Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable 1950's British comedy drama
In this 1953 movie, which has not been broadcast on terrestrial TV for over 40 years, Jack Warner stars in a familiar role, playing Sam Twigg, the head of a family, in an entertaining story set in wartime which strikes a good balance between comedy and drama. Marjorie Rhodes plays Sam's wife, with a young Anthony Newley in a small role as the son of the house...
Published on 23 Jun 2011 by Colin Smith "keep on runni...

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Damp Squib,
I love British classics and have enjoyed the Ealing comedies, and films like "This Happy Breed" so I was looking forward to this movie, unfortunatley it wasn't meant to be. Initially it promised much but I felt it was quite empty, and was just rehashing old stereotypes, animosity amongst classes, war, good, dependable families living the simple pleasures of life, the...
Published on 28 May 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable 1950's British comedy drama, 23 Jun 2011
By 
Colin Smith "keep on running" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Those People Next Door [1953] [DVD] (DVD)
In this 1953 movie, which has not been broadcast on terrestrial TV for over 40 years, Jack Warner stars in a familiar role, playing Sam Twigg, the head of a family, in an entertaining story set in wartime which strikes a good balance between comedy and drama. Marjorie Rhodes plays Sam's wife, with a young Anthony Newley in a small role as the son of the house.

The constantly cadging couple next door are played by the ever-reliable Charles Victor and Gladys Henson, who also share an air-raid shelter with the put-upon Twiggs. A clash of the classes occurs with a confrontation between the working-class Twiggs and the upper-class Lady Diana Stephens, who attempts to break up the romance between her RAF son and the Twiggs' eldest daughter with an offer to buy them off.
Solid performances from a cast of great character actors, which also includes Garry Marsh, make this movie an enjoyable dip into a bygone age, movies like this were made for rainy sunday afternoons.

The movie is 74 minutes approx, The black and white picture and sound quality are generally OK, no subtitles. The extras are a collection of Best of British trailers and a 2-page leaflet with details of the director and the main cast.
Another welcome release from Odeon Entertainment, who are providing a great service by releasing these vintage British films, many of which I suspect may never be broadcast again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining slice of wartime family life, 11 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Those People Next Door [1953] [DVD] (DVD)
Ok that might sound a contradiction but this is a very watchable film especially if you're on the high side of 60 and remember the attitudes and emotions the war forced upon us and how we stood to it - but this isn't a war film its a family going through laughter and tears , damp air-raid shelters simple things like a nice cuppa and the evening 'paper daughter meets RAF officer her family ordinary but 'propa', his posh and hard to please so it all seems doomed anyway but then his plane is lost he's feared killed .....
Dad (Jack Warner) goes down to the pub, stumbles over his neighbour whose been bombed out , Jimmy James and Eli stagger in and one of England's finest comedians gives spirits as well as pints of 'pigs ear' a lift.
There's a lot in this film, it moves along well and no empty moments its well worth watching and collecting, the actors never fail and the story line is realist with details often missed in other similar films. So if you like Jack Warner as Dad Twigg (a pre Joe Huggett), Marjorie Rohodes as Mother (a roll she was 'made to measure' for in numerous films) and a'blink and you miss me' roll as son for Anthony Newley it's a lovely film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to the black-out ....., 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Those People Next Door [1953] [DVD] (DVD)
A good old-fashioned family film about a good old-fashioned family; shot on a shoestring in a shoebox (well, there had been a war on, you know.) This flick is a gentle bit of fun to entertain nostalgics and social historians alike with that most understated of cliff hangers - will Jack Warner ever get to read his newspaper?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brought back many good memories, 3 July 2013
By 
Mary Wollstonecraft (North East of England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Those People Next Door [1953] [DVD] (DVD)
I found this film quality more than acceptable considering some reviewers weren't impressed. It arrived early and well-packaged.
Thoroughly enjoyed the film and if like me you are in your 50's I'm sure you will enjoy it too. Happy watching!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mancunian Classic, 9 Mar 2010
This review is from: Those People Next Door [1953] [DVD] (DVD)
Great to have this in your collection although the DVD authoring is a bit dicky and the picture does jump a bit part way through.

Tom Blakeley produced this one, John Harlow directed and boy is this a British Classic treat. Nice also to see Jimmy James and Gary Marsh in this Rusholme Studio Manchester flick which does not fail to entertain. If you do buy it you will need to take yourself back to a different age when we were easy to please and happy to be so.

Great stuff even if the DVD creation was a bit iffy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice trip down memory lane, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Those People Next Door [1953] [DVD] (DVD)
It's good to be able to watch these lovely old films again. The picture quality is not the best, however I personally find that adds to the nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Those people next door, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Those People Next Door [1953] [DVD] (DVD)
brings back old memories.Quality not too bad for the age and as far as I am concerned most acceptable. thls
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Those people next door' - one of the best of British films, 10 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Those People Next Door [1953] [DVD] (DVD)
I was attracted to this film partly because of the cast and partly because this type of film gives a very good insight into post-war Britain. It shows quite profoundly the closeness of local communities which we have lost in our post-modern society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good clean film, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Those People Next Door [1953] [DVD] (DVD)
nostalgic family film for those who lived through the thirties and forties.from a time when people never had to lock their doors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Little Gem, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Those People Next Door [1953] [DVD] (DVD)
Being a fan of Jack Warner i loved this film! But if you just like a good old British film then you are sure to enjoy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Those People Next Door [1953] [DVD]
Those People Next Door [1953] [DVD] by John Harlow (DVD - 2008)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews