Customer Reviews


265 Reviews
5 star:
 (150)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


94 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't knock it till you've tried it!
I loved the book and was really looking forward to seeing the film, but was slightly put off to hear that it was set in the USA instead of Ireland. But, in spite of this I decided to give it a go and was pleasantly surprised. Yes, it is very different from the book but if you can put that aside and see it as a film in it's own right you'll really enjoy it...
Published on 2 Feb 2008 by Rua Mac

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
The book of this film is FANTASTIC. The Film however, is just terrible. They've ruined the book - moved it all to America, made much of the cast American and it's just shockingly bad. Barely follows the book at all. I absolutley loved the book but the film was painfully bad.
Published on 18 April 2012 by SarahYork


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

94 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't knock it till you've tried it!, 2 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: P.S. I Love You [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I loved the book and was really looking forward to seeing the film, but was slightly put off to hear that it was set in the USA instead of Ireland. But, in spite of this I decided to give it a go and was pleasantly surprised. Yes, it is very different from the book but if you can put that aside and see it as a film in it's own right you'll really enjoy it.

Hilary Swank and Gerard Butler are delightful as a couple and their acting is amazing. Swank's acting during the funeral scene is superb. Laughing and crying at the same time through the playing of Fairytale of New York, she just tugs at the heartstrings.

Some reviewers have criticised it saying that it slagged off the Irish and called us leprechauns. But the only references to that were when Gerry made a silly, jokey remark and Holly said something about being in love with a leprechaun; and also when the sing-a-gram comes to the door, which was just Gerry's silly way of reminding Holly about him and also about St.Patrick's day. A couple of references to something that we ourselves promote as part of the tourist trade can hardly be classed as racism! In fact, the Irish are portrayed as attractive, intelligent, warm, friendly, hard-working, fun-loving, creative people, who are fortunate enough to live in a beautiful land, so I don't think there's anything for us to take offence at.

This film is full of romance, comedy, pathos, top-class performances, and stunning scenery. Don't be put off by the negative revues of people who might prefer more sex and violence. Sometimes it's nice to see people overcoming challenges and, with the help of family and friends, coming out the other side with humour and optimism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 18 April 2012
This review is from: P.S. I Love You [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The book of this film is FANTASTIC. The Film however, is just terrible. They've ruined the book - moved it all to America, made much of the cast American and it's just shockingly bad. Barely follows the book at all. I absolutley loved the book but the film was painfully bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good if you've read the book first!, 25 July 2008
This review is from: P.S. I Love You [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I absolutely loved the book, so when I found out there was a film out I was really excited about seeing it. However, I was very disappointed after watching it, the book is so much better. For starters, while the book is set in Ireland, the film is set in New York - I don't think this added to the film in any way at all. I didn't feel that all of the cast were entirely believable, somehow they didn't seem to gel.
I do think that had I not read the book first, I would have enjoyed the film a lot more. Gerry Butler is extremely likeable, and there are some tear jerking scenes. It is by no means a bad film, but if you are hoping for it to be like the book, you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prompt delivery and perfect condition, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: P.S. I Love You [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Fab feel good film, with a brilliant soundtrack. Don't care who disagrees with Gerard Butler's Irish accent; I love it! Perfect packaging
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT, 7 Sep 2013
By 
D. Glover (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: P.S. I Love You [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
All i can say is i love this film, its funny, heart warming and sad , a real roller coaster ride of emotions with Claude Butler as a big bonus Buy it !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not like the book but still good., 14 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: P.S. I Love You [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The first and most important thing to note here is that the film is very different from the book. The entire book is set in ireland, whilst the film is set in New York. I read the book first and loved it, it was raw and real and went at just the right pace. If you're intending to watch the film hoping it'll just animate the book for you, you will be mistaken I'm afraid.

However, taking the film on it's own merits it is Very good. The characters of holly and Gerry are believable and played very well as a couple in love. There are a number of tearjerker momenta which are really well executed and simply presented. The character of Daniel is very different to the book but works on a more comedic level. Overall the film is easy watching and far from depressing considering the amount of sad moments. As tearjerkers go, it's one of the better ones. But if you're watching it intending it to be like the book, something it's completely not, then you may be disappointed. Watch it with an open mind and I'm sure you'll be pleasantly suprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A man's point of view, 2 Aug 2009
By 
S. Clarke "Zombie Survivor" (Bordon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: P.S. I Love You [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I bought this to watch with my wife; I always think her sneering at my love of horror films as hypocritical -'they're depressing'- yet she has a preference for movies which make her cry...go figure.
On the tears front, P.S. I love you scores big; the wife was sniffling and snuffling throughout and looked like a panda when I switched the lights on at the end. Apparently her mascara wasn't waterproof after all! I have to admit to having a lump in my throat on several occasions. The film unashamedly uses the whole Hollywood arsenal of cheese and downright emotional cheap shots to really tug at the heartstrings and therefore it is successful in what it sets out to do. However, I can't help but feel that this film could have been a lot more enjoyable had it played less for laughs and easy tears and been more of a serious drama. I haven't read the book but I imagine it had more depth to it. The story behind the film makes for an original and heart-warming tale but this was undone somewhat by the generic Hollywood formula which was applied to it. Hilary Swank is superb, Phoebe from Friends is still Phoebe from Friends, Harry Connick Junior's performance is dull (and his character pointless) but otherwise it's a fairly solid cast. So if tears are your thing and you don't mind too much cheese in your movies then you will enjoy this.

P.s. I am off to cheer myself up by watching some horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: P.S. I Love You [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I loved this film Apart from the fact that I love Gerard Butler, the story was fantastic Very moving. Wanted more so am now reading the book which is fabulous too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Liked it, didn't love it though., 6 Nov 2011
This review is from: P.S. I Love You [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
First off I am a fan of Cecilia Ahern, especially her earlier books but this film was not as good as the book. I gave it four stars because of the gorgeous Gerard Butler but I wish the film had more Irish actors in it because the Irish accents are just awful. I enjoyed watching it on a lazy Sunday afternoon but I probably woudn't watch it again as there are much better rom coms on offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Book is Better!!, 30 Sep 2009
By 
Charlotte Evans (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: P.S. I Love You [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The book is an absolute masterpiece, so when I found out it was being made it to a film I was excited but sadly dissapointed. The film is soo 'americanized' its depressing. Yes the film is heart warming and funny and sad at times but it is not as good as the book. So yes give it a go but if you have read the book before hand it's better to stick with that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

P.S. I Love You [DVD] [2008]
P.S. I Love You [DVD] [2008] by Richard LaGravenese (DVD - 2008)
3.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews