Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb entertainment highly recommended!
Our family loved watching this DVD and have gone on and bought series 3 too. The storyline remains strong throughout, the characters are engaging and you are drawn into the action - of which there is plenty - no matter what external distraction may be around. Probably a bit scary for those more sensitive under say 9 yrs although our almost 8 year old loves every minute...
Published on 19 July 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars starts off as promising scifi and degenerates into a monster chase
As competition for Dr. Who, this starts with a good premise: sparkly holes in space-time appear, a doorway into the past and, it becomes apparent, into the future. From these holes, strange creatures emerge, most often but not always predators. To investigate this and deal with the monsters, 2 biologists are called in by the ominously powerful "home office" (a heavy...
Published on 6 May 2011 by rob crawford


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars starts off as promising scifi and degenerates into a monster chase, 6 May 2011
By 
rob crawford "Rob Crawford" (Balmette Talloires, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Primeval - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
As competition for Dr. Who, this starts with a good premise: sparkly holes in space-time appear, a doorway into the past and, it becomes apparent, into the future. From these holes, strange creatures emerge, most often but not always predators. To investigate this and deal with the monsters, 2 biologists are called in by the ominously powerful "home office" (a heavy handed security apparatus), and we are off and running with a few sidekicks thrown in, one a brilliant nerd and the other a promising and sexy, young animal biologist. Other characters include the head biologist's wife - a machiavellian figure with her own agenda - and some thuggish bureaucrats. So far as it goes, this is not too bad in the first season. There are some fun adventures and plenty of intrigue. The special effects are good, with plenty of swashbuckling action. Finally, there is some kind of hidden agenda at work that is nice food for the imagination.

Alas, by the second season, the tightness of the scripting begins to unravel. The scientist discovers that the present has been altered somehow when he was in another space-time, but no one will believe him. Even worse, characters who were enigmatic or inscrutable in the first season emerge as blankly evil in the second season, stripping all nuance and ambiguity from their actions. This is a great loss and speaks to the expedience of TV-made formula. At this point, it become a monster chase with some baddies trying to control them. In particular, the character of the head biologist's wife loses all subtlety, or so it would appear - I will not watch anything more.

My kids enjoyed this and so did I, but it is strictly throwaway. I would tepidly recommend buying it if you like this formula, but was happy we only borrowed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb entertainment highly recommended!, 19 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Primeval - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Our family loved watching this DVD and have gone on and bought series 3 too. The storyline remains strong throughout, the characters are engaging and you are drawn into the action - of which there is plenty - no matter what external distraction may be around. Probably a bit scary for those more sensitive under say 9 yrs although our almost 8 year old loves every minute. Can't wait for series 4!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You want monsters??, 20 Sep 2008
This review is from: Primeval - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great show ,by no means unique but the great cast and excellent special effects make up for any holes in the storyline.Monsters,giant insects and prehistoric parasites are breaching the fabric of time through unexplained anomalies.Nick Cutter and his rag-tag team of science geeks,hunters and zoologists team up with a mysterious government agency to protect the general public.Things become more sinister in series two with the arrival of Cutters wife who was supposed to be dead,she plays an excellent role of Lara Croft meets devious sabateur giving the show some interesting twists.Overall this show delivers on its promise of action,sci-fi and intrigue.The CGI gets better as the show progresses and it all comes in a neat and attractive boxset.Cant wait for season three
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dangerous Dinosaur Days, 22 Feb 2010
This review is from: Primeval - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This show was created by the same man who did "Walking with Dinosaurs", which I haven't seen. But I saw an advertisement for Primeval when it first came out and I finally rented it here in the States. Wow! Not what I expected, it's definitely for adults. It combines all the things I used to love as a little girl and still do, even though I'm MUCH older now, Ray Harryhausen style adventure and cool monsters--with a touch of Jurassic Park.
The cgi here is first-rate, the acting is great, the characters are really interesting and the stories are well written. A group of four people, two-twentysomethings, one of whom, a young woman works at a zoo as a keeper and the other whose a college student team up with the students professor, an expert in dinosaurs and his former student who is now his assistant. They discover what comes to be known as anomolies--wormholes in time through which all kinds of dinosaurs from different eras emerge.
Imagine the danger of finding a T-Rex roaming through your local wooded area and you have some idea of what these four people have to go up against. They track down the dinos and try and get them back through the anomolies before there's too much carnage. They're aided, reluctantly at first by a button-downed civil servant with a sarcastic tongue who isn't fond of 'civilians', and a pretty handler who comes on board as a go-between and helper and some soldiers added to cover their backs.
All in all, it's a great show and I'm looking forward to a movie that's supposed to be in the works and a new season--hopefully we won't have to wait too long. You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Sci Fi with Character, 20 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Primeval - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Missed this when it was on first time round but was persuaded to watch the reruns and was hooked. The quality of storyline and the high calibre of actors together with the terrific monsters makes this a very enjoyable series. Cutter and Connor are my Two favourite Characters but it is nice to see strong female roles in the shape of Helen Jenny and am looking forward to seeing the New series which I believe will have more episodes in 2009 in UK. Cannot really understand the constant comparisons to Doctor Who - this is not a contest! They are both equally good shows and it is possible to watch and enjoy the pair of them without having to make a choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars primeval series 1 and 2, 11 July 2009
By 
J. gracey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Primeval - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Fabulous series my kids 7, 10 and 12 love these dvds and have watched them again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Primeval Series 1 & 2 box set, 2 July 2009
By 
J. Parker (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Primeval - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant series if you are into sci-fi and fantasy and adventure plus dinosaurs. The whole family love it.
Was very impressed by the price we paid for the complete first 2 series on one dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I though it would be rubbish, 1 May 2009
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Primeval - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I have to admit that I've avoided this series like the plague, I really did think this series would be rubbish - I was wrong.

I caught a couple of back-to-back episodes from season three and suddenly realised what I'd been missing. It was not in fact, as I thought, a series just designed to keep children happy in the afternoon; it definitely seems to be aimed at an older audience.

Season one consists of six episodes, season two consists of seven.

Season one opens with Professor Nick Cutter (Douglas Henshall), who has been unable to come to terms with the disappearance of his wife Helen (Juliet Aubrey) eight years previously, heading out to the Forest of Dean with tracker Stephen Hart (James Murray) and archaeology student Connor Temple (Andrew Lee Potts) to investigate reports of a large animal roaming free. Soon to be fired zookeeper Abby Maitland (Hannah Spearritt) hears of an unusual flying reptile which a young boy has taken as a pet. She too heads out to the Forest of Dean.

It would seem that this reptile has come through an anomaly; the same type of anomaly that Cutter's wife was investigating up when she disappeared. This reptile is not the only thing which has come through the anomaly. It is up to Cutter and his team, along with Abby Maitland, to sort out the ensuing problems.

The anomalies apparently can open anywhere, at any time, without warning. Cutter and his new team are hired by the government to secretly find these anomalies and any creatures which may have come through them. Their government controller/liaison Sir James Lester is played by Ben Miller.

Season two follows in the same mould.

It's actually a lot better than I've made it sound but I don't want to give away any spoilers and ruin it anyone who hasn't seen this programme - and I'm the type of person that doesn't usually go to these types of programmes and I think this is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Show, 17 Sep 2008
By 
Stephen L. Spero (San Diego, Ca USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Primeval - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I had never heard of this series (being from the US) until Juliet Aubrey made a presentation at Comic-Con here in San Diego this July. There were 3 other British series represented this year, Dr Who, Torchwood, and Spaced (just now making it's US appearance). After seeing the presentation, I ordered the first 2 seasons (having a region free DVD player helps a lot). Primeval is very well written and acted. It has some good scares, and you really get to like the characters. It's better than a lot of what we have on tv over here. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Primeval Series 1 & 2, 6 Jan 2009
By 
V. I. Kent (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Primeval - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say. This series rocks beyond the telling of it. Buy it and you will not regret it. I have enjoyed both seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Primeval - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD]
Primeval - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] by Andrew Lee Potts (DVD - 2008)
£4.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews