Customer Reviews


172 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brotherhood, Love and Redemption
I fell in love with Khaled Hosseini's novel `THE KITE RUNNER'; the story is sad, beautiful and inspiring. The writer relates the story in a way that makes you feel like it's poetry. The adaptation of this film captures the essence of the novel.

This is a story of unconditional love, brotherhood and redemption set in Afghanistan.

I like the way that...
Published on 10 July 2008 by Farah Yousif

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read the book
Rarely does a film adaptation of a book manage to do justice to the original, and I have to say this is no exception. Whilst magnificently cast the film is too brief, goes at too quick a pace and glosses over key moments that the book expresses so eloquently. A prime example of this is Amir's final confrontation with long time tormentor Assef which has been reduced here...
Published on 27 Sep 2008 by Mr. E. Neil


‹ Previous | 110 11 1218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars The Kite Flyers, 7 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Kite Runner [DVD] (DVD)
A story follows two boys. One is more of a friend than the other. The not-so-friendly boy writes stories but has an unhappiness involving the death of his mother. The loyal-nice boy is a runner of the kite competition which he enjoys and includes his friend in the fun. Much of the beginning is slow to begin with getting to know the boys and the surroundings.
Later, when the boy who writes moves with his father away leaving friend behind, it becomes sad. The film has subtitles so you can understand the foreign language. It's nice, but not as riveting as I had hoped with a some-what good ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kite Runner, 16 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Kite Runner [DVD] (DVD)
A very facinating film showing what life was like in Afghanistan when the Russians where there and afterwards.They speak in their own language, which adds to the appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DVD gift, 11 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Kite Runner [DVD] (DVD)
Ordered this as a gift for a friend who lives abroad and it arrived in time specified, good postal service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Moderate Movie, 9 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Kite Runner [DVD] (DVD)
watched the movie and i give 6/10. 1st part of the movie is great but the 2nd part is erratic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Upsetting and thought provoking, 20 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Kite Runner [DVD] (DVD)
I cried!!! Brilliant! Upsetting and thought provoking... But amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching, compelling and deeply uncomfortable film, 30 July 2008
This review is from: The Kite Runner [DVD] (DVD)
I cannot comment on how the book has been translated into film, as I've not read the book. On its own terms, the film is a strange but compelling mix - some parts are painful to watch, while others make you smile. The acting is very good. Overall, well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Oct 2014
By 
S. Boothe "Peace for Life" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kite Runner [DVD] (DVD)
Perfect Product...Excellent Delivery....As I Wished For....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor adaption of book, 30 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: The Kite Runner [DVD] (DVD)
I did enjoy this film, so did my parents who rarely stay up as late as this to continue watching. I do not think that the film portrayed the intense relationship between Amir and Hassan. You also do not get to see much of the relationship between Hassan and Amirs father to see why Amir ends up resenting him. You also do not get to understand the full extent of Amir's relationship with Rahim to realise how important he was to him. Also in the book you get to learn a lot about the history and the culture of Kabul and Afghanistan, in the film they take it for granted that you would know this.

I recommed also reading the book, although maybe after as I am not sure whether reading it before helped or not??

I do not think that this was a good adaption from the book, there was none of the atmosphere or the intensity or the heartache that I felt while reading the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wasted potential, 9 Dec 2009
By 
Simon Harvey (Colchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kite Runner [DVD] (DVD)
Virtually any movie about Afghanistan that starts out with a decent budget should be worth watching. And The Kite Runner obviously had a good budget. Unfortunately the result is a soggy and formulaic Hollywood melodrama stuffed with clichéd characters and situations.

It's impossible to forget that you're watching a movie, and that's really not good. Scenes that should be tense and worrying are destroyed by an overwhelming and depressing predictability. There's something two-dimensional and uninvolving about the nastiest situations. Shattering psychological issues that should be central to the story, keeping our attention rapt, are barely touched on. Scene after scene plods by, each one looking as though it has been borrowed from any of a million other bad movies. And then, just as you're getting impatient, it all ends. Everyone is in America, happily flying kites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Kite Runner [DVD] (DVD)
Very good book, well written and an enjoyable story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 1218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kite Runner [DVD]
The Kite Runner [DVD] by Marc Forster (DVD - 2008)
£2.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews