all but its everything else around it that falls apart. Sure you switch your brain off for these types of films but even something this crude can get your back up.

Not that great but not the awful film everyone seems to say it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this!, 18 July 2008
By 
David Addison (Newcastle upon Tyne England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragon Wars [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A fantastic action film.I really loved watching this.Its fast paced throughout,and the only thing I'd be scared off,is if this Korean legend is true! Fortunately,that would seem highly unlikely!A man has to protect a young woman from a massive snake,hellbent on bumping her off.Once this dastardly deed has been accomplished,the snake can turn itself into an almighty dragon,and no doubt,its bad news for us mere mortals!Our hero doesn't realise at first,that he and the damsel in distress,have been riencarnated in the modern day.The film starts back in time,when we see the two enjoying their peaceful lives,before the bad guys come along to capture the girl for the snake's deadly ambitions!I'll leave it there for you to find out the rest,but I found it hugely entertaining.Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just plain bad, 5 Sep 2008
By 
O. Doyle "celticshedevil" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragon Wars [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Dragon Wars is a big, loud special effects bonanza the likes of which have been seen plenty of times before. Supposedly based on an ancient Korean legend, a 200-meter-long Imoogi (a giant serpent) is denied a chance at immortality when two young lovers who are destined to perform the ceremonial rights run away and perish in their escape. 500 years later in Los Angeles, the man is reincarnated as American news reporter Ethan (Jason Behr), who as a child was given a powerful pendant by an elderly antiques dealer and now has to find the reincarnated woman, Sarah (Amanda Brooks), before her 20th birthday.

In special effects sequences the dragon Buraki reappears with his seemingly invincible army of demonic warriors to continue his 500-year pursuit of what is rightfully his. Lots of explosions, guns, and destruction as ancient slams head-on into 21st-century military technology, and Ethan and Sarah try to find a way to stop Buraki and his army before he destroys the city.

Dragon Wars is a film that looks and sounds good....in theory. But the execution is poor on so many levels. As a sci-fi movie with cool dragons Dragon Wars worked. But the film's human players are drastically short-changed and given cheap dialogue and scenes that rarely connect. It seems that the only reason they're here is to give us something to root for.
I wanted to like this movie but I'm afraid I just couldn't as it ended up as a mediocre attempt at something that really had potential to be spectacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its does what it said on the cover !!, 23 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. N. J. Bevis "BEV_RED_HOT_B" (Suffolk , Eng) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragon Wars [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
After being told by various people that this was a terrible film i decided to shell out £5.00 and to be honest, its very well spent !! I kicked back for a short mindless journey into a great world with fantastic effects and what i thought was a really great film if you dont want to think to much...
Its so cheap now, how can you not buy it ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dragon wars, 10 Jun 2009
By 
Paul Hunton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought this title on blu ray after seeing it on a tv channel that was selling hi def tvs the special effects on this movie are as good as any ive seen on other titles well worth the money i payed for it in 1080p its fantastic only thing about movie is the plot line is quite weak but still 7 out of 10 movie but is well worth watching for stunning special effects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost great, 23 Aug 2008
By 
D. Jackson "DJ" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragon Wars [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I don't know why this movie is getting such bad reviews. Man, do you really think that a film named Dragon Wars is going to win an Oscar? An apparent 75million dollars was spent making this, which I'll agree sounds a bit suspicious considering it's just a big shoot-em-up B-movie. Still, shame on the people who bout the DVD just because it mentioned a massive budget in the blurb.

The writers have tried to create some kind of long and complicated plot-line / back-story, but it's not that important... Basically, a load of dragons attack a city. The effects are pretty good, but sometimes they look a bit off- which is understandable though, as they take up about half the running time. There are a few half-famous faces on show here too, who play their roles quite well.

While not being in the same league as King Kong, but also not sinking to the level of AvP2: Requiem, Dragon Wars sits comfortably in the middle: it's not great, but it's certainly not terrible, either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars STUNNING FX, ACTION PACKED, SILLY BUT REALLY SPECTACULAR - LOVED IT!, 13 Dec 2008
By 
Adam Jackson (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dragon Wars [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Great entertainment! Ok, maybe it's just a B Movie, but what a B Movie!
Visually spectacular, with stunning CGI & miniature work that is perfectly integrated - the giant serpents/dragons are really impressive - it's fantastic to see a movie pitting Apache gunships, tanks and SWAT teams against mythical monsters and legions of evil warriors, all to a backdrop of modern day LA. Haven't really seen this mix before!
The photography, and the visual quality of the DVD are excellent - razor sharp picture. The production values are every bit as high as anything that Hollywood offers. The only reason that I can't give 5 stars, is the principal lead, Jason Behr is very wooden, and there are one or two really 'made for tv' feel characters. But hey, it's the mayhem & monsters that count here. I enjoyed 2002's Reign Of Fire, but was dissapointed in the slight lack of dragon action - no such qualms here! Indeed, the final dragon is very impressive, and the first truly oriental dragon that I've seen on screen!
I also really liked the opening 20 minutes, set in Korea back in 1507. There is a jaw dropping battle, where the fearsome army that serves the evil serpent, advances in a stunning mix of the Battle of Minas Tirith, and the Clone Trooper assault in Attack Of The Clones! Yes, the CG may be a bit obvious in a MASSIVE software style sense, but it's used well, and balanced with good fight choreography and fearsome costume designs. Loved the LOTR style beasts that some of the warriors were mounted on.
Great music too, especially whenever the dark forces attack; sounded like the ominous Dies Irae music (The Shining) mixed with the Mordor theme (Lord Of The Rings has clearly had some inspiration in the film as a whole).
Suitable for all, as no real violence/gore, and absoluteley no sex or bad language whatsoever.
Not a lot of extras, but what there is, is good for the FX fans - and also a charming interview with the Korean director (great potential).
Just good FUN (for BIG kids too!) for 86 minutes! And isn't that what REALLY counts.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragon Wars [DVD] [2008]
Dragon Wars [DVD] [2008] by Hyung-rae Shim (DVD - 2008)
£1.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews